We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B-day weekend for my Amazing Wife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“B-day weekend for my Amazing Wife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time. Excellent room, delicious food, and gracious hospitality. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast, we enjoyed it immensely. We highly recommend staying at the inn if you are planning on visiting the Sharpsburg area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Antietam room. We enjoyed having our own entrance and porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    19
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
137
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherokee, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

While away on a girls weekend, we have never been as welcome anywhere as we were by Joann and her husband. Traveling from Northeast Tennessee, we were arriving late, and Joann was very accommodating and letting us arrive when we did so late at night.

The next morning, we had a brilliant breakfast, and great conversation with the other guests.

I look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Coming from UK for a tour of Civil War Battlefields, our first two nights at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn a wonderful introduction to American hospitality. We were made very welcome by Joanne the owner and shown to our rooms which were clean and spacious, with sitting areas and our own veranda. Having spent a comfortable night we were treated to a fantastic home cooked breakfast. This was served at a large dining table where we were introduced to other guests who were staying. This was a great idea so we could exchange experiences and generally get to know one another. The food was traditional American fare. Joanne gave us lots of information about local places of interest and even printed out detailed routes so that we didn't get lost. It was so convenient for Antietam battlefield and a lovely historic town with nearby vinyards.

We were travelling with friends and all agreed how nice the Inn was.
Thanks Joanne for starting our American tour in such style.

Room Tip: All rooms are good sized and have their own porch to sit out on. Harper's Ferry suite is superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We (my wife, son and I) were heading down to Harrisonburg, VA, to visit JMU and decided to stop at Antietam for the first time. Chose Jacob Rohrbach Inn based on website, online reviews and proximity to battlefield and highway. Absolutely no regrets. Breakfast was excellent; innkeepers very knowledgeable and Joanne a good story teller; battlefield site extremely interesting. Nearby scenic Shepherdstown, WV (2 miles) was a pleasant surprise, offering several great restaurant options.

Room Tip: Harpers Ferry Room has a twin and a double bed which was just right for the 3 of us. It also has a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Joanne and her husband make you really feel at home in this 5 room B&B. The inn has its own historic value and Joanne will teach you about its place in that period. Fabulous breakfasts. Rooms have private entrances and there is room outside to relax with a bottle of wine after a day touring Antietam. Just 2 miles+ miles from historic and charming Shepherdstown, W.Va. with its great restaurants and shops. I've stayed at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn twice and hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our first stay in Antietam. I'd been looking at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn online for a few years and finally made reservations for my husband’s birthday. We stayed in the Antietam Suite, and our friends stayed in the Clara Barton Suite. It worked out great for us because of the adjoining door between the rooms. We found the Inn to be very charming and full of history. Joanne and Paul were very pleasant and accommodating! We took a battlefield tour with a local man, Bob Murphy, he was awesome!! (You can request him through the Inn). We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed this Inn. The beds were comfortable and the room was charming. We spent some time in the living room drinking our wine and munching cookies that Joanne had made. Breakfast was good, but overwhelming. Joanne went out of her way to accommodate our vegan daughter and we appreciated that. And on the morning we left there was snow falling and snow on our car. I asked to borrow a snow scraper but Joanne went outside and scraped our car for us instead!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sharpsburg landmark since 1804, historic ambiance with all modern amenities at the heart of the Antietam Historic Area. The privacy of a hotel with the charm, grace and comfort of a B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob Rohrbach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jacob Rohrbach Inn to your Saves list