We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Save Saved
You added Jacob Rohrbach Inn to your Saves list
138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bergen County, NJ
1 review
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We (my wife, son and I) were heading down to Harrisonburg, VA, to visit JMU and decided to stop at Antietam for the first time. Chose Jacob Rohrbach Inn based on website, online reviews and proximity to battlefield and highway. Absolutely no regrets. Breakfast was excellent; innkeepers very knowledgeable and Joanne a good story teller; battlefield site extremely interesting. Nearby scenic Shepherdstown, WV (2 miles) was a pleasant surprise, offering several great restaurant options.

Room Tip: Harpers Ferry Room has a twin and a double bed which was just right for the 3 of us. It also has a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    19
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
137
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Joanne and her husband make you really feel at home in this 5 room B&B. The inn has its own historic value and Joanne will teach you about its place in that period. Fabulous breakfasts. Rooms have private entrances and there is room outside to relax with a bottle of wine after a day touring Antietam. Just 2 miles+ miles from historic and charming Shepherdstown, W.Va. with its great restaurants and shops. I've stayed at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn twice and hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our first stay in Antietam. I'd been looking at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn online for a few years and finally made reservations for my husband’s birthday. We stayed in the Antietam Suite, and our friends stayed in the Clara Barton Suite. It worked out great for us because of the adjoining door between the rooms. We found the Inn to be very charming and full of history. Joanne and Paul were very pleasant and accommodating! We took a battlefield tour with a local man, Bob Murphy, he was awesome!! (You can request him through the Inn). We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed this Inn. The beds were comfortable and the room was charming. We spent some time in the living room drinking our wine and munching cookies that Joanne had made. Breakfast was good, but overwhelming. Joanne went out of her way to accommodate our vegan daughter and we appreciated that. And on the morning we left there was snow falling and snow on our car. I asked to borrow a snow scraper but Joanne went outside and scraped our car for us instead!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a great experience at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn - Joanne and Paul were extremely friendly and helpful, and the Inn was lovely and comfortable - great beds! The location is great for all the sight-seeing in the area, and although Sharpsburg itself is pretty sleepy, we enjoyed a couple of good dinners in nearby Shepherdstown, which is a college town and has a cute downtown full of shops and restaurants. Breakfast at the Inn was delicious, and we enjoyed some of the civil war-themed DVDs they supplied in our room! It was pretty cold while we were there, or else we would have made use of their bicycle rental for touring the Antietam battlefield, but it's really nice that they offer that option. I'd highly recommend the Inn, and we hope to be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We visited the Jacob Rohrbach Inn based on the suggestion of National Geographic Traveler magazine in its edition covering Civil War historical sites. We ended up there on a whim, very last minute, booking same day. The Innkeepers, Joanne and Paul, truly do deserve the friendliest innkeeper award. They were very accommodating and welcoming. They provided us with driving tours for Civil War sites that they compiled themselves. They also shared an audio tour to use for the Antietam battlefield. We appreciated the binder full of local eateries menus to help navigate lunch and dinnertime. Breakfast was scrumptious and you never left hungry. This is an all-around great destination!

Room Tip: The General's Cottage is spacious and we enjoyed being separate from the house as we had our chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a lovely Bed & Breakfast with a great location. The staff are very friendly and accommodating to all of their guests' needs. The town of Sharpsburg has a lovely charm that helps to round out the entire experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sharpsburg landmark since 1804, historic ambiance with all modern amenities at the heart of the Antietam Historic Area. The privacy of a hotel with the charm, grace and comfort of a B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob Rohrbach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.