We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Innkeepers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Save Saved
You added Jacob Rohrbach Inn to your Saves list
138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Innkeepers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed this Inn. The beds were comfortable and the room was charming. We spent some time in the living room drinking our wine and munching cookies that Joanne had made. Breakfast was good, but overwhelming. Joanne went out of her way to accommodate our vegan daughter and we appreciated that. And on the morning we left there was snow falling and snow on our car. I asked to borrow a snow scraper but Joanne went outside and scraped our car for us instead!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    20
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
139
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a great experience at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn - Joanne and Paul were extremely friendly and helpful, and the Inn was lovely and comfortable - great beds! The location is great for all the sight-seeing in the area, and although Sharpsburg itself is pretty sleepy, we enjoyed a couple of good dinners in nearby Shepherdstown, which is a college town and has a cute downtown full of shops and restaurants. Breakfast at the Inn was delicious, and we enjoyed some of the civil war-themed DVDs they supplied in our room! It was pretty cold while we were there, or else we would have made use of their bicycle rental for touring the Antietam battlefield, but it's really nice that they offer that option. I'd highly recommend the Inn, and we hope to be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We visited the Jacob Rohrbach Inn based on the suggestion of National Geographic Traveler magazine in its edition covering Civil War historical sites. We ended up there on a whim, very last minute, booking same day. The Innkeepers, Joanne and Paul, truly do deserve the friendliest innkeeper award. They were very accommodating and welcoming. They provided us with driving tours for Civil War sites that they compiled themselves. They also shared an audio tour to use for the Antietam battlefield. We appreciated the binder full of local eateries menus to help navigate lunch and dinnertime. Breakfast was scrumptious and you never left hungry. This is an all-around great destination!

Room Tip: The General's Cottage is spacious and we enjoyed being separate from the house as we had our chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a lovely Bed & Breakfast with a great location. The staff are very friendly and accommodating to all of their guests' needs. The town of Sharpsburg has a lovely charm that helps to round out the entire experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caldwell, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband, our friends and I loved staying at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. The innkeepers, Joanne and Paul, are warm, welcoming and attentive. The intimate, charming rooms are beautifully appointed, meticulously clean and filled with Civil War era paintings, books and antiques.

Joanne helped us plan our itinerary. In addition to visiting Antiedam, she suggested a walk along the C &O Canal and told us about a "radio" show (one similar to "A Prairie Home Companion") being presented at Shepherdstown University. We had a great time and would not have known about the performance without Joanne's input. She also described the Inn's fascinating history and the role the town of Sharpsburg played during the Civil War.

Not least of all - Joanne is an amazing cook. Her breakfasts each morning and her homemade cookies (served as afternoon snacks) are simply delicious.

Charming and steeped in history- the Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a treasure and staying there was a delightful experience.

Laura I
North Caldwell, NJ

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. We were visiting the battle grounds and were given a DVD to watch the night before our outing. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. The food was delicious and our hosts were lovely. Additionally, they gave us good advice on places to eat and the best way to experience Civil War history. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Room was clean, roomy, and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent, and the host and hostess were helpful, friendly, and informative. We enjoyed the area very much and found plenty to keep us busy during our stay. The only drawbacks were the somewhat lumpy bed (could sleep on it, just not as well as on a newer mattress) and feather pillows. More modern bedding would have made for a better night's rest. Otherwise, would go there again, especially for the nearby towns where the dining was excellent.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sharpsburg landmark since 1804, historic ambiance with all modern amenities at the heart of the Antietam Historic Area. The privacy of a hotel with the charm, grace and comfort of a B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob Rohrbach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.