We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Save Saved
You added Jacob Rohrbach Inn to your Saves list
138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. We were visiting the battle grounds and were given a DVD to watch the night before our outing. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. The food was delicious and our hosts were lovely. Additionally, they gave us good advice on places to eat and the best way to experience Civil War history. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    20
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
144
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Room was clean, roomy, and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent, and the host and hostess were helpful, friendly, and informative. We enjoyed the area very much and found plenty to keep us busy during our stay. The only drawbacks were the somewhat lumpy bed (could sleep on it, just not as well as on a newer mattress) and feather pillows. More modern bedding would have made for a better night's rest. Otherwise, would go there again, especially for the nearby towns where the dining was excellent.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you are looking for a top notch place to stay in the Antietam area, we recommend the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. We stayed in the General's Quarters cottage, which was private, peaceful, and a wonderful combination of nineteenth century character and today's comfort and convenience. The hospitality is first rate and the breakfasts are awesome. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A great place to stay in Sharpsburg. The Inn itself is part of the local history and is within driving distance of other historic sites (i.e. Harper' Ferry) and recreation areas. Joanne, the innkeeper, was helpful, knowledgable and a very good cook!!! We had an exceptional dinner at The Press Room in Sheperdstown which is only three miles from the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in the Generals Quarters which was wonderful, a mix of old and new. The innkeepers were exceptionally hospitable with a great knowledge of the area. The stay was extremely memorable creating a oneness with our history. George and Alicia from Georgia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sewell, nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fine place to stay! Sharpsburg is a sleepy little town right on the edge of the Antietam Battlefield. Nearby is Harper’s Ferry. A block away from the Inn is a pub that serves excellent pub food and is very hospitable. 3 miles away is Shepherdstown, WVa, where there are a number of fine restaurants and casual fare. The Inn itself dates from the early 1800’s, and is fully restored and upgraded. The rooms are large, all have private baths, and my room (Clara Barton Suite) also had a sitting room. The room was spotlessly clean, and all the amenities of home were provided, and I didn’t hear any noise from the other guests. One of the highlights was breakfast at 8:30AM, a feast of coffee, juice, fresh fruit, fresh baked breads and jams and a “main course”. Scrumptious. Joann and Paul were very hospitable and accommodating, and arranged for me to have a battlefield guide for the 2 days I was there. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Rohrbrach B & B, thanks Joanne & Paul. Also finding our Grove family owned the home way back was a plus. We definitely plan to return when we tour this area of Maryland again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sharpsburg landmark since 1804, historic ambiance with all modern amenities at the heart of the Antietam Historic Area. The privacy of a hotel with the charm, grace and comfort of a B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob Rohrbach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.