We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual CATF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Save
You added Jacob Rohrbach Inn to your Saves list
138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC area
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Annual CATF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stay here every year when we come for the CATF. It's comfortable, service is great, and the breakfast is super yummy! You could not ask for better inn keepers! It is close to Sheperdstown if you are coming for the festival but also conviently located if you are coming to visit The Antietam Battlefield or surrounding area antique shops. It is so relaxing!

Room Tip: It's popular so make reservations early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
146
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairview Park, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Let me start by saying that never have I met a more attentive Inn Keeper. As soon as our reservations were made I received an email confirming the reservation, listing places to eat in the area, and places of interest. This initial email was followed by updates with additional information and directions to the Inn. Then this morning I was a bit dismayed when I received a “Thank You” email from Joanne and Paul. I was dismayed because the Inn Keepers had beaten me to sending a Thank You note. Joanne and Paul are both gracious and personable. Joanne is a wealth of information and interesting stories, very patient and always ready to answer questions and meet her guests’ needs.

Even if you are not a “breakfast person” you will not be able to resist Joanne’s cooking. The table is set and ready for breakfast before you get up and you wake to the smells of wonderful things happening in the kitchen. The two days we were at the Inn, the table was set with different china each day. When I commented to Joanne that the dishes were different, Joanne replied, “I don’t want the guests to get bored.” There is such attention to detail and everything is just spotless. Guests’ dietary needs will be met. Our first morning at breakfast we had vegans, vegetarians, and “I’ll eat anything you put in front of me” folks. Everyone was delighted with the breakfast choices.

Our visit was totally pleasurable. There is no question that we would return.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I will provide detail as well, but in summary if you have an interest in the Civil War, or American History generally, you will do no better than this B&B.
Location: The Antietam Battlefield and even the town of Sharpsburg are little changed from 150 years ago. From the B&B you can have a morning walk to the battlefield, even to sites like the Burnside Bridge. The town is quiet, but has a nice little restaurant and ice cream shop. An easy two mile drive takes you across the Potomac and the college town of Shepardstown with interesting restaurants and shops. You can bike on the C&O Canal towpath to the Harpers Ferry National Park -- and on and on.
Innkeepers and Guests: The Innkeepers have thought of everything, bottled water in an outside fridge, civil war books and DVDs in your room, lists of restaurants, directions to various sites, etc. We always get private battlefield guides and Joanne recommended an excellent one who picked us up for our tour. The other guests were mainly civil war buffs so breakfasts were great discussions and sources of information, with Joanne joining in.
Room: Our room was large, quiet and had plenty of closet space. The a/c was quiet and worked perfectly. I have a problematic back and the bed was perfect -- not a twinge when I woke up and my wife loved the linens. The porch was great. The bathroom was small, but adequate. If you need glassware, do make sure to take some up from the sideboard in the dining room as the little dixie cups in the bath don't make it. If you are above a certain age, make sure you know where the DVD directions are because the set up is a little complicated. The floor squeaked a bit, but as no one had a room below us, no harm done. The parking lot is not gigantic, but if you aren't driving a big truck you'll be fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We chose the Jacob Rohrbach Inn to stay the night after visiting Antietam and Shephardstowm after viewing Trip Advisor recommendations. Our room was large, well furnished, and spotless. Our innkeepers were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The Inn has a perfect location to visit history-rich sites for the civil war, enjoy biking, hiking, and river activities, and take avantage of the numerous excellent restaurants available in the area. Our breakfast at the Inn was delicious and served family style....our dinner at the Bavarian Inn Ratskeller in nearby Shepardstown was delicious, attractive and accomodated casually dressed tourists as welcomed guests. We will definitely choose The Jacob Rohrbach Inn again when we visit this area next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband Dave and I stayed in the Antietam Room. There was a private porch and a clean, nice sized,,pretty room with reading materials on the existing Inn and area. Breakfast was excellent including coffee,teas, juices fresh baked goods( baked onsite by Joanne), peaches from the yard and homemade pancakes, eggs and sausage and other delights ,which Paul and Joanne whipped up to order! We've been to many other bed and breakfast around the country and feel this was the best service and comfort we have ever received z11

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I seldom write reviews but this place gets top marks - five stars in every category
Had a lovely evening and night's stay at the Jacob Rohrbach in Sharpsburg after a busy day's sightseeing at Antietam and Harper's Ferry for which this place is perfectly situated. There's a good bar/restaurant just 200 yards away and a fantastic ice-cream parlour where most of the town was gathered on a balmy summer's evening in June.
For a visiting Brit the whole experience was perfect and for me, a real feeling of being IN America rather than in a dreary chain hotel. The General's Quarters were great - very atmospheric and with my own porch, a perfect spot for relaxing.
We run our own B&B in the UK (www.thebarnatroundhurst.com) and I certainly took away some tips from Joanne - the breakfast was delicious and her informal history chat was fascinating, but I won't spoil the story - go and hear it yourself.

Room Tip: All the rooms look lovely but the General's Quarters is the real deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

What a beautiful comfy B&B, every detail was thought of from the porch with comfortable seating to the elegant towels. Joannes' breakfast were so beautifully presented each morning, and delicious too. We will definatly come back and stay at this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sharpsburg landmark since 1804, historic ambiance with all modern amenities at the heart of the Antietam Historic Area. The privacy of a hotel with the charm, grace and comfort of a B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob Rohrbach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.