We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rowdy bar for the locals on Saturday night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Benders Tavern

Captain Benders Tavern
111 E Main St, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
301-432-5813
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Sharpsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rowdy bar for the locals on Saturday night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stopped here after the fireworks at Antietam. Waited fifteen minutes to be noticed -- at which point we were told they were no longer serving food (well -- maybe if you'd have waited on us earlier). The music was loud, locals were rowdy and full of beer, and we left in a hurry after we learned they weren't serving -- and we'd be going home starving on this particular night. Definitely not a family place after evening falls......maybe better at lunch. I don't know -- because I won't ever be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    47
    17
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
culby
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cool place for a sandwich and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

It's a neat little hole-in-the-wall place and locals tell me they have the best food in town. We had good sandwiches (especially the turkey/bacon panini) and cold drinks. A game of pool is only 50 cents!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food is ample”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

It is a tavern, nothing special, but the food was good. The owner is in the process of giving the tavern a face lift.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We spent a weekend in Shepherdstown and drove through Sharpsburg looking for a place to eat on the way to Antietam Battlefield. We came across Captain Benders Tavern after looking up their menu online. It's nothing to look at from the outside and can be easily missed. The decor is your typical hole in the wall, small town bar. They had many things on their menu - when we arrived it was about 6:30 and they were already out of 6 or 7 items on their menu. That was a little discouraging. But my fiance and I both ordered sandwiches with fries - amazing. The fries were some of the best I've ever had. Service was also very good. The beer was cheap as well! Definitely go here if you are looking for a place that has a local feel and not too crowded.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A good night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Looked unprepossessing from the outside, and we found it to be very much a local bar rather than a tourist restaurant. But... we drank great local beer and found the food and service to be excellent. Recomment highly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Benders Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Captain Benders Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Benders Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.