We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pry House Field Hospital Museum

Pry House Field Hospital Museum
18906 Shepherdstown Pike, Sharpsburg, MD
301-695-1864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Attractions in Sharpsburg
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Little Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I visited this Museum after visiting the National Museum of Civil War Medicine in Frederick. It's a smaller version although it is definitely worth stopping into, especially if you don't have time to visit Frederick. The $3 suggested admission provides you access to two floors of the house as well as the barn which served as the hospital. When I visited in October 2012, there was a special exhibit which included photographs Alexander Gardner and his assistants took after the battle at Antietam. The photographs, although difficult to look at, were moving. This exhibit was accompanied by panels which described war photography from the Civil War through today and how it has affected the public's attitude towards these events. The woman who staffs the front desk was able to speak extensively about the house, history of the time and the exhibits themselves. This is definitely worth a visit if you are at Antietam.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A bit of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I typically take visitors to this museum - probably been 5-6 times. It is a small museum and not worthy of a destination visit, but it is great to add onto a visit to the battlefield. The old house is beautiful and just an added bonus of it having been used as a hospital.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent historical hospital and home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I have been wanting to visit the Pry House for two years. I finally made it there Sunday, August 26, 2012 and was not disappointed. The house is beautiful and they have it set up so that you understand what happened when it was used as a hospital during the battle of Antietam. I learned so much about the farms and how the battle disrupted and ruined the lives of so many.

When you think of the battle you think of the soldiers but I never really considered how many farmers lost everything when the soldiers from either side would march over their crops or take their produce and animals to use for the troops without even a thought of how it would effect the lives of that family. I won't say anymore. Don't want to spoil it for others.

If you like history this is a must! A special thank you to the gentlemen that worked there. You were very helpful, polite and informative.

One more thing they have a barn with an ambulance from the civil war in it. Not sure if it is an original but it was very cool!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Do Pry! It's interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great displays of Civil War medical materials and the site's history. The staff was informative and non-intrusive.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Abraham Lincoln was there.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had just enough time to view the house, we were told Lincoln had breakfast there. They were not sure if he had stayed the night. They are open 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 30 min gave us plenty of time to look around the house.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pry House Field Hospital Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pry House Field Hospital Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pry House Field Hospital Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.