We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why I Dislike Staying At A B&B” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Antietam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Antietam
220 East Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782   |  
Hotel amenities
North Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Why I Dislike Staying At A B&B”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our group( all family) rented all the rooms last weekend - 2 More stayed down the street at the much more hospitable "Jacob Rohrbach Inn". When they came to join us to discuss dinner plans, they were not allowed in - registered guest only. We were told we could not congregate and were sent outdoors in the cool weather. My sister-in-law, a 63 year old librarian, was lectured 3 times.
Hampton Inn looks better and better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location of the Inn at Antietam is perfect for history buffs visiting the park -- and it's close to other historical sites as well. Bob and Charles were delightful -- great stories, dry humor, really caring. Room was attractive and comfortable. Food was excellent. Advice was too. We stay at B&Bs whenever we can and this is among the best. Great value for the money in an area known to be expensive. Wish we could have stayed more than a couple of days. Trees were beautiful at this time of year and I loved the picturesque vistas wherever we drove.

Room Tip: Garden Room was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorleston-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The inn was charming with lovely period rooms. The location was excellent for the Antietam battlefield site. There are numerous restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute drive. The delicious multi-course breakfast was wonderful and the hosts were lovely, as was their little dog Amy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed two nights in the penthouse, which was renovated with an eye towards detail. There was a small TV provided, no internet access, but the bed was extremely comfortable, and there was a separate sitting room with a view of the rear of the property. Charles and Robert were very friendly, had some good stories to share, and made a nice breakfast each morning. Don't expect a large hungry man meal, however we found the house and the owners to be charming, and fit in with the historic flavor of the area. The location is perfect for visiting the battle field, and Shepherdstown and Harpers Ferry are in close proximity.

Room Tip: We also looked at the Rose room, which is $40 cheaper and also has a separate sitting room, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn and found it to be very charming in it's decor. It's clean and serene in the setting. I liked the location for us to tour the battlefield, and also visit Shepherdstown and the bike trail. You get a nice breakfast - not a lot of food, but adequate. The one gentleman was very nice, but the other one was not very friendly. I have been to many bed and breakfast establishments, and I do feel this is a bit overpriced also.

Room Tip: We had the Rose Room - first floor, nice size and nicely styled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This inn is charming and right next to the Antietam cemetery. Breakfast was delicious (my teenage son said it was the highlight of his trip) and the coffee kept coming! Bob and Charles are delightful -- with many entertainment stories to tell. You can be quiet and come and go as you please -- or spend time getting to know these delightful fellas! Amy the dog was so sweet -- and while others have noted the inn owners are "mature" -- they still have a twinkle in their eye and know how to make you feel at home with small touches like Andes mints at night and sodas in the solarium if you need them. We stayed in the Bluebird Suite -- perfect for hubby and I -- with a small, comfy suite and day bed for my teenage son. The inn is for sale as Bob and Charles plan to retire. This gem is very clean -- and while there was no TV in the rooms or even Internet access -- my husband and I found it to be part of the charm!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Wanted some place close to the Antietam Battlefield. This is next to the cemetery.
Price was $122 plus tax for a "suite". It was clean but not worth the price. There is no TV in room but a TV in tiny library. Guests are only allowed to watch it until 10:30 at which time the hosts go to bed. Therefore, we had to go to bed at 10:30. Also, no internet access. One host was talkative, the other very quiet. Both are very elderly and are ready to retire. Not a comfortable chair in the house. Breakfast was good and the coffee kept coming. There is no place else to stay or any place to eat in Sharpsburg. It is best to travel 10 minutes to Shepherdstown, WV for both.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Antietam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Antietam

Also Known As:
The Inn At Antietam Hotel Sharpsburg
The Inn At Antietam Hotel
Address: 220 East Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Antietam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Antietam to your Saves list