We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five-star luxury in the presidential suite---at a regular price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The General Morgan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The General Morgan Inn to your Saves list
The General Morgan Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 North Main Street, Greeneville, TN 37743   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE $$, BOOK DIRECT!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Greeneville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Five-star luxury in the presidential suite---at a regular price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

I've stayed here twice. The first time, we got the suite by a chance available upgrade which was very affordable. We loved it so much that we booked it on purpose at the full price the second time! If you want to stay in a truly special suite, stay here...it competes with the best hotel rooms in the US as far as room quality, at a far cheaper price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    24
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
25
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This was the 2nd time that my husband and I have stayed at this beautifully restored inn, and this visit our room was even nicer than the first. The staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoyed drinks at their lively bar one night, and during the week they include a continental breakfast. The bed had beautiful linens, and was soooo comfortable. I'm sure that we'll return when we visit our friend in Greeneville again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

I live in Greeneville and agree, this is the best hotel in town. Any time I have people in from out of town, always book them here and they always enjoy. Lots of history. The only downside is that the downtown area is lacking restaurants and things to do in the evening, as are the downtown areas in most small cities. Regardless, great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morganhorsefamily
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

My husband was booked at the hotel for a trip combining business, family (including well-behaved children & a well-behaved pet) and a two day holiday over December 2009 & January 2010.
We utilized three rooms, and included a change to a fourth. All the rooms were comfortable, good sized, excellent bedding, and amenities. The staff were welcoming and pleasant, despite it being a hectic holiday weekend. They made it a point to know our names, and why we were in the area. And to make recommendations.
The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays, and I enjoyed an excellent pianist in the lobby during Sunday Brunch.
The In-the-Inn restaurant was competently staffed with an excellent variety of meals. It was especially welcome during the bitterly cold streak of weather. It is also possible to walk inside to shops and a cafe, also well-staffed with quality menu items, especially nice with the Winter weather.
Minor issues that needed repair/explaining were handled very promptly and to satisfaction by the maintainance staff. Small requests were attended to by the housekeeping staff, and one housekeeper, Angie, went more than out of her way to assist with the change of room and the unwieldy luggage cart. Certainly not part of her job description!
All in all, a very nice adventure in a well restored historic building. We intend to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

First class renovation with luxurious bedding and delicious food served at on-site restaurant. I will definately go back for a fun, leisure weekend as there is a lot of history in Greeneville, Tennessee.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

I've stayed at the General Morgan Inn about four times now. It's my place of choice ANYWHERE in the Tri-Cities region. I've stayed at the Carnegie and Meadowview, and while both are very nice, the GMI takes the prize.
This is a beautiful, circa 1880's hotel. The lobby is elegant, with nice little sitting areas. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and reflect the Victorian age of the hotel. The beds are just about the most comfortable ones I've ever experienced. The bathrooms are all updated with nice fixtures and granite counter tops, but still have that antique feeling.
I've eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner at Brumley's (GMI's restaurant). The food has always been very good, and the staff friendly and attentive. The hotel staff is terrific, too!
The hotel has free parking conveniently behind the building. This was a plus for us, as we had two people in our party with mobility issues.
I'm already looking forward to my next trip in the spring to charming Greeneville and the General Morgan Inn!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed at this place coming back from our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly and the room was very comfortable. It's on a historical location and they take pride in it. The only drawback was that pets were not allowed at that time.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The General Morgan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The General Morgan Inn

Address: 111 North Main Street, Greeneville, TN 37743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Greeneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Greeneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The General Morgan Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to rediscover the classic pleasures of travel at Greeneville’s Historic General Morgan Inn, the perfect place to spend the night – whether you’re traveling for an intense business meeting with clients, or leisurely touring the lush foothills of Northeast Tennessee. Independently owned and operated for nearly a century, the General Morgan Inn is once again a privately-owned, independent hotel catering to the needs of the guest. Our 51 beautiful guest rooms and suite are located in the heart of Greeneville’s Historic Business District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The General Morgan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The General Morgan Hotel Greeneville
General Morgan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The General Morgan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.