We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than what I'd hoped for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Timberfell Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greeneville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timberfell Lodge
Save
You added Timberfell Lodge to your Saves list
1416 Baileyton Main St., Greeneville, TN 37745   |  
Hotel amenities
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Less than what I'd hoped for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent two nights in one of the cabins at Timberfell recently. It had been recommended by friends, but was not what we hoped it would be. The cabin was extremely small and lacking in amenities. The "kitchen" didn't have any dishware, or any way to prepare food. The refrigerator didn't even have ice trays, much less an ice maker. The cabin wouldn't be considered clean by most hotel/motel standards. On the plus side, the food provided by the lodge was good, and the staff was friendly and helpful, as were the other guests. My thought are that if you stayed here in your own RV, you would have what you need on hand. Or if you tent camped, you wouldn't expect much anyway. We paid a lot for this visit, and didn't get our money's worth.
I'm looking for Econolodge standards, but that's not available here.

Room Tip: If you come in your own RV, you'll be satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The staff are so accomadative its the best place to get away from the world yo hang freely and let lose cant wait fot.my next trip. Love that the facilities are cleaned daily the food is awesome an freshly prepared daily

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Fun events, very big bear population come here - especially in the RVs. Pool is nice, showers are clean and tavern is fun at nights. We came with 5 people and made a camping compound - and are coming back 3 more times this year for Sordid Lives, Camp Bear (we hear its huge), and Labor Day. Great location, right off the interstate only 3 hours from us here in Georgia...reminds me of how fun Rivers Edge used to be. Take your own booze - which they allow but you have to buy your own beer.

Room Tip: Camping is really fun - we went with a
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

my 1st visit was about 15 yrs ago and since then some improvements have been added..i recently went last july 4th wknd....the place was quiet crowded..most rooms were rented out..
the campground is about a 30 min ride from tri cities airport..its located up a short dirt road...there is a fairly large main cabin...i think they have about 8 rooms there...and thats where they serve breakfast and dinner..they are both buffet style and are included with the rooms but an extra charge if you are camping...i think it was about 10 bucks extra...theres not much around to eat so unless you drive in and bring your own food..this is a good option..food is nothing fancy..basic pancakes..eggs for breakfast...lasagna..salads..pot roast ...that kind of thing for dinner..only drawback for meals is that 830 is breakfast and 730 for dinner....
there is a large pool...they now have a outdoor bar....again this is in the woods so don't expect a lot...most people bring their own liquor..but tn has an odd law that you cant bring beer on the property...go figure...theres a pool house with showers..steam room and dry sauna...all just down the hill from the main house...they have added about 5 one room cabins...again very very basic...small tv...bed..small fridge and ac..the bathroom for these is the shared ones located about a 5 min walk to one of the barn or barn annex bldg...they have locker room style showers..sinks..toilets...each barn has about 10 rooms...all are reasonably priced....they have a round tree house with a very good light and music system...there is room for you to park and rv or leave your small camper there permanently..they have added more camper sites up the mountain.if you really want to ruff it you can pitch a tent..there is some electric hookup but not a lot for tents....you get a lot of walking done here...they have theme wknds which i have never attended..but look fun...if you go dont expect the four seasons...it is a little ruff..but youll have a good time if you keep an open mind or go with friends...theres not much to do except sleep late..eat..drink and lay by the pool...

Room Tip: avoid the main lodge in the summer...its to far to walk to the pool...cell phone reception is very b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a visit to this quaint, historic property located in the Great Smokey Mountains of East Tennessee. Wonderful hosts, delicious food served in the lodge, and expansive grounds fillled with diversions of the tranquil kind, as well as plenty of opportunity for recreational activity as well. The lodge is wonderfully maintained, showing a pride of ownership. Favorite spot; the walk along the reservoir pp.d filled with giant koi.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The pool was green, the room was over priced, and the food was unfit. The majority of people I met there were sick. I got bed bugs from my bed. This place is not fit for humans to stay in. There was so much dust in my room I could write my name on the table.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I first went to Timberfell two years ago. Within a few hours' arrival I thought I had made a big mistake. I brought a tent and figured, what the heck, I will stay one night then leave. I ended up having a good time, meeting some great folks, and stayed three nights. I have returned several times, sometimes camping, sometimes in one of the guest rooms.

Bottom line: The owners really need to pump some of their vast income back into the place. The pool water was really dirty. An overnight cleaning would easily fix that. The way-overpriced guest rooms are tiny and do not at all look like they were decorated by gay men (more like by trashy housewives). On a crowded weekend, the nasty smell of backed up sewage is all too present in the main drain field (last year sewer water was bubbling up through the lawn).

I just feel that the owners are letting the place slip further and further down. It would not take much to turn the place into a far more welcoming and enjoyable environment. As for me, I doubt I shall be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timberfell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberfell Lodge

Address: 1416 Baileyton Main St., Greeneville, TN 37745
Location: United States > Tennessee > Greeneville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Greeneville
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timberfell Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.