We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Absolute BEST in Del Rio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio
2219 North Bedell Avenue, Del Rio, TX 78840   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Del Rio
Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Absolute BEST in Del Rio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

With several visits to Del Rio, TX under my belt, there is no other place to stay other than the Hampton Inn and Suites. Manager Patty Garcia and her staff run a very nice Hampton. If there is anything wrong during your stay, they will make sure that it is right.

We have stayed here several times and customer service is wonderful. They remember us each time we visit from the front desk staff to the breakfast staff. There is always a hot breakfast in the morning from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM and there is always coffee available in the lobby and popcorn in the evenings.

Since we were travelling with family this last trip, we asked for connecting rooms. The rooms were huge and the beds were so comfy.

We only had 1 little problem the entire 5 night stay which was not the fault of the hotel or staff. My husband went to get a Coca Cola out of the vending machine and it was dated "Best if used by 02-2010!!! We took the bottle to the front desk and they immediately called the vending service and gave us a new bottle with a good date which we appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeyRoss13, Social Media Director at Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
What a wonderful review!

I'd like to personally extend a note of gratitude to you for taking the time to point out some of our amenities here at the Hapton Inn & Suites of Del Rio. It feels great to know that we have such awesome repeat guests staying with us.

It's thanks to your comments that you see small changes inour businesses. We strive to become a better hotel for you and all of our guests.

Please know that you are appreciated and always welcome at the Hampton Inn & Suites of Del Rio. I hope we'll see you again soon.

With warmest regards,

Joey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    29
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
25
6
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I'm a little sad that I have to rate this Hampton Inn as only average, having had such great experiences at other Hampton Inns during a cross-country drive, especially with regards to customer service. But from the moment I walked in, the customer service here was lacking in quality. The desk clerk was on the phone, and while she was very polite to whomever she was speaking to, she didn't even acknowledge me with any eye contact or a nod or some other gesture while I waited at the counter to check in. I stood there a good five minutes, but only when I turned to head to the doors to unload my car did she glance at me and hold up a finger. Not really a good way to greet anyone.

Even after I returned with my bags, the desk clerk spent another ten minutes on the phone. I would have gone elsewhere, but I'd had good stays in Hampton Inns so far, I'd been on the road all day, and I was hoping that this was just a minor glitch. When the desk clerk finally hung up the phone, she didn't apologize, she just kept repeating with some resentment in her voice that she wasn't the usual desk clerk and that they were short-staffed, just as she had said repeatedly to whomever she was talking to on the phone. I'm not picky. A cookie would have made everything fine, but there were no cookies out in the lobby like there are at other Hampton Inns. When I asked the clerk, "No cookies today?" she shot back, "Only on weekday afternoons." Mind you, it was a Friday afternoon. I looked at her, and then she said, "Oh, well, not today." Clearly, she couldn't be bothered to make any effort.

The room itself was fine, and the hotel and grounds clean and well-maintained. Breakfast here was not as good as other Hampton Inns. In the exercise room, the bicycle was not working properly and the TV remote did not work. The towels were bath-sized, too large to use during a workout. Disappointed by this Hampton Inn, but likely will never stay in Del Rio again either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppg1962, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations of our hotel. I would like to apologize on behalf of our hotel team.

After reviewing the details of your feedback, I have taken precautionary measures to ensure that all future guests will be treated with customer service and courtesy that will exceed expectations. I regret that you were not aknowledged, with at very least a smile, when you walked in to our hotel. This instance was not handled according to customary procedures and will henceforth be rectified. I have also taken into account your disappointment regarding our free, hot breakfast and fitness room.

Please note that your feedback is a very important element that will move us forward in becoming a better hotel for you and other guests. However unlikely it may be, I hope that if you should ever return to Del Rio, you'd give us the pleasure of showing you just how far above and beyond we can go for you.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites of Del Rio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Road warrior with at least 4 nights a week in a hotel......all Hilton properties. This is as good as it gets for a small town like Del Rio. Service is always great and friendly. Rooms are clean and up to par for Hampton Inn's.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeyRoss13, Social Media Director at Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I'd like to thank you for the positive feedback in regards to our hotel. Your comments help us to know that we are doing our jobs well and to keep striving to be the best.
We greatly appreciate you staying with us here in Del Rio as well as our other Hilton sister properties.

Thank you for being a valued guest of the Hampton Inn. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This Hampton is my preferred hotel when staying in Del Rio on business. The grounds and rooms are well kept. A comfortable bed and clean room are the most important criteria for me since I travel somewhat frequently and this hotel fits the bill. If you want a little more space for work and a microwave and fridge ask for a suite which is around $10.00 more per night. The entire staff is always very friendly. Great place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeyRoss13, Social Media Director at Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review!

I'm glad to see that our guests are enjoying our personable staff members and well kept grounds. We strive to put our best foot forward and give the best service possible to our guests,

Thank you for mentioning our uppgraded rooms for those guests who need a bit more space for families, work, or just lounging.

I hope you'll allow us the privelege of serving you once again. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was the 19th hotel on our recent month-long trip. Many of these were Hamptons and this was not the best. No recognition of our Diamond status (water and snack). We got water when we asked for it, given with little grace.

Our 2xbed room was too small for the furniture in it (which did not included fridge, microwave or safe) and there were noise issues. Someone was moving about early in the morning and it was as if they were right above us, despite our room being on the top floor. Like so many of these places, it was built on the cheap, an example being the closet door was screwed directly into the wall and would not stay closed.

Because of the size and layout of the room, it was not possible to get past the office chair when in use without clambering over the bed.

We did not try the included breakfast but it looked OK.

Del Rio is a busy border town (except for its downtown, which was desolate) we won't be rushing back though the Hampton Inn may be the best place to stay, maybe?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hotel was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is good and convenient to the main strip in town. The elevator is a little slow but otherwise there were no issues at all. The breakfast bar was very well stocked and clean. I would definitely recommend the Hampton Inn in Del Rio if you need a place to stay on your way to Big Bend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I was did not think I would be able to find a nice area nor a nice hotel in the city. I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The staff has been very helpful and I would only recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great location and nice accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio

Address: 2219 North Bedell Avenue, Del Rio, TX 78840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Del Rio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Del Rio
#1 Business Hotel in Del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the border of Texas and Mexico when you stay with our Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio hotel. We are just three miles from the Del Rio International Airport and we provide a clean and comfortable stay, complete with free breakfast and complimentary WiFi. We're also seven miles from Laughlin Air Force Base, so stop by the Laughlin Aviation Museum when visiting our Hampton Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio Hotel Del Rio
Hampton Inn And Suites Del Rio
Hampton Inn Del Rio
Del Rio Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.