We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses and Minuses of the Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saipan World Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saipan World Resort to your Saves list
Saipan World Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 5000066, 96950, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Saipan
Koto-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pluses and Minuses of the Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Travel Dates: Oct. 21 to 25th 2012. This is off season and the hotel was at 60% occupancy. It was great since there was no fighting over beach chairs and no lines at the water park. Excellent time to travel.

Guest Description: Family (one child, daughter 10 years old). Other guests were mainly Korean, some Japanese, and Russian. I think I was the only American there, but I hear this changes in the summer months when more locals use the Water Park.


Rooms: The rooms were average, but clean. For us not such a big problem since we wanted to spend more time at the pool and water park. Amenities are severely lacking. No toothbrushes at first. No shaving kit. No bathrobes.


Food: We traveled from Japan, and in my opinion, the food in Japan is world class. Therefore, the food at the hotel basically sucked. The hotel is Korean owned so it caters more to Koreans and therefore the food is more Korean style. If you think you can get by on Pepe's (the Italian restaurant in the hotel), forget it. There were no guests in the restaurant and after looking at the menu, they only had one pasta dish. Also be aware: NO Room service.

Food Tips:

A. If you are looking for major names such as Hard Rock Cafe, Tony Roma's, Capricciosa, etc... take the DFS bus (10 minute ride) to the shopping area.

B. If you want something close to the hotel you have a few choices:

1. Truongs: A Vietnamese restaurant that serves Asian Food. The Lumpia is excellent and portions are quite generous. Steaks are also available. Cost: we spent about $50 for the 3 of us. To get there, you walk out the hotel, turn right and it is next door to the hotel on the main road.

2. Inside the super market, they have a deli type cafe. Locals go there and they have various dishes, rotisserie chicken, sandwiches, etc... May not be open later in the evenings or weekends. Cheap price.

3. Gentle Brook Cafe: Across from the hotel you will see a building with a 360 at the top. That is a restaurant that rotates 360 degrees. The food there seems to be ok, but we went to a place on the 1st floor of that building. According to friends who went up to 360, they said that Gentle Brook was better and cheaper. Anyway, Gentle Brook has a variety of foods. Steaks, Pasta, Mexican, etc... Quite spacious, and again about $50 for 3. One of the chefs (I think owner) is Japanese so the taste is quite good. Please don't think this is gourmet level, but the food is decent. One thing to be careful of is, that there is no lighting on the street to get to the building.

4. There are other places to eat along the main road, but we didn't try them.

Hotel Staff: Here I need to break this up into 2 parts. The regular hotel staff and the Life Guards at the pools and water slides.

A. Regular Staff: Adequate, nothing special. Actually quite a let-down. When one is on holiday, you would expect the staff the at least greet you or help you out as quickly as possible.

B. Life Guards: They ROCK!!! Really friendly, outgoing, helpful, etc... Everything you would expect from a resort and more. They play with the kids, and make sure you have a fun time. The hotel should have a tip box just for the Life Guards, since they all were a great bunch of guys.

Water Park and Pools: Open from 9AM to 6PM, with a one hour lunch break for the slides and river pool. The Castle Pool is OPEN until 11PM!!!

The hotel has 2 regular pools, a Kiddie Pool (which was just finished when we got there), the Wave Pool, the river type pool with a current, 4 types of water slides.

The water park was the BEST part of the hotel. The Life Guards were friendly, fun, and basically made the whole resort. If you are not going to use the water park, then stay at another hotel, since I am sure the food and regular staff will be better else where.


Shopping: The shops in the hotel stay open till 12 midnight. Across the street you have Ace Hardware, a book store, and Joetson Supermarket (they also have clothes, shoes, etc... Kind of like a K-mart).

DFS is a 10 minute bus ride. Near DFS you have small shops as well as an ABC Store and another larger souvenir shop.

WIFI: They have two free WIFI lines. In the lobby and in the rooms. Both are kinda slow, but not bad for checking emails or Facebook.

Summary: Recommended for families with children who plan on spending most of their holiday at the pools and water park. If the water park is only a small part of your holiday, you may want to look into other hotels as well.


Tips: Our check out was at 12 Noon with a 2pm bus to the airport. For $20 + 10% tax, you can get a late check out of 1:30 and prices go up for later check outs. Next time I will do this and stay in the pool until the last moment. Be aware, food prices at the airport are crazy.

Please remember that we were there off season. The above comments could be different depending on the season and hotel occupancy rate.

Also I hear that taking a short trip to a close by island for snorkeling is very good, and on Thursdays they have the weekly market with lots of cheap food stalls. You can ask the hotel staff about these, but better to talk to the Life Guards who are more friendly and informative.

Also I hear that the spa, gym, and massages are good, but have not tried them.

Room Tip: Looked like all the rooms were ocean view, but higher floors will give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    77
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
85
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We decided to give this hotel another try after an awful experience with customer service almost two years ago. To make things short, just like our stay here, we checked in and went to our rooms to drop the bags. We went straight for the waterpark, main reason why we chose this hotel, only to find that the kids pool and kids water-playground were under construction!

I checked in with my kids in tow, yet they didn't bother to mention the renovation. We walked right back to the front desk and checked out.

Good to see, though, that the rooms are still in good condition. However, this time the TV wasn't flat screen, it was an old tube type tv.

Room Tip: Choose the high floors, all have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Visited the World Resort Water Park in July 2012, not very big park and the pictures advertising it are misleading to it's actual size. My wife and I went as she'd never actually been to a water park, I'd been to several and knew what to expect. When we got there and went inside we had a look about which took less than five minutes. The lunch we had at the resort was very nice, lots of choices, but they could do with replacing the carpet in the restaurant as it smelled of pee. The water park is very small, but the four flumes / slides that they do have are quite good. There's more to do at this park for children, but I certainly wouldn't advise adults to expect too much unless your just going there to relax and for your children to have a good time.

Room Tip: Didn't actually stay in any of the rooms at the World Resort, just visited the water park there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Mariana Islands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The waterpark is very nice with a lot a variety -- good for kids, teens, and adults. There's a wave pool and great waterslides. Lifeguard staff is stationed in the appropriate places -- a necessity on some of the venues. Beautiful view from the rooms and a nice beach out in front. A nice, family oriented, active place to stay. The gym is good but sometimes crowded in the morning. Restaurants emphasize Korean food, so you'll find more variety if that is your preference.

Room Tip: The high floors have the better overall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Saipan World Resort is what you expect when you go to a tropical island and need some rest, a little beach and sea, some pools and activities, and the kids happy! We were there in december 2010 during a visit to Japan. Spacious rooms, we had connecting rooms with the grandparents. We spent a lot of time on the hotel's beach, just laying in the surf, did some shopping, enjoyed some meals, went to an outdoor weekly market (with lots of food!). This is what you need to recharge. The hotel had lot's of facilities, the public spaces were very spacious and open (nice in a tropical climate), the Korean restaurant was good, but don't go to the "Italian" one, they don't know about pasta. The breakfast buffet was excellent, but good coffee is hard to find on this island (Maxwell House and Folgers, that's about it). We definitely will go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanagawa, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Me and my family chose this resort because of its water park. The park did not disappoint. It kept my 11, 10, and five-year olds reasonably entertained for our seven days-stay at this resort.

I would rate this hotel somewhere between three and four stars. The mainly Fillipino and Chamorro staff were professional and considerate. The only complaint I have about the hotel was the lack of Internet connections in the rooms. To check the Internet, I had to troop down to the lobby with my notebook computer everyday. There is only one common terminal in the lobby, and it was always occupied with kids playing Internet video games.

The guests were, I would say, 75% Korean (the hotel is owned by a Korean company), 20% Russian, and the rest were Japanese, Chinese, and American. Likely because of this ratio, the food in the buffet restaurant appeared to be oriented towards Asian tastes. I found this of benefit to my waisteline. If you're a "meat and potatoes" person, however, the menu selection in the buffet may leave you disappointed and embittered. I really like how the hotel gave us one free buffet, breakfast or lunch, everyday, but gave us tickets so we could easily choose which meal we decided to take. Kids under 12 ate free for breakfast and lunch. Because the island is so small, we often went out in our rental car in the morning, returned to the hotel to take our free lunch, then went back out again in our car to continue exploring.

Because this is a family resort, if you're looking for a party place this hotel is probably not for you. The bartenders at the lobby bar and in the sports bar (only open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday) appeared to be very bored. Again, because it is a family resort, I think the hotel probably should take a little better care of its table-top games in the lobby area. The three table tennis tables, billiards table, and miniature pool table were always in use. It was frustrating for the guests, I think, that the equipment was not well-maintained and often missing.

Most people dried their swimsuits on their room balconies every night. The ocean breeze worked well in this regard. The hotel, however, appears to not approve of this because there are no clotheslines on the balconies to assist in this endeavor. We just draped our swim clothes over the balcony table and chairs and this more-or-less worked.

If you decide to stay at this hotel, please take my advice and check the prices on ALL the languages' site pages for this resort. We found the price offered on the Japanese web page for this resort to be half the price offered on the English page. Also, the package deal on the English page included a $10 charge for taking the hotel's van from and to the airport, while on the Japanese site it was free! I expect that the prices on the Korean site are also cheaper than the English site. Use Google translate to help you navigate through the sites if necessary so you can book your reservation. For some reason, our package deal included a 2 p.m. checkout time, while most of the other guests in the resort had a noon checkout time. I'm not sure why.

The fitness room is not free. It is part of the hotel's spa which requires a separate fee to enter. Otherwise, it looked like a nice facility. The resort's washing machines and dryers cost $1.25 each to use and worked well.

Room Tip: Check all the language pages for this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

The following was my letter to the World Resort:

Hello,

I am a returning resident of Saipan. Although I am not an expert in hotel management, I stayed at many different hotels for over 200 nights in 2009 alone.

I stayed 1 night at your hotel on Saturday, Dec 4-5. I was very disappointed in your service at the front desk by Joeme and Jina. I understand that most of your guests are Asian and Russian tourists, but when ANYONE walks up to your counter (reception), they deserve to be acknowledged. Although I was rudely and blatantly ignored by Joeme and Jina, I gave them a couple minutes before I asked for help. I was leaning on the counter with no one else around so there was no mistake in thinking that I was already being helped. It was so obvious that they were ignoring me, so I finally asked if I was at the wrong place. After finding out that I was a guest who just wanted to check-in, they proceeded in the most horrible hotel reception experience I've ever had. They not only moved at snail pace, but they did not smile and only spoke to me at the bare minimum. I was asked to fill out a form and sign a sheet without summarizing what it was about. They did not mention an overview of the hotel's ammenities, location of the elevator, choice in room floor/location, etc..., water park info, restaurant info or anything! All I was told is where to get the water park pass and even that was unclear! Like I said, I was the only customer present at the check-in counter the whole time!

Needless to say, this ruined my mood the whole day. I was mostly upset because at a time where Saipan needs to step up their game in keeping tourists and making them return to the island, we have people like Joeme and Jina who have no interest in that goal.

I was also disappointed in the bell staff (not available when I arrived). Every vacation resort I've been to has bell staff who are quickly available to help customers with their bags. At your hotel, I had to walk over and get my own cart!

The water park and beach staff were very helpful and accommodating. The restaurant staff were ok. To be honest, if Pacific Islands Club was not fully booked, I would've cancelled my reservation and moved over there. Although we live on Saipan, we went to your hotel to celebrate my son's birthday. I'm not sure if I will ever visit or recommend your hotel to my friends who plan on visiting me from the mainland United States.

Not only for the betterment of your hotel, but also for the tourism health of Saipan, I hope you do improve on your service. If you want to be like PIC, you would have to start with the staff. I have to admit, your rooms are nicer than PIC, but I'd rather go back to PIC because ALL the hotel staff are friendly and helpful - that is what matters! Do you ever wonder why PIC is always full even when all the other hotels on Saipan are suffering from the lowest occupancy in years?!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saipan World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saipan World Resort

Address: PO Box 5000066, 96950, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saipan World Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Saipan World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saipan World Hotel Saipan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saipan World Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.