We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mariana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mariana Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Umang Street, Marpi, 96950, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Saipan
東京都
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed there with 5 members of family. We had 2 rooms adjusted. Room was very clean and
large and we were satisfied with the equipments. My husband and three sons enjoyed playing
golf, while I was satisfied with the asian spa and massage. We colud play tennis free and could
enjoy snorkeling, too. The sunset from the pool side was wonderful. I think I will choose this
hotel again next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    56
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
41
38
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This could be a pleasant hotel in a quiet spot of the Island, with a nice spa and good golf course. Unfortunately its a run down hotel with no investment, no staff and no beach, with a nice spa. Don't know about the golf course as I don't play golf.

Saipan is obviously lacking any investment, but there are still some nice hotels including the fiesta and hyatt. But it is with great regret that the state of the island is reflected in the Mariana Hotel. The rooms are big and spacious and they all over look the sea, but they are also tired and need decorating.

Just from appearance the hotel looks like it has not been painted for at least 5 years, the trees are not maintained and the doors and walls are covered in dirt and cracked plaster. The pool area is a joke with 2 parasoles (one of which was broken) and a scattering of chairs.

The dive shop is disgusting and I would not touch the equipment (I am an experienced PADI divemaster), there was a large patch of oil in front of the shop also part of the path to the sea, which had not been cleaned for days and I pointed out several times to the staff with zero interest or action on their part.

The seafront is a small stretch of sand with rocky front to the sea, supposedly good for snorkeling but not for swimming. Incredibly they charge $10 for the use of the beach chairs even if staying at the hotel!! In fact they charge for everything, $2 to use the old table tennis set, $7 for wifi, etc. The drinks are more expensive than at the Hyatt or Fiesta but that's only when you can get a drink as the bar is only manned intermittently.

I could say more but just look at the pictures. It's sad as it would not take much to spruce this hotel up but either its not making any money or the owner has taken all the money out of it. The few staff that are there are very friendly but just not interested in the state of the place, other than the spa. I asked to speak to the manager, but she never seemed to be on hand particularly at check out time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The restaurant has a buffet for both breakfast and lunch. When food runs out, it seems the staff waits a long time before replacing it. This happens so often that it appears it may be a policy of the restaurant manager.

The quality of the food is generally not as good as the other hotel buffets on the island and yet, they make no effort to improve it and seem content to just serve as little food as possible since most of the hotel guests have prepaid food coupons. As for the local customers, some of the staff often display a poor attitude.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I came back today from this resort and already miss the place. Many, many good things about this resort. Let`s start with the staff. Absolutely wonderful!. Smiling , helpful and friendly but not in your face. Organized and punctual shuttle buses to downtown area and golf carts to the room upon arrival.
We had a Villa room and it was very spacious clean with all amenities. A friendly cat became our pet for the week. Service was very prompt when we asked for some maintenance on the outdoor hot tub. Within minutes it was fixed by a friendly guy and had no further problems.
All in all a great place for couples. The beach is very small but cozy with a nice guy named Jerry who kept the area clean, rented out snorkeling and kayaks and cooked an amazing BBQ plate for just 10 dollars. Snorkeling was great and we did it everyday. Buy some reef walker shoes and you are good to go. Crystal clear water, lots of fish and warm water. No problems there whatsoever.
My wife liked the Spa but wasn`t my cup of tea. I prefer a more friendly, interacting kind of atmosphere but I guess a spa is suppose to be relaxing and quiet and serene and it was.
The restaurant prices are very expensive as are the beers. We bought most of our drinks at the gift shop and noone seemed to mind. They offer a poolside BBQ 3 nights a week where you can cook yourself a surf and turf meal. A little expensive but very enjoyable. We actually ordered just 1 plate and shared it and that was enough food.
I have no complaints other than the food and drink prices. We would have had more meals at the hotel if the prices were more affordable. Instead opted to go to town and eat at local restaurants.
Nice pools, wedding chapel, go carts, golf steps away.
I would rate this resort a 4.7 out of 5. Not 5 star luxury, but quaint, comfortable, great location, very quiet at night, great staff, punctual shuttle service and amazing snorkeling.
One of my best vacations ever.
P.S. Our room didn`t smell strange at all.
R. Angus Yokohama Japan.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Villa room. Quiet and private with a deck for watching stars plus a hot tub and a ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I travel to Saipan multiple times a year and stayed in this hotel for this trip. Previously I stayed at the Hyatt, and did not like the out-dated, mold infested rooms. So I decided to give this place a try.
The place has huge rooms, cheaper prices, nice views and better bathroom fixtures, compared to Hyatt.
BUT, internet connection not consistent, very isolated with no coffee shop nearby, breakfast starts at 7am (not friendly to people from the States who will be jet-lagged and will wake up at 2am), lunch buffet is terrible, and most of all, they use a cleaning agent that gives the rooms a funny smell that made my head hurt.
Next time I am trying the BEST KEPT secret hotel on Saipan, a new one on the other side of the island: Lau Lau Bay resort:
http://www.laolaobay.com/Eng/playfee.html

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Very spacious and tidy room (Reef Side rooms). Great spa in next to hotel entrance. Magnificent golf course (dry season in April). Beach benches are chargeable at USD5.00 each and not so much sandy beach area although it is a great snorkelling spot, right in front. Very low tide in noon hours. Advisable to have snorkel shoes. Weekly bus coupon is available and handy to have. About 30 minutes to Garapan town area. Thursday night market is nice to be at. Magic dinner show is available at Hyatt Regency Hotel in Garapan.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Mariana Resort and Spa is our hotel of choice for our several trips to Saipan each year. It is in very good condition and boasts very nice ocean views from clean, spacious rooms. The staff provide excellent service and the grounds are very pleasant for an after dinner stroll. The spa is, by consensus of ourselves and several locals, the best in Saipan and is certainly worth the extra ten or twenty dollars a day for the scenery alone. While it is a bit off the beaten path, that's not such a big problem on a small island like Saipan and convenient, free transportation options abound for the fifteen minute trip into town for additional dining, shopping, etc.
Be sure to reserve a couple months in advance and look into the discounts for advanced booking, five day stay, and the slight additional charges for the delicious breakfast buffet and spa package. They have an executive course as well as an 18 hole golfcourse which they sell some packages for too.
Mariana Resort offers much more than most of the hotels on Saipan for a bit below the same price.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariana Resort & Spa

Address: Umang Street, Marpi, 96950, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saipan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saipan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saipan
#6 Spa Hotel in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mariana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariana Resort And Spa
Mariana Hotel Saipan
Mariana Resort Saipan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.