We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanoa Resort Saipan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kanoa Resort Saipan to your Saves list
Kanoa Resort Saipan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Rd. | PO Box 500369, MP96950, Mariana Islands (Formerly Saipan Grand Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Saipan
Khabarovsk, Russia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Kanoa Resort
Consist of one 5 stores building. There is one additional structure but its not clear whether it is the same hotel. We spent here one week.
The advantages. Nice green comfortable territory. The Hotel staff is bery mice. The Hotel locates right by the sea. Free chaise lounges. There is a cafe on the beach. The hotel offers different entertainments for children and adults( banana boat, water scooter, parachuting, water chute, 2swimming pools with a basket and a spot for volleyball. Clean beach and territory. Breakfast is always the same, same meals but not bad. They have inside and outside dining area. There is a store on the first floor.
Disadvantages: our standard room was on the 5th floor in the very end of the corridor. And it took long time to go from / to the elevator. There are only two elevators right in the middle of Hotel, so don't take distant rooms. The room was small. Our travel agent booked a room with one double bed, but they gave us two single beds. The bathroom is small and not fresh. The towels are never clean ( they are laundered but have different spots on). We were warned that there us one pay TV channel which is rather expensive, so we never watched the TV, but witnessed some Korean Guy had a very bad argument with the receptionist about the charge for that TV channel. There is wifi only in lobby, but it is being collapsed constantly, no wifi in the rooms (at least on the 5th floor there wasn't wifi). The hotel is distanced from the center so to get to the Garapan center you should go either by a scheduled free bus or taxi( that is rather expencive 10 min road is about $15 or you can always rent a car. The sea bottom is not sandy all through, there is a sea grass almost along all swimming territory.
Summary: the hotel is not bad, but I Will not come back to it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    115
    61
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
73
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guam, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Lets start with the ugly first.... Any room not in the Tower... The hotel is being renovated but not fast enough. Next lets go with the good... The rooms in the Tower are nice... Very nice in fact with fantastic views of the Saipan Bay. The breakfast buffet that was included with the room was pretty good too. As for the bad... Any room in the executive tower in today's day and age that does not include internet access is just totally unacceptable. It was explained that the rooms are just too far away from the hub. For less than a $100 investment the hotel could fix this problem but they haven't in the 2 1/2 years I've been traveling to Saipan. Hopefully with the renovations on the property.. The wifi fix is in the capital repair budget.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are the only acceptable rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piti, Mariana Islands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I made a last minute reservation here because most of the other hotels were booked for the marathon that weekend. I was worried after reading other reviews on here. The hotel staff was excellent, the food reasonably priced, and there was lots to do; 2 pools, with waterslide, beachfront access with many water sports/toys, and giant hamster balls. Our room was large, however, slightly dirty. the towels are old and threadbare, but the rest of the hotel makes up for this. Also the wifi isn't that great, but I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Emerald Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinian, Mariana Islands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Expect to have to give your life story if you want to guarantee a room reservation. After I called initially to reserve two nights, they emailed me a multiple-question form that I had to fill out and include a credit card number on. They also required a photo ID and a copy of the card itself. So after wasting 30 minutes of my life making copies, scanning them in, and emailing them back, perhaps they would also like my birth certificate, dental records, and autobiography? Ridiculous.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last January when my husband , our daughter and his brother's family went on those Cheap Vacation Packages over the net. Surprising to say that although the cost of the trip was budget, the hotel certainly was above par than what I expected. The bus from the airport took us to a huge hotel, with its own pool (3 of them, actually), and directly beach front. The staff were friendly, and surprisingly, Filipinos! Wherever I went I had no problem communicating, alternating between English, Japanese, and my native tongue. The rooms were big enough, albeit showing its age, housekeeping always made sure it was clean. Thehotelalso has its own massage salon,and a small shop/ store that offered drinks and snacks till late hours. The hotel also has its own bar and a chapel. Breakfast was decent, with limited choices but a good enough filler til your next meal. The beach is good for snorkeling with a variety of fishes swimming in shallow waters. Flotation devices are offered for a fee, of course. Overall, a nice place to stay with the family.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I made friends with a seculity staff of this hotel. He was very kind and other staff ,too.
There is a pool and beach. I recommend watching night stars. The view from beach is amazing!! I could see a meteor ☆彡

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagatna, Guam
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I just completed three days of work on Saipan and stayed at the Grand. I was seriously disappointed as my experience 26 years ago was wonderful. This property is in need of some TLC. There is no 24 hour cafe, the beds are like plywood covered in sheets and the tvs are something from 1970. Front desk staff lacks knowledge about their policies. There is no room service or vending machine for soda or snacks although there was coffee service in the room. The refrigerator in the room was not stocked Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanoa Resort Saipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanoa Resort Saipan

Address: Beach Rd. | PO Box 500369, MP96950, Mariana Islands (Formerly Saipan Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanoa Resort Saipan 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kanoa Resort Saipan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanoa Resort Saipan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.