We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Islands Club

Save Saved
You added Pacific Islands Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Islands Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Rd., San Antonio, 96950, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Saipan
tokyo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Family Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you have young kids, I don't know why you'd go anywhere else. We stayed for seven days and had the best time. We bought the gold meal plan, which gave us three meals per day. You can use the plan in any restaurant but we only used the main dining room where they had a great buffet with something for everyone, including picky kids. I usually get sick of dining in restaurants while travelling because I get tired of the whole procedure of ordering, waiting, entertaining my child. But, with the buffet you can eat and run, if you want, or linger when you are all in the mood.

The water park was super relaxing and entertaining for the whole family. What was so great was they had plenty of equipment and plenty of space, so you could always do what you wanted, when you wanted and you could always get equipment: inner tubes, snorkel masks, etc. We heard from the chef that they serve 700 breakfasts everyday, so the place is pretty crowded but you'd never know it because the grounds are so spacious and the activity options are diverse, so people are spread out. You never feel agitated by crowds. I guess the only place you really see a crowd is if you go to the dining room at peak hours. Around the resort, you can always get a chaise lounge and towels are abundant. There are free water stations all over the place, so you don't need to buy water and the hotel water is filtered, so it tastes fine.

The staff is super perky, friendly, and helpful and after two hours in kids club, they all knew my daughter and said hello to her by name around the resort, so she felt like a celebrity. My daughter went to kids' club two and a half hours per day which gave my husband and I time together after a morning of family activities, but some kids went from 9:00-5:00 -- they can either go mornings, afternoons, or all day. The kids' club is included in the price of the resort and, in the afternoon, they also provide a snack. The "clubmates" (kids' club leaders) are skilled at dealing with kids from all languages and cultures and they do fun games and activities all the kids can figure out, so don't worry if your child doesn't speak English. Some of the clubmates speak other languages, as well.

At 8:30 every night, there is some kind of show or entertainment for the whole family and the pools are open til 10:00. The lifeguards are well trained and keep a keen eye on the pool, so your child will be safe. They don't allow rough play/ dunking so if your kid is out sight, you can still feel that they will be safe in the pool. Also, there are life jackets all over the place for any kid or adult who is not confident in the water and they will require young kids who are swimming alone, and not strong swimmers, to use them.

The resort even provides clean socks and sneakers to borrow if you decide to play tennis or take a tennis lesson. The shoes and socks looked new and fresh and I felt fine using them. The tennis coach was actually a very good teacher -- I was impressed by how well he taught, explained things, and dealt with three different adults at three different levels at the same time.

We had so much fun, we never left the resort the whole week. We arrived in the middle of the night and were picked up by the hotel van, so we did not get to see the island and when we left I told the family to look around as that was our only chance to see the island. We were not interested in showing our daughter war memorials or going scuba diving, so we did not feel we were missing anything. We found our room as good as any other place we've stayed. Everything was super clean and beds were comfy. Wood floors meant we didn't worry about sand and they got cleaned everyday. The halls are a bit noisy -- you can hear through the door -- and everyone (ourselves included) seemed to turn in to teenagers and be up late at night and sleep late in the morning.

Recommendations: Bring at least two swimsuits and coverups per person, because that is all you will wear the whole week. And also two pairs of shoes that you don't mind getting wet because you will be shoving your wet feet into them throughout the day. You can not wear wet clothes in the dining room, so be prepared to either be dry or go change before eating. There is a nice locker room/shower room near the pool, if you don't want to go back to your room to change. I would also recommend buying or bringing both water shoes and UV swim shirts, both of which they sell in the boutique for an average/fair price. I bought a UV shirt but did not buy the shoes and, after a week of being in the water, the soles of our feet were sore and I wish I'd bought some shoes. There are no books or magazines for sale in the hotel or in the convenience store across the street, nor in the airport, so bring your own. There is a small lending library of books and magazines left behind by other guests, but not much for English readers. The air temperature in Saipan is a near constant 82 F. So, you can step out of the ocean or pool and not feel the slightest bit cold. You will need nothing warmer than a long sleeved tee-shirt. Even when it rained, everyone kept right on swimming or playing, because the air was still warm. We travel two or three times per year as a family and this was our best vacation by far because the resort provided something for everyone - not just for kids - not just for adults - so we were ALL satisfied, rested, relaxed, well fed, and sufficiently entertained. As a parent, I got a break from parenting duties, but didn't feel like I was neglecting my child because she was so happy. It was a true vacation for us all and none of us wanted to leave!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    66
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
94
18
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have just returned from a 5 day trip to PIC with my family.This was our 5th time to this resort and will not be our last.The accommodation is probably 2-3 star,but what PIC lacks in this category it more than makes up for it with the facilities .There is so much for 4-16 yr olds to do it is a perfect destination for families.All the staff ,including cleaning staff,club mates,dining staff cannot be any friendlier.We have not been here for just over a year but were approached on numerous occasions with "welcome back " comments and big smiles.
If you opt for the Gold card option,the dining in the main dining area can be a bit much 3 times a day,but the Gold card allows you to eat in the Seafood Grill which is 20 meters from the ocean and is perfect for a cocktail whilst watching the sunset .It is also incredible value if you have children under 11 who eat free the whole time if they are with a Gold card holding adult ,so you only have to pay for 2 for a 4-person family.
In conclusion ,yes the accommodation is a bit tired as mentioned in previous posts but kids certainly do not notice this .Of course there many better options in terms of the accommodation but if it is your children who are your main priority ,this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Great for families and good value,especially the Gold card option if you have kids 11 or under
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of four and spend one week in Pacific Island Resort and was amazed by the pool activities and the friendly staff at this place. The island itself is not much to write about but the war history here is interesting.
We booked the gold card with the room and the buffet was fantastic. Highly recommendable resort.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The rooms are dated and require much needed renovation. I think they've squeeze all the juice, out of that fruit.

The best part was the waterpark and the Magellan Sunday brunch. The other activities like kayaking, snorkeling, rock climbing, beach volleyball, and many more are compliments to hotel guests. The brunch has so many food to choose from. Endless desserts and finger food. The place is always packed on Sundays, but that's just because the food is awesome!

Customer service was okay. No problems, except for this one bartender lady with an attitude. But then her coworker, the male Filipino server made up for it with his friendly demeanor and when he found my phone and kept it for me. He even notified the front desk and called my room.

Biggest complaint? No free wifi internet in the room! They seriously need to address this problem. There are Motel 8's and hostels around the world with free internet. How could this "high-end" resort not have wifi in the rooms?

Overall, this is the best resort on Saipan for families and all-inclusive type of travelers.

Room Tip: To the tourists, don't walk around the neighborhood of this resort (night or day). There isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The seaside grill and staff are wonderful. Enjoyed happy hour each night and the staff there were wonderful (even for dinner). Facilities are aging but mostly the bathrooms need to be redone. Our room location was nice, but there were a lot of children running up and down the hallways at all hours.

Store on location wasn't great. Offered a discount, then didn't, then gave it to us, but it was a huge mess. We ended up buying things in town instead.

Pool/waterpark were fine. Kids loved the lazy river and surf pool. We enjoyed the sport courts/archery/golf facility.

General staff were very friendly and helpful. Front desk staff seemed a little more strained and couldn't always help/needed approval for everything.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Korea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

20% military discount is a scam
Wifi does not work
Facilities are not cleaned properly Ie pool deck should be pressure washed and all lounge mats put inside each night
Food is mediocre at best
Korean people allow their children to run and scream up and down hallways even at12pm and run and scream all over the facility
The employees are all not from the island......way to help the local economy
The front desk people are all lost and have no power, give misinfo(military discount)
Bathrooms need upgrading
Go look inside buffet room NASTY chairs are gross and need to be apolstered, remove the carpet and put something you can clean, bathrooms are not maintainted.
At one restaurant people let their children scream so much i had to ask them to take their child out so as not to ruin the dining experience of all
Better off going to jeju or hale koa

Positives
Pool staff, waiters, cleaning folks, are friendly
Gally man 16 yr employee fabulous
Roberto at seaside grill is fabulous

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Sea Side Bar and Grill is an excellent place just sitting either inside or out on the beach and enjoying happy hour and watching the beautiful sunsets. The chasers and drinks are half priced during happy hour from 5 p.m to 7 p.m. Very peaceful, breezy, and beautiful sunsets, and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Islands Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Islands Club

Address: Beach Rd., San Antonio, 96950, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saipan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Islands Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you plan to visit Saipan with your family, friends or alone, Pacific Islands Club (PIC) is the perfect complement to the beauty of the islands. PIC is known as the most spectacular resort on the island of Saipan. Located on prime 58,000 sq. meters of beachfront property in the southern Village of San Antonio, our resort provides over 60 different types of sports and recreation free of charge to its guests. Whether you are seeking relaxation or excitement, PIC represents a unique concept. Our guests benefit from the merge of expansive facilities and modern resort accommodations with our special ambassadors of adventure, the PIC Clubmates (animators). They are available to help guests enjoy the glorious blue skies, crystal clear waters, spectacular sunsets and the myriad of other activities for that perfect tropical getaway.Relax on the beach, laze around the Waterpark, take a windsurfing lesson or challenge your friends to a laser tag game. Try one of the many land or water sports activities such as tennis, rockwall climbing, mini-golf or body boarding, kayaking, snorkeling. While your kids have all the fun they can handle in our Kids’ Club, grab a tube and slide along our Lazy River, shop at the Boutiki or relax with a soothing massage. Later, you can dine in one of the four restaurants, enjoy the sunset with a refreshing cocktail and catch the lively, fun-filled nightly entertainment performed by our Clubmates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pacific Islands Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Islands Club Hotel Saipan
Pacific Islands Hotel
Pacific Islands Saipan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Islands Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.