We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“updates by a regular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Summer Holiday Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alaihai Ave | P.O. Box 500908, 96950, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Saipan
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“updates by a regular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not much has changed in Saipan or at The Summer Holiday. Room rates were about 55 US$, ample parking, free wifi, free coffee in the lobby in the morning. Cable tv is imited to a few channels, TVs are small and old.

But I still enjoy my stay due to location, price and staff quality. Thai and Korean Restaurants and McDonalds are located right behind the Hotel on beach road, Marthas 24 hr minimart is beside the hotel also.

Ill be back again.....

Room Tip: get a room on the 1st floor, no elevator so steps are taken to 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
1
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Please, if you get here and they put you in room 105 turn around and find somewhere else to stay. I stayed here for 5 days, the initial shock wore off but it was still very basic. I guess the price is low enough to make some difference but on the whole I would not return. There are better rooms, an if you are lucky to get one of those you'll probably be happy with your stay. Wifi is free but very poor in room 105, and if you log on in the lobby be sure to put bug spray on...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

ive stayed at the summer holiday off and on for over 10 years. as of sept 2011 it was still 55 a night. the wifi is free, although a little slow. staff is nice and the rooms are always clean. they could do some ugrades like tvs and paint but for the price its a pretty nice place. 24 hr store is next door and all the shops in garapan are walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Now, I've been to Saipan several times and have always stayed at one of the larger hotels. But since I was traveling with my grandmother, she insisted we stay at the Summer Holiday, which is her regular Saipan hotel. Anyways, the hotel is next to the Federal Court building and the Garapan Church. The beach is across the road from the hotel. There is a Thai restaurant in the building right in front of the hotel. I recommend staying on the third floor. You can see the beach from your hotel door entrance.

Now for the hotel room. The hotel room is worth every penny. It isn't fancy but it is very comfortable. The beds, pillows are comfortable. There is a little kitchenette with a built-in electric stove, over-head vent w/ light, a mini-fridge, and a sink. It isn't fancy but it is perfectly clean and workable. There is a balcony that goes onto the shared lanai area. It is very windy during the day and the night. The hotel comes equipped with fresh water in a pitcher in the refrigerator, and a little bar of soap in the bathroom. The bathroom is not fancy at all, it has 60's decor and definitely needs a remodel, but the bathroom is clean except maybe the floor of the bathtub but it isn't that bad.

The only bad turnoff about this hotel is that the water that comes out of the faucet is salty. Saipan lacks an aquifer system therefore the water is salty. But some other hotels have water purifiers that take out the salt. But the water is manageable.

There is also a Thai massage parlor on the second floor of the hotel and they charge something like $10 for an hour. HEAVEN!

Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saipan hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace
Hotel Sun Palace
#13 of 29 in Saipan
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aqua Resort Club Saipan
3.4 mi away
Kanoa Resort Saipan
Kanoa Resort Saipan
#5 of 29 in Saipan
3.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#9 of 29 in Saipan
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Hotel Saipan
Paradise Hotel Saipan
#11 of 29 in Saipan
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Saipan
Hyatt Regency Saipan
#2 of 29 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Holiday Hotel

Address: Alaihai Ave | P.O. Box 500908, 96950, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Summer Holiday Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Summer Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.