We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 MAJOR ISSUES which are deal-breakers for this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Himawari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Himawari Hotel to your Saves list
Himawari Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PMB 252, Box 10003, 96950, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Saipan
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“2 MAJOR ISSUES which are deal-breakers for this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

1. RATS: I rented 2 rooms for 4 nights. In room 210, we could hear chewing above the bathroom ceiling day & night. We saw a rat run into a hole to the right of the top step before arriving on the 4th floor to enter the diving gear wash room. We also saw rat droppings. We notified the Bureau of Environmental Health @ Phone: (670) 664-4870/2/

2. BEEPING SMOKE DETECTORS: The hotel is using smoke detectors similar to the kind used in homes in the USA. The low battery beeping sound is very annoying. There were several alarms beeping on each floor. It was hard to sleep with that all that beeping.

The things I liked about this hotel were:
1. Courteous staff who spoke English
2. Clean & comfortable room, except for issues mentioned above
3. Kitchenette in "Superior Room"
4. Having a grocery on 1st floor was convenient
5. Wash room for diving gear is a great convenience

Room Tip: I would stay here again if the rats were eradicated and the smoke detectors were fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    23
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
5
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Whilst it was a virtually free stay with a best price guarantee claim, the condition at the hotel is terrible. The management spent minimal amount on room maintenance and the room was full of insects!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Room and furniture is in very very poor condition. Room and fixtures are covered in mould and no attempt has been made to clean or reduce the amount of mould. There is so much mould it is a health hazard. The pictures speak for themselves.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I spent two nights here while in Saipan. Since I was planning to go touring for most of the time I decided on a basic hotel since I only needed it for the bed at night. If sightseeing is your main goal then this hotel is fine... don't expect a fancy room and pool. It is a basic hotel geared towards Japanese visitors, with the grocery store and sushi restaurant. Perfect for those on frugal holidays that want to buy their own food and eat in as opposed to going out to more expensive restaurants. It is a 10 minute walk to the beach, but it's not a problem. The staff is friendly. The airport shuttle is free and the rooms are clean but basic. The only downside for me was the lack of hot water for my showers... I did get up later than most so maybe taking a shower at 7AM instead of 8:30AM might have made a difference.

Basic hotel, but for the money it was a good value. I recommend it to budget minded
travelers..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I read all the reviews and decided on the Himawari - I made the right choice. The location is above a grocery store and fantastic sushi restaurant. The beach is a 5 minute walk, as are many restaurants and shops. The staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms all have wifi, the shower has hot and cold water with good water pressure, it was clean, quiet and inexpensive. I stayed 2 nights and they provided airport transport both directions at no extra charge. The rooms are practical, not fancy - and the shop below, besides grocery items, sells fresh baked breads which were soooo delicious and Japanese meals - they even have a microwave for customer use and fresh brewed coffee. Perfect stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Himawari is a little hotel built atop a Japanese grocery store located in a quiet residential street 2 streets aways from the main strip in Saipan. To get to the room, you walk through the grocery store to a door in the back that leads to a well-lit and well-ventilated staircase up to the rooms

The rooms are very basic with mismatched furnishings - but large and clean. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel. While I initially had problems with the password provided in the check-in instructions, this was quickly solved by the Japanese manager who gave me a couple other passwords to try. There are also a couple washing machines for use (not sure the cost) and airport pickup / drop-off is available for free for those who stay a minimum of 2 nights. I communicated with the hotel by email before the trip and they were quick and informative in all their responses.

As the hotel is built on top of a grocery store, it's really convenient when you need to pick up drinks / food / supplies. The grocery store has a bakery attached that sells fresh baked breads, and a cooked-food section that sells soups, tempura, onigiri and Japanese-style meals (rice with meat/fish and a side). There is a microwave next to the cashier to heat up the food and you can bring whatever is bought to eat in the Japanese restaurant a few paces away. The grocery store is well patronised by locals who come in in a constant stream to pick up groceries from early morning till closing at 11pm.

As the hotel is only a few hundred meters away from the main strip, exploring the area on foot is easy and restaurants / shops are within easy reach.

This is a great litlle hotel for the budget traveller with all the necessary conveniences provided.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Himawari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himawari Hotel

Address: PMB 252, Box 10003, 96950, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Himawari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Himawari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himawari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.