We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Century Hotel

Save Saved
You added Century Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Chalan Pale Arnold, Kalachucha Ave. | Garapan, 96950, Mariana Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 hotels in Saipan
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great staff, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Front office manager Vicky and Carlos make this place your home away from home. Great hospitality people!! Very efficient housekeeping keeps premises "ultra" clean. Cable TV has 60-70 channels. Rooms are good sized. Beds firm. Two supermarkets located 50 yards away and a fresh produce shop. Shirley's makes good salads. Free broadband and wifi in room. It doesn't get much better. Why not five stars? Mini fridge in room was a bit loud. Pillows were really hard. Lot's of foot traffic during the night due to middle of night plane arrival/departures which is not hotel's fault. Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
10
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The biggest plus for this hotel was the price, friendly service, and on site Shirley 24 Hour coffee shop. The room was a tad dated, however it was clean. The bed was not the most comfortable but was tolerable. My biggest complaint was that my room was right above the restaurant and in the middle of the night (like 4 am) I heard silverware clanking for a good 30 minutes. If you stay here make sure you ask to get a room that is not directly above the restaurant. I wound up paying $98.00 USD (all taxes included) for a hotel and car rental for the day. I would have to pay more than this for just the hotel at most of the other hotels on the island. They did have free internet where I could print my boarding pass and free parking.

In a nutshell if price is no object to you than I would look elsewhere, but if you are concerned about price than this is an acceptable.budget hotel.

Room Tip: Book the hotel and car rental package with Avis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

After eating at Shirley's Restaurant, I decided, on the strength of the "Milk fish in tamarind broth" to stay at the hotel upstairs. Meals were not geared for tourists, rather for locals and Filipino residents. Portions were ample and very reasonable with a lunch special, for $8.95, including beef chicharones, or deep fried beef skin. Like I said, not for tourists, but lots of local color. On Ash Wednesday evening, the restaurant filled up with the devout clientele, most with ashes on their foreheads. My Japanese friend didn't have a clue. As for the hotel room, it was clean, staff was friendly, fixtures were fairly new and in great condition, soap, shampoo was better than anywhere in this price range, bed was comfortable. And the kicker, they even threw in free shuttle to their larger and more expensive partner hotel, Fiesta, or to the Grand if you wish, ($5) to use the pool and enjoy the beach and restaurants there. Another thing, the cable TV had about 70 channels, compared to the Hyatt Regency's 24. A little far from the beach and shopping, but worth the savings and comfort.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

from reserving the rooms online and actually getting there, everything was 4-star service. friendly environment, helpful, etc., Would i recommend this place? absolutely! would i come back? no question! rates and promotions were also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Buyer beware. Century Hotel exemplifies Saipan's culture of business corruption. I booked a 2-day hotel-car rental package in advance, and notified the hotel I wanted a twin room, with early arrival on the first day and late departure the second day. On check-in the hotel clerk claimed that the quoted rate applied only to single rooms so I was charged extra for the twin beds. Then on check-out I was charged for an extra day, and the clerk claimed that hotel "policy" required the charge and the "computer is programmed to make the charge" even though I had been quoted a different package rate on check-in. There are plenty of hotels is Saipan and they are all suffering from the island's economic collapse (which is not unrelated to the rampant corruption). So do yourself a favor. Shop around. You can get better rates and a better quality service at many many other hotels in Saipan. The hotel's restaurant, Shirley's, serves the sort of unhealthy over-salted high-fat fried food that helps make Saipan the diabetes capital of the western Pacific. Shirley's can serve you Spam in any style you please but there's no fresh island fruit or island fruit juice on the menu, even though Saipan has an abundance of delicious fruit year 'round.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

The Century Hotel Saipan is a 3 star hotel that offers 5 star service. The staff (almost all Filipino) are very friendly and efficient. The rooms are cleaned punctually every day. There is a coffee shop on the main floor that can is open 24/7. The hotel is located in Garapan and a short walk away from the main shopping areas. The hotel is not on the Beach road and does not have a view of the ocean. It is quiet, clean and efficient. If you do not need pools, spa and all of that, this would be a good choice. Note: There is a night club/bar on the first floor in the back half of the building. My room was in the front on the third floor and I never heard a sound but I would imagine that someone on the second floor over the club might have a noisy experience!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Saipan hotels
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
4.0 mi away
Kanoa Resort Saipan
Kanoa Resort Saipan
#5 of 29 in Saipan
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
3.8 mi away
Aqua Resort Club Saipan
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Saipan
Hyatt Regency Saipan
#3 of 29 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
6.0 mi away
Pacific Islands Club
Pacific Islands Club
#2 of 29 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Saipan Ocean View Hotel
Saipan Ocean View Hotel
#23 of 29 in Saipan
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Spa, Mid-range...
Show More
3.9 mi away
Saipan World Resort
Saipan World Resort
#4 of 29 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: Chalan Pale Arnold, Kalachucha Ave. | Garapan, 96950, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 hotels in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.