We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Nice Stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gallitzin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tunnel Inn
Save
You added Tunnel Inn to your Saves list
702 Jackson St, Gallitzin, PA 16641   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Gallitzin B&B and Inns
Parts Unknown
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another Nice Stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just spent four nights at the Tunnel Inn and once again it didn't disappoint. Clean rooms in a well cared for building and just about all of them have a closeup view of the mainline. Great for train fans but even if you have a family member who is not the rooms are quiet as there is surprisingly little noise coming from a very active rail line so close to the building. The owners are very accommodating and the value is good.

Room Tip: The Alto room is the only one without a view of the tracks, but there is a large deck right next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
250 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

clean , friendly, and comfortable. if you like/love trains, stay at the tunnel inn. super b&b. like they say only the engineer is closer to the tracks. mike and julie are great owners and make your stay memorable without being underfoot in this small b&b.

Room Tip: all rooms are great. not a bad or iffy one in the lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We enjoyed our one-night stay here. Our room was clean, the owners were very friendly, and the Inn is located overlooking the double track rail line. Trains were plentiful with an especially nice view from the nearby bridge. For supper we ate at the nearby Iron Horse which offered basic food at a very reasonable price. The Inn provided a continental breakfast delivered to our room although we ate it outside on the back porch so we would continue watching trains. In an perfect world we would have liked jelly with our muffins. Coffee is available in the Inn lobby, day and night. The cost of our stay was $141.70.

Room Tip: Ask for a track side room if you like trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

If you're out railfanning Norfolk Southern's Pittsburgh Divison in the Altoona-Horseshoe Curve area, The Tunnel Inn is the place to stay. Located adj to the Mainline - right @ the mouth of the Alleghany Tunnels, @ the top of the grade. Very inviting grounds around the inn, clean and maintained. Paved parking lot can accomodate approx 3-4 vehicles, additional parking is available on the street. Lobby for guests has a board directing guests to which rooms they are staying in, and what town they are from. Coffee/Tea and Hot Chocolate available for guests in the lobby. Also Railfan Mags are available to read during you're stay. Clean Rooms, Cable TV to say the least. Outdoor deck in the rear overlooks the mainline. Chimenea located on deck with a supply of firewood.. Very comfortable and quiet (when the train is not passing by)... Also a light switch on the deck illuminates the track area during the night time hours so guests can view the action.

Inn-keeper Mike K one of the nicest and friendlist guys I've met. Been friends for a number of years now, always around to speak about the rail action

Train Action is busy, You will see all westbound traffic on track 3 and bi-directional traffic on track 2... Track 1 can be viewed by taking a 5 minute walk across town as the mainlines are split in the town of Gallitzin. Westbounds in Run-8 as they pass by, Eastbounds just starting to apply they're dynamic breaks as they glide downhill into the tunnel.

More information can be found at [--].... Radio Freq: 160.800

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This place was amazing. Shiny clean, awesome decor, fantastic service, and a view of the trains going through the tunnels from your window or a covered deck. Bathroom was beautiful, halls were filled with extras to look at, read, or enjoy (Keurig Coffee). The breakfast served at your door in a picnic basket was wonderful. PJ's Tavern in nearby Cresson was terrific food and service. I would HIGHLY recommend this place to any railfan and anyone else who wants a fantastic place to stay at a reasonable price. (Don't go though if you don't like trains going by you at night).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallitzin
12.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Duncansville
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#4 of 12 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 12 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ebensburg
Comfort Inn Ebensburg
#1 of 2 in Ebensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Inn

Address: 702 Jackson St, Gallitzin, PA 16641
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gallitzin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gallitzin
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.