We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What your paying for is the view and atmosphere!! It is amazing!!!!. Otherwise the food is four star.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterbar

Waterbar
399 The Embarcadero, San Francisco, CA 94105 (The Embarcadero)
415.284.9922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Waterbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Embarcadero
Cross street: Harrison
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What your paying for is the view and atmosphere!! It is amazing!!!!. Otherwise the food is four star.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This reasturarnt is about LOCATION, LOCATION,LOCATION! Ask for a booth that faces the bay bridge. What a light show. It is just spectular. What drew my family and I to this reasturant was raws oysters. They offer a variety from across the the country and New Zealand. Try the Chefs selection. The menu is limited. This is a seafood reasturant with 2 red meat selections. I had the seared halibut. It was fabulous. The Salmon was outstanding. The ribeyes from New Zealand was ok. The other selection was a flat iron steak. MEAT LOVERS STEER AWAY! The menu is ala carte. Five people with 2 alcholoic drinks each with dessert will run $500 before gratuity. I did not give it 5 stars becuase the steak could of been better. The wait staff is attentive and friendly. We had to make reseravtions 2 months in advance and got a late (8:30 PM) seating. Valet parking is 12.00 for dinner. I would go back. But in the end it was all about the view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    162
    45
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great view of the Bay Bridge and terrific seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Dinner here is a treat; especially if you like oysters. They offer a whole menu of fresh raw oysters as well as many other types of seafood. the mussels were wonderfully prepared, with a beef short rib and not the usual marinara or white wine sauce. This and the beet salad were a perfect light dinner. My friends had the red snapper, salmon, broccoli rabe sides which were served garlicy with a fried egg on top. the wine list is extensive and this hot spot is a great place for a dinner with a view of the newly renovated Bay Bridge right on the Embarcodero

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place with amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a few nights in San Francisco and we were looking for a good restaurant for grilled fish. The concierge at the Fairmont recommended the Waterbar, which is right at the foot of the Bay Bridge on the Embarcadero (if I recall well).

Great view of the bridge at night and huge aquarium in the center of the restaurant. The food was good and the service was excellent. Perfect place to take customers out or to spent quality time with a date.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and splendid views, but not special food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Waterbar restaurant is beautiful. I like the brick and wood beams, and the atmosphere. Out the windows is a great view of Bay Bridge and the harbour. This is just a nice place to be.

Seafood, especially shellfish, is not my favourite thing so it is hard to be extremely positive. It was a business lunch of 7 persons and everyone seemed satisfied with the mail. I thought the menu was a bit limited, except for the oyster menu which was expansive - not that I would touch those slimy, cold things.

Service was fast and good.

Overall I recommend Waterbar. It is an nice play to be and seafood lovers will love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Busy but a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We meet some friends during the American cup for a few drinks.Good service and good range of cocktails.We decided to stay on for dinner to catch the new lights on the bridge.
The meal was a bit pricey but very tasty and overall worth popping in again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterbar also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Waterbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.