We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere warning....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood

Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood
552 Green Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Telegraph Hill)
415 398 3181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Telegraph Hill
del mar, ca
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Atmosphere warning....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I made reservations here after reading all the great reviews, but when we walked in the door, it just wasn't where I wanted to eat. The hostess was very friendly, but the restaurant is basically one long counter with a few small tables. It is super noisy and I really didn't want to eat dinner at a counter. The food might be wonderful, but if you're looking for a place with some ambience.....this isn't it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    239
    56
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Very nice fish restaurant in SFO ! The atmosphere is friendly, fish is very fresh and perfectly cooked! I strongly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ciopinno is so scrumptious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A very fun, hole in the wall, locals' spot on Green St. in the North Beach Area. Don't miss it if you want ciopinno filled with many kinds of delicious seafood in a wonderful tangy sauce not to be forgotten. Limited menu, but fun place to be rubbing elbows with the local folks who know the reasonably priced great spots in San Francisco. The smoked salmon appetizer was simple and delicious. Put that with the ciopinno and you have a delicious dinner. Warning... don't come here for dessert. They don't serve it since the owners have had much trouble with diabetes. However, they do recommend several good local spots for desserts. We tried Stella on Columbus. Had almond cookies to die for! Made for a great dinner in North Beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Cool place; great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went on T.A. suggestions, and as usual, you fellow 'advisors' came through. This is a very cool, quaint, old-style restaurant, with old pictures, lots of wood, and great atmosphere. The food is spectacular, and reasonably priced. I had the sole and it was one of the best I've ever had. I would have loved the famous ciappino but it comes only for 2 and my wife wasn't in the mood for it. Next time. And there'll be one

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“memorable seafood dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We found Sotto Mare on trip advisor and were well advised. We also really enjoyed the casual atmosphere. We sat at the counter and were able to watch the food being prepared - it was quite impressive. This was definitely a highlight of our trip to San Francisco!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.