We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets for seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood

Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood
552 Green Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
415 398 3181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“As good as it gets for seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

An excellent place for seafood. It has a small menu but here in lies it strength. They dont do a lot but what they do, they do it outstandingly. Went there on numerous occasions during my stay and tried a little bit of everything. And all i can say is that it was all consistingly good. The pasta was great, the fish was great but the star of the show was the chiapinno. The sauce is a dippers delight and the are they do not skimp on the seafood and especialy the crab. The oysters are outstanding and everything goes well with the house wine which is very well priced. All in all outstanding value for the money. Considering the seafood is quite cheaper then the touristy Bubba Gumps and like, one has no excuse to pay more for subpar food. Avoid the fishermans warf and pier 39 traps and go to this place for some outstanding seafood.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    884
    271
    59
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous seafood with an Italian theme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I dined here on a recent visit to SF. We had a half crab appetizer, sole special, seafood pasta and a side of pasta with pesto sauce. Everything was excellent and served piping hot. If you like watching the chef/cooks, make sure to sit at the bar on the left. Great service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A must if you love seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This is probably the best seafood I have had. The restaurant is busy but worth the wait (seemed to be closed Sunday) there is a bar a couple of doors away that we popped to whilst we waited with our buzzer. Very reasonably priced for what we had, great atmosphere and would def return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Really nice, small, family owned Italian seafood restaurant. Service is friendly and informal, however food is perfect! Probably one of the best scallops and prawns I have ever had! Judging from the flow of people to buy take away fish and food, not just dining in, you can bet everything the seafood and fish are very fresh and probably bought every day! Not very expensive either, especially as it is so nice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Couldn't be any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went here based on reviews from tripadvisor and couldn't be any more pleased. It was wonderful! Got there early and were seated immediately. Of course we had to try the ciopinno and couldn't have been more pleased. It was definitely worth the stop! Don't even consider any of the other touristy places, just go and enjoy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.