We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to know the history of this place to appreciate it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Crispy Taco's

Nick's Crispy Taco's
1500 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109-2516 (Nob Hill)
415-409-8226
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,240 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $5 - $10
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“You've got to know the history of this place to appreciate it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

When you walk into Nick's, you'll wonder why there are red walls, crystal chandeliers, and a big bar on one side, and then there are tables and booths on the side where you order your inexpensive Mexican food. This place used to be a bar many years ago - Johnny Love's and then Rouge - that's why it looks like a bordello. The bar business died and in came Nicks and the owner did minimal remodeling/repairs (look up at the ceiling and you'll see poor patch work.) Nonetheless, good, quick food at reasonable prices especially for the neighborhood. It's a dive in so many ways, but in San Francisco, many dives serve the best food!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    26
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place for a casual meal and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I don't know why people are saying this place is sketchy. Given the name, I was expecting sketchy, but we walked up to a large, nice building with a little counter for the tacos and a large bar area. The dark and red interior could use some work, but it didn't take anything away from the experience. The tacos were pretty good, I expected them to be better but they were fine. They offer a variety of tacos and then for a $1 you can get them Nick's Way (with one of the corn tortillas fried and guacamole). I probably wouldn't get them again though. The chips with the fresh salsa were delicious however and the bar had great happy hour specials (from 5-10 and I think it was Monday-Friday but it may just be Monday-Thursday). They have $10 pitchers of all beers, $18 pitchers of margaritas and I think $3 pints. Either way its a good place to go have a drink and watch sports. I'd definitely go again for happy hour, chips and salsa, and maybe try a burrito or something different as the main dish.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“3.5 would be more appropriate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Had a table reserved and drove down for Taco Tuesday last night. There was quite a line to get in and it took a good 20 minutes for them to clear our table so we could sit down. The tacos are pretty decent. Nothing to write home about. Beer was fairly priced. It's pretty cool inside with the whole red velvet and chandelier thing going on. Definitely not somewhere you'd expect a taco place. Overall it was fun and would think about going back to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sketchy place, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The place does look a bit sketchy (you get water off of a cooler) and its red walls and curtain made it look like a cheap strip club, however the food was amazing, we had the chilen salad and the fish tacos. Overall it was fresh and well made.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish tacos, shabby glam decor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

So what if this is more like a permanent food truck stuck in the corner of a college age hang-out bar than an an actal restaurant? The fish tacos are a little chunk o heaven, the burritos are massive and satisfying and there's Sierra Nevada pale ale on tap at the adjacent bar. Cash only at nicks. If you want the whole white table cloth and polite waiter thing better go elsewhere. If you don't mind eating in a bar and are hankering for the real thing in fish tacos then find your way to Nick's.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Crispy Taco's also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Nick's Crispy Taco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Crispy Taco's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.