We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique hotel in great location in San Fran” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Worldmark San Francisco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Worldmark San Francisco
Save Saved
You added Worldmark San Francisco to your Saves list
590 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Boutique hotel in great location in San Fran”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here a week for business. I asked the client to put me up in a "non-chain" hotel.
This hit the mark. Great location, very friendly staff, nice lounge area. I had the bonus of being here during Palm Sunday. So the music from the French speaking Sunday mass next door was a pleasant surprise. No need for a car, everything is in walking distance or public transportation. Rooms are small compared to regular US chain hotel.

Room Tip: Outside room and above sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    56
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
31
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is not a typical WorldMark resort property and WorldMark goes out of its way to let you know. It is a hotel in an older building (most hotels around union square are old) with small kitchens and extra living space. That said, its a fantastic location right above union square. But the best part of the property are the people. Helpful, courteous and appear to truly like what they are doing.

Be aware that some of the rooms are inside rooms and are very dark so if you want light, ask for an outside room.

Room Tip: If light is important be sure to get an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I love the location of this hotel. Just a few steps from chinatown and union square, lots of shops and groceries in the vicinity. Rooms are a little small but its clean and nice. They have coffee/tea making facilities and microwave inside the room. Free coffee and tea all day at the lobby. Parking is a big problem since its located in the city center but the hotel do offer valet parking at around 30 us dollars. Staff are courteous and friendly. Overall, i like this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had 5 days here and enjoyed ourselves in San Francisco. The location here was the highlight - 1 block to Chinatown, 1 block to Cable Car, short walk to Union Square, Macys, a range of dining options etc. For an Aussie, the rooms were small but this is an old Hotel and as several have noted much bigher than some rooms in Europe I have stayed in. We had a 1 Br unit with separate eating area/lounge etc. Basic supplies for crockery and cutelry etc., microwave, coffee maker, small fridge etc. We combined eating home and out and it worked fine. Lori's Diner was a great experience. Our room did not face the street so it was quiet. Staff were generally very helpful and friendly. It is great to have a washing machine/dryer when travelling and there was a small gym as well. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a stay here and I couldn't have asked for more! The location was great since it was close to public transportaion that got us to anyplace our heart desired. We stayed in a one bedroom and it was the perfect size for us. The staff was amazing and helpful. Our flight didn't leave till after check out and when our cell phones died the front desk staff was too happy to charge it for us while we walked around the city. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was big enough for the both of us to get ready at the same time. We were on the 8th floor so we didn't hear too much noise from the city into our room. The only downfall is that the bathroom didn't have a fan vent but that won't stop us from visiting this property again. I'm very particular on where I stay when I am away from home and this place was just AMAZING!!!

Room Tip: Try and get a high floored room, that may have been the reason why we didn't notice the city noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is possibly the best we've ever stayed in! The concierge and reception staff couldn't have been more helpful! They were so helpful we bought them bottles of wine - they were great with restaurants, valet parking, things to do, places to go and things to see! They were like built in travel agents!

We will DEFINITELY go back and stay here...

The room was awesome - top floor - very private, secluded and 'boutique'... It was large and spacious - no view - but honestly - in San Francisco who has time to sit in their hotel room?????

Loved it! Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Get the very top floor - you have to walk up a flight or two of stairs once you hit the top in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It is in a very central location. One block from union square and Chinatown. A very frequent bus #30 that goes to Fisherman Wharf. Cable car is one block away (but don't plan to get on there unless you are boarding before 8am). Staff is friendly and helpful. Furniture and decor are quite up to date. The only thing is that it is fairly noisy, being in a corner of busy streets and right across from a bar. Good thing they provide ear plugs.

I saw some reviews and said the units are small. Indeed they are but better than I expected. Tried staying at hotels in Paris, Tokyo and Hong Kong then you would think this is spacious.

Room Tip: Two sides are facing the streets and they would be noiser than the side that doesn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Worldmark San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldmark San Francisco

Address: 590 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
Worldmark San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worldmark San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.