We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love their sourdough bread! Who doesn't?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boudin's Bakery & Cafe

Boudin's Bakery & Cafe
19th Ave. & Winston, San Francisco, CA 94132
415-564-1849
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 166 Bakeries in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love their sourdough bread! Who doesn't?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Everyone recommended we eat here when they heard we were vacationing in San Francisco. We weren't disappointed. The bread was great. I had their clam chowder in a bread bowl and it was very good as well. The entire family enjoyed their meal.

No brainer. You gotta go here if visiting San Fran!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LordOfTheRooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Obviously the bread is fantastic! The sourdough rounds are reasonably priced, but the creative breads (crabs, turtles, teddy bears) are pricey. The food is also good, but really expensive. I paid $30 for a sandwich, personal pizza and bottle of water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThomasFam2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed the clam chowder in their sour dough bread bowl. The restaurant has outdoor seating upstairs, and it was delightful to be outside away from the crowds eating indoors. We always order the clam chowder and sour dough bread bowl at Christmas time, and it brings back great memories of our visit to the city by the bay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snowhiteLasVegas_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Do not miss the Clam Chowder bowl. My son had it for dinner and for breakfast. We ordered different menu and they were all yummy. My son enjoyed his stay at San Francisco particularly Boudin's!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go now! Do not delay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Delicious. Excellent. I am a foodie and this was our first stop in San Fran.....service, atmosphere, view, and food....I want to move there....I want to eat clam chowder in a sourdough bread bowl everyday. Great wine. Service...I need to say that again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boudin's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Boudin's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing