We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on a budget. Don't expect much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge San Francisco - Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travelodge San Francisco - Fishermans Wharf to your Saves list
Travelodge San Francisco - Fishermans Wharf
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1201 Columbus Ave, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly Bayside Inn at the Wharf - Pacific Hotels) (Russian Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #149 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Monrovia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location on a budget. Don't expect much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night. Great location. Walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, Pier 39. Bathroom newly remodeled w new fixtures and marble tile in shower w high shower head for tall people, granite sink top. Coffee in room and fridge. Oscillating fan. We had a twin and full size bed in the room. There is no closet but an area w hangers for clothes if needed. Clean room,small, but they still need to be updated, otherwise ok for 1 or 2 night stay. TV is old but works, also hairdryer and shampoo.
The front desk were polite, parking is $15.00/day and free WiFi. Much cheaper than $30 to $45 @ high end hotels.
Ice machine didn't work, a little noisy from outside traffic /intersection but i didn't notice noise @ night. Beds ok, a little soft but comfortable
Overall, great price for location

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    51
    41
    19
    45
See reviews for
49
54
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I travel for a living and stay in top hotels. I needed something close to the cruise terminal just to sleep for a few hours. I called the hotel and front desk person told me to book on-line as it was cheaper. Location was awesome! Room is small, but was clean. No bed bugs! Bathroom looked as if it was remodeled recently, and it was very clean. No a/c but did alright with room fan. Curtains need to be replaced. A hotel for a long stay or a couple that needs room.No. A room to sleep a few hours that won't cost a mint and is near the wharf. Yes

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Not quite the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, but nearly. The only reasons it rates one star are; Location, within easy walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf area, clean sheets and at least a welcome at reception. Other than that it is pretty dire, should be pulled / closed down! Checked out immediately and found decent rooms at the Columbus Motor Inn just up the road the next night for exactly the same rate. Only if you are really, really, REALLY desperate.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights week of October 2nd. First impression was of a small room with tired carped and no ac. Conveniently located but would not recommend because of the pest control issue. Unacceptable in the 21st century. SF tourism should remove hotel license from such establishments until they do something about it. Tarnishes SF's reputation.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Room was tiny, dark, dingy, dreary & dirty. Unlike website photo (showing bedside lamps & wall pictures), the only lighting was a 1-bulb ceiling fixture (compatible to a bare-bulb) and the only wall "art" were the stains! The dark, tiny bathroom's ceiling was peeling & a small piece was hanging down; bottom of door was smashed/cracked/crushed(?), the shower consisted of a row of tiles (one-tile-high) which was useless in keeping the water from soaking the [somewhat sticky] floor. Don't even want to mention the toilet... The bed linens (including the towels) were threadbare, the mattresses (1 qn??/1 twn) were beyond replacement (noisy & painful springs). The room smelled, no ventilation, noisy.... etc. etc etc. Killed a bug in the bed on 2nd day (don't think it was a bedbug, but didn't matter to me) -- tried to get another place but all was booked for next couple of days. Requested room change 'til than. 2nd room not much better (though 1" larger); this bathroom also had peeling ceiling, plus [mouse-sized] hole & missing tile on bottom of wall by bathroom door; this door was also broken on bottom. Still had the smell, no-ventilation, etc.... Even though we checked for bedbugs 1st night, I actually slept with my clothes on (instead of pj's) as I refused to get under the covers! Couldn't check out soon enough!! I will say that the 2 front-desk staff members were polite, and the housekeeper sympathetic to our situation -- though none of that changes the fact this place is a 'dive' that I wouldn't recommend to anyone .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

If there is an option that is worse than terrible, I would definitely choose it. The room that I was given had BEG BUGS. When I made a complain, the guy replied to me rudely and just told me to leave the place (at 4am) since there were no other rooms available. I didn't get to sleep. The location is ok since it was near the wharf. Parking is $15. If your budget is between $100-$120 with parking, this place does not worth the value. It's a BIG NO to stay here. Trust me or you will regret.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

When we arrived we were put in a tiny room. It was obviously only meant for one person as there was one chair one set of towels but the owner lied. There were no bedside lamps. These had been removed from the walls leaving holes in the plaster. I asked the front desk for a bedside lamp but he said there were none. I insisted that he must try to get a bedside lamp as I didn't want to have an accident bumping into things in the night. He arrived with a huge lamp with a big burn hole in the sahde.
We were moved to a slightly larger room the next day, but this was dirty and shabby. the curatins were hanging off the track. The chair was broken. The door was really dirty. To top it all , we arrived back after a busy day to find that the carpets were sodden. They had had them shampooed whilst we were out and the room smelt of chemicals and the floor was really wet. The manager had the cheek to tell us when we complained abou this that he was running a business and what did we expect? Some business!! I wouldn't recommend this place to an enemy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge San Francisco - Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Francisco - Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1201 Columbus Ave, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly Bayside Inn at the Wharf - Pacific Hotels)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Francisco - Fishermans Wharf 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge San Francisco - Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn At The Wharf - Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge San Francisco - Fishermans Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.