We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Focaccia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liguria Bakery

Liguria Bakery
1700 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133-2915
415-421-3786
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Bakery, Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Focaccia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

It's all you get. And it's all you need. Owner was cute- i told her about her ranking and her reply was I'm never on the Internet. I believe it! Old school applies here. And I'm sure it's what makes it so good, 103 year old business. Cash only.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“In and Out in a flash! Tasty Rosemary and Garlic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Here is the trick - Liguria's is right across the street from Mama's. We arrived in Washington Square at 7:45 on a Friday morning. The sign in Liguria's said "open" and there were a few locals inside getting their bread. The lady, who people say is often short tempered, was in a great mood and shared a bit of history about the bakery. We bought both the pizza and the rosemary/garlic and slipped it into our bag for later, then headed over to Mama's for breakfast. Later in the day, we pulled out the bread and ate it. The Rosemary/Garlic was our favorite. The trick is to go there right before opening and before the bakery is super hot and filled with customers, then head to Mama's for breakfast.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I must say that when I found this place I was a bit skeptical but after eating here I have absolutely NO complaints. This place is amazing, I have not had a single thing from here that I did not like! THANK YOU for being such an amazing place to eat (They are rare these day)!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“amazing bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

another reason to go to vancouver, if they have bread better than that at liquria bakery, i have to have some. i read about this san francisco treasure in trip advisor and noticed it as i walked around columbus park waiting for the 39 bus up to coit tower. across the street people were lined up to get in mama's. if they only knew, they could go in liguria and get a huge (maybe 10x10) slab of some wonderful foccacia for $5 and eaten it in the park aaaah, san francisco! i will go there everytime i come to san francisco.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best Focaccia in San Francisco, no doubt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

There has to be something outstanding in this focaccia if it is all sold out by 11AM..

...the tomato focaccia is so tasty that this family business knows what they´re doing...from generation to generation during the last 60 years it has been the number 1 in North Beach, the italian quarters of San Francisco.

good job!
Ci vediamo pronto!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liguria Bakery also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Liguria Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liguria Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.