We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best deli in the world.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molinari Delicatessen

Molinari Delicatessen
373 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-3907 (North Beach)
415-421-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 4,941 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: North Beach
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The best deli in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We come here everytime we are in San Francisco and always get good service and a great sandwich. This time however we came after the crowds. The food was fantastic as usual but they had some extra time to show off their great service too. My wife's family is from Italy and they took the time to point out on a map where the city is located. They they spent several minutes helping us pick out some meats and cheeses for a little picnic we were doing. They whole time they were all so friendly and wonderful we felt like part of the family. Of course the food was wonderful as always too! Thank you very much for a memorable experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    39
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Deli ~ Great selections!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stopped by here on the way home and got some sandwiches to go. Great sandwiches, fresh cheeses and deli meats. There was a small wait but the service is friendly and helps with selections. The roma tomato and fresh mozarella sandwich was awesome! You can eat outside the Deli or take it to go. This is the best deli in North beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Deli in North Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The day before we were to fly home my wife and I went to Molinari's to get sandwiches for our flight. They make sandwiches to order on your choice of bread (literally-you pick it out of a basket and hand it to the counterman) a dizzying array of meats, cheeses, condiments (eg artichoke hearts)pesto spread etc. He wrapped it well and it was just as good after being in the fridge all night. And all for $6.95.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mama mia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Yum! Great Italian sandwiches. No skimping! Grab a little table outside and enjoy a delightfull parade of humanity in the great city of San Francisco!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

There was a long line, but watching these guys was a lot of fun. The eggplant sandwich was wonderful. We Will definitely return. Be sure and try the fresh mozzarella!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molinari Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Molinari Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molinari Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.