We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Deli ~ Great selections!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molinari Delicatessen

Molinari Delicatessen
373 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-3907 (North Beach)
415-421-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 4,976 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: North Beach
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Deli ~ Great selections!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stopped by here on the way home and got some sandwiches to go. Great sandwiches, fresh cheeses and deli meats. There was a small wait but the service is friendly and helps with selections. The roma tomato and fresh mozarella sandwich was awesome! You can eat outside the Deli or take it to go. This is the best deli in North beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    45
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Deli in North Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The day before we were to fly home my wife and I went to Molinari's to get sandwiches for our flight. They make sandwiches to order on your choice of bread (literally-you pick it out of a basket and hand it to the counterman) a dizzying array of meats, cheeses, condiments (eg artichoke hearts)pesto spread etc. He wrapped it well and it was just as good after being in the fridge all night. And all for $6.95.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mama mia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Yum! Great Italian sandwiches. No skimping! Grab a little table outside and enjoy a delightfull parade of humanity in the great city of San Francisco!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

There was a long line, but watching these guys was a lot of fun. The eggplant sandwich was wonderful. We Will definitely return. Be sure and try the fresh mozzarella!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Italian Salame”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Molinari family has been making great sausage & salame since the late 1800's. The store is located in the North End area. The deli has a great selection of meats, home-made salads, bottles of wine & many imported products from Italy. When you enter take a number & be prepared to wait. The place is busy but runs efficiently by a great fun staff. The menu has various sandwiches to choose from but we made our own. Near the counter is a bread box where you pick your bread for your sandwich. The bread is soft on the inside with a nice hard crust on the outside & is perfectly sized. We had an Italian sandwich with various meats & fresh mozzarella. The sandwich was stacked & very delicious. One of the best authentic Italian sandwiches we have ever tasted. We shared it between the two of us at an outdoor cafe nearby with a glass of wine. The deli doesn't have any seating inside. Molinari's is open Mon-Sat approx 8am-6pm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molinari Delicatessen also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Molinari Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molinari Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.