We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WANTED ITALIAN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molinari Delicatessen

Molinari Delicatessen
373 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-3907 (North Beach)
415-421-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 5,004 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: North Beach
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WE WANTED ITALIAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Actually this is a fabulous Italian market. We got a bit of a lot of stuff (including white anchovies) and fresh bread and ate it right outside on the street on a little table. Took me back to Italy. And, coffee is just around the corner as well as bakeries. No need to spend a lot of money for a great meal. We went back on our way out of town to stock up for the next arm of our trip - for a picnic!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    46
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“My favorite deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The sandwiches are really good. You pick a number, pick your bread, when they call your number, give your bread to the guy behind the counter and tell them what sandwich you want. They make it, slice it in half, wrap it and you are ready to go. There are so many other wonderful food items in here though. The salads are good. The meat sticks, salami, proscuitto and pepperoni are all good. There's a couple of tables on the sidewalk if you can get one to eat and people watch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The last Original Italian Deli in North Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've been eating/shopping here for 30 years and it is truly a SF landmark/treasure. They have a wide variety salami and proscutto, as well as a large assortment of cheeses and imported oils and treats. They make the salami locally and it is one of the best dry salami's made. The spicy Toscana salami is a favorite of mine. They prepare sandwiches to go, and have a varety of prepared salads/pastas available.
Do yourself a favor; Go there before it becomes a Dim-Sum joint.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Although just a deli, this was one of the best meals we had while in San Francisco. We took our sandwiches to Golden Gate Park and had a little picnic. Watch out for the staff behind the counter. They will try to sell you the most expensive sandwich even if you order another. Then they will try to get you to upgrade the bread for your sandwich, and for the sandwiches that don't come with cheese they will ask you if you would like cheese, but don't tell you it's an extra dollar. After all the upgrades one of our sandwiches was almost $13. It did taste good though. Just be careful to order what you want, not what they recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I love salami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Amazing deli with all sorts of yummy food items to make a great meal at home. We also stocked up on foccaccia bread and lots of salami for sandwiches. Good location for when you're exploring North Beach and need to eat something quickly, or buy food for dinner!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molinari Delicatessen also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Molinari Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molinari Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.