We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ice cream in san francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop

Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop
3692 18th St., San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 626-5600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best ice cream in san francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

in the great mission neighborhood, a foodie's paradise, is bi-rite ice cream. always a line, but it moves fast. sneak up to the front to check out the day's flavors,. two flavors $3.75. that's reasonable right? same block as spectacular delfina pizza.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    83
    24
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, India
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Salted Caramel ice cream "to die for"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Don't even bother trying other flavors, though they're all good. This one beats them hands down. We were headed to lunch at another place when we (gasp) noticed that there was no line at Bi-Rite. So we ate dessert first. Go early if you hate lines.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Innovative flavors, excellent ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

There are a handful of places trying interesting flavor combinations, but the texture or character of the base ice cream leaves something to be desired. This is definitely NOT the case at Bi-Rite Creamery. The ice cream is creamy and rich, forming a perfect canvas that really allows their ice cream flavors to shine.

I had a cone with one scoop of balsamic strawberry and one scoop of basil - a great combination. My partner had the sundae with chocolate ice cream (and it's a nice deep, dark, rich chocolate!), bergamot-scented olive oil and sea salt. Unbelievable! If you've never tried olive oil on ice cream before, it's pretty magical. I could have done without all the whipped cream that came on the sundae, though. It was a bit of overkill on an otherwise perfect sundae.

Go here, even if the line looks long. The line moves fast, and it's worth the wait anyway!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Holy Deliciousness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

AMAZING ice cream! The fabulous staff let us try any flavor we wanted without making us feel bad about it. Every flavor was delicious and I fear this may be the beginning of a horrible addiction to the best ice cream everrrrrrrrr! Yum!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Absolutely loved their ice cream. They let us try every flavor we wanted and they were all so good it was a killer to try and decide. Best Coffee Toffee Chip we have ever had, Orange Cardamon was good and the Salted Caramel and Brown sugar something were too delicious for words. Friendly and helpful staff. No line when we got there. Our friends are travelling there this week and this is a must see on their list.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop also viewed

 

Been to Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.