We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in San Francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marina Motel to your Saves list
Marina Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Oasis in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Marina Motel was everything we needed in San Francisco. It is located at the Presidio end of Lombard Street, around the corner from many shops, bakeries and restaurants in Chestnut Street. All the units are upstairs, with garages under, and it it built around courtyards planted with beautiful flowering shrubs, a really lovely setting. The welcome is super friendly, and helpful, it is outstandingly clean and units roomy. Free wi fi, reasonable tariff and about a $10 taxi fare to most of what you want to do in San Fran makes this place ideal. There is no air conditioning, and we were there on very warm days, the windows open wide and you can get good air flow but it means you do get a little road noise (considering how busy Lombard Street is, Marina Motel is very quiet). Our friends also booked and stayed here with us (in another unit) and they too were extremely impressed. I highly recommend Marina Motel!

Room Tip: There are kitchens in some units, which are very well equipped, we didn't make full use of ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    140
    41
    24
    16
See reviews for
83
138
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed there for our SF trip from 7/2 - 7/6/2014. This hotel is very unique, lot of flowers. It has feeling of Mediterranean Courtyard. Room is not big, but it gave me everything I need during staying. We toured around during the day. So we really just need a place to stay and shower. It is clean and big enough for me and my husband. We especially like it provides free parking. All first floor is parking garage. It is very convenient to walk to Fisherman's Wharf. Me and my husband like to walk. So walking 4 miles is not a problem for us. We walked to Fisherman's Wharf, Fort point, Museum of Fine Arts. We also walked to famous Zigzag section of Lombard Street. By walking we got to see things you might not be able to see while driving. It is rather quiet considering it is in Marina area. There are many restaurants around the blocks. We really like a restaurant in the neighborhood for breakfast. It is called Home Plates. It was recommended by hotel front desk staff. Front desk staff is very friendly. But don't expect to have high end hotel concierge service. But for the money and location and the charming layout, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We added $10 each night for facing courtyard to avoid street noise. If noise does not bother you, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed there mid/ last mth foe several days. the receptionist was very helpful and long suffering having to deal with a unreasonable quest who wished to lengthen their stay but couldn't understand they couldn't accommodate.
It is was it says.... a boutique hotel. Not 5 star or the like BUT comfortable and handy for the bridge or city centre/piers etc as buses close by. Little bit quirky, but hey , nothing wrong in that. The bonus was a fully fledged kitchenette.
Free parking albeit can get a bit chaotic is quests abandon cars.
Would recommend here

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

First time in San Francisco, i was very lucky to find this place - thanks Tripadvisor :) I LOVED the receptionists, the big kitchen , the nice garage and the lovely garden. The location was great, close to the Golden Gate bridge. The room was clean but they should do something with the smell!
I recommend this place to small families even for more weeks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great for the price and the location. Very clean. Check in fast and pleasant. Had a courtyard room, which was very nice. Rooms facing the main road would probably be noisy. Flowering plants everywhere made for a nice view. On a strip of run-of-the mill motels.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard room since it's on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Horrible service and place to stay. When we rented the room, they said they would bring us a rolling bed. But they were so lazy they had me and my brother bring it to our room! Then, when we woke up and a man (refusing to say his name) was yelling at my mom just because she parked in the driveway but we were only gonna be there for five minutes so we can pack. When, there was another car blocking the driveway in the morning and at night for the past day. We always called for help but there was nobody who wanted to come. And the a/c wouldnt wanna work as well as the tv. We wont ever stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperHeidi, Owner at Marina Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear 12 year old daughter of our guest,

Thank you for your comments. Your mother's car with all its doors open was blocking our driveway for 40+ minutes yesterday morning causing all the rest of our guests to have to try to maneuver out backwards. When your mother was nicely asked to move her car into one of our numerous garages she refused. She demanded to know the first and last name of each of our employees and was very rude.

I personally spoke to your mother five minutes after all of you checked in for the one night and asked if she would like us to bring up the extra mattress she requested. She said she was not sure if they would need it so I told her that if she changed her mind we would be open until midnight. At this time, I clearly explained to her that the only problem was that if she requested it later that night there would be no one on staff to bring it up to the room. She said that was not a problem because her 18 year old son would come down and get it. Before leaving for the night I passed this message on to my front desk clerk.

My sister checked your room before you checked in and the both TV's had been working. Sometimes when the wrong buttons are pushed on the remotes, the TV can become de-programmed but luckily your second TV was working. Not sure about your air conditioning comment since we do not have air conditioning in any of our rooms. San Francisco rarely gets above 65' all year round but each room does have a fan plus windows that open to catch the cool sea breezes.

We love all of guests but clearly our property was not a good fit for your family. No hard feelings and we hope all of you have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our family stayed here for two nights in May. SF had a little heat wave going on that weekend. The check in was fast and very pleasant. Cookies at the desk make for a nice welcome. We stayed in the two room w/ two queen beds suite, which is right on Lombard Street. The main room was average size, the back room is very small, accommodating a bed and 2 side tables. It has a small window. The main room has 2 large windows overlooking Lombard, a dresser, metal frame bed (Headboard was loose and banged against the wall. Our son put a pillow between it and the wall to stop the noise), and bedside table. There is a flat screen TV. The shower is a stall, very small and bath has a window. Thankfully, new windows had been recently installed and the noise was considerable reduced when they were closed. They need to put room darkening shades in the back bedroom. It was a very nice place. The courtyard is absolutely beautiful. People were generally respectful and quite by 11pm. We would recommend this place because of the value for these accomodations. Our garage was on Lombard at the lights and required someone's assistance backing out to be sure traffic wasn't coming.

Room Tip: We were in the 2 room/2 queen room (#42 we think) It can be loud, but you're in a city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Address: 2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel in San Francisco, California Founded by the son of a Calfornia Gold Rush miner, the Marina Motel was built to celebrate the opening of the Golden Gate Bridge in the late 1930's. Designed as one of San Francisco’s first “motor-hotels” for the dawning of the automobile age, each room in this quaint Mediterranean-style motel has a private garage beneath the rooms, (courtyard garages are subject to size restrictions so guest are directed by the front desk to choose a garage that best fits their vehicle). Our 36 guestrooms and three suites are uniquely decorated with warm, stylish touches to make you feel at home. Our quaint courtyard, surrounded by colorful cascading flowers and a cobblestone driveway, offers a relaxing place to chat with friends. Flower boxes overflowing with fragrant blossoms adorn the windows adding European cottage charm. San Francisco’s top attractions are located within walking distance or a short bus ride from the Marina Motel The Marina Motel is still family-owned and operated today by the original owner’s granddaughter. For the past 70 years the Marina Motel has provided a beautiful and friendly place to stay while visiting San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel San Francisco
Marina Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.