We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Motel to your Saves list
Marina Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Shanghai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed already in October 2013 for 3 nights and now for another 2 nights at the Marina Motel. The location is perfect, within a few walking minutes you have lots of great restaurant options (open for breakfast till dinner). The Motel is nicely decorated and the rooms are good, with comfortable beds and enough space. Both times we had courtyard rooms, so we had quiet nights and a good sleep. The Motel is also not too far from the airport and for us a perfect choice (price-value), if we visit San Francisco.

Room Tip: Courtyard room - 2 double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    146
    43
    25
    19
See reviews for
85
150
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

A really nice motel. On main road so noisy. If we could have had one of the rooms in the courtyard it would have been quieter. There are steps up to the room, which is above a garage. The room includes the garage. There was a full kitchen in our room. There are plenty of shops just round the corner in Chestnut Road and 3 bus stops for the Muni buses nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a darling little hotel right near the Golden Gate Bridge. We were lucky to arrive during unusually nice winter weather. It was gorgeous! We walked from the hotel to the marina and enjoyed them most breathtaking views of the bay. The street directly behind the hotel is filled with boutiques, small shops, banks, coffee shops even a butcher! You can easily spend a day just enjoying the neighborhood.

The hotel itself reminds me of some of the hotels in Europe. It’s smaller, right in the neighborhood and more of a ‘mom and pop’ kind of place. We stayed in a room located in the building in the center of the courtyard. Those rooms have garages under them and their own stairway entrance with a small hallway.

I’ve lived in San Francisco so I knew more or less what to expect from this kind of hotel. Knowing it was on Lombard and older, I knew there would be traffic noise. If you’re looking for a silent room, you should consider staying in the upper floors of a chain hotel downtown. If you want charm, character, an amazing, garden courtyard view, windows that open and a teeny-tiny personal garage, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We found Marina Motel using Trip Advisor and we were not steered wrong. It is an old motel (built in 1939) and is right where Lombard is almost to the Golden Gate. It is built around a courtyard that is a veritable garden of California flowers and shrubs, meticulously kept by a gardener who clearly loves his work. The rooms are not large and the furnishings are "antique" but well maintained. The whole place is super clean. This is neither for those who want a trendy new place, or the standardized airport box, but if you enjoy a European kind of ambiance and a GREAT price for a spot right in the middle of the SF experience, this is unbeatable. It is one block from Chestnut, which is an urban shopping/restaurant row with mass transit right to the Wharf, the Alcatraz Ferry (with a bit of a walk at the end) and connecting to the streetcars, trolleys, etc. More good restaurants in the area than you can count, and a quick run to Golden Gate, beaches, the Golden Gate Park museums, etc. and the Palace of Fine Arts. Service was friendly, and there is free parking inside the courtyard.

Room Tip: NOT accessible for substantially handicapped, at least for most rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, ab
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Free parking, very close to golden gate. $10 taxi from fisher mans wharf! Wonderful stay very clean room. Older rooms but nice and quiet facing in to the courtyard. We enjoyed our 5 night stay very much

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This motel has a charming exterior and a great location. Unfortunately, the staff are not charming or helpful. I was charged $20 for a broken towel rack that was broken before we moved in. No amount of discussion with the manager would get the charge refunded. This is an older motel and probably every room has something damaged or broken, so check things out carefully before you move into your room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Booked the Marina Motel for a last minute weekend stay in SF to take care of some solemn family matters. We didn't plan on spending a lot of time in a hotel room (but in SF, who in their right mind would?) and parking was very important. The Marina Plaza proved to be the perfect place. Great location, easy access to public transit, great places for breakfast or a late night meal within walking distance AND free parking...The rate was what attracted us, especially over a major football weekend and we knew the area well (SF was our home for over 30 yrs). The place is currently undergoing transfer to a new owner, who is working hard to renovate the rooms. It's come a long way from it's previous self, no longer the run-down, questionable "motel" of 10 years ago.
The staff is courteous and eager to help (especially the Night Clerk). The rooms are smallish, but comfortable, bathrooms are newly tiled and they provide some pretty high-end toiletries. They are still working on the exterior...and it needs it. I would definitely booked this place again.
As a former Hospitality Professional and avid traveler, the Marina Motel is not the Ritz or Huntington, but it provide comfortable basic needs after a busy day (and night) in The City...and FREE parking!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Address: 2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel in San Francisco, California Founded by the son of a Calfornia Gold Rush miner, the Marina Motel was built to celebrate the opening of the Golden Gate Bridge in the late 1930's. Designed as one of San Francisco’s first “motor-hotels” for the dawning of the automobile age, each room in this quaint Mediterranean-style motel has a private garage beneath the rooms, (courtyard garages are subject to size restrictions so guest are directed by the front desk to choose a garage that best fits their vehicle). Our 36 guestrooms and three suites are uniquely decorated with warm, stylish touches to make you feel at home. Our quaint courtyard, surrounded by colorful cascading flowers and a cobblestone driveway, offers a relaxing place to chat with friends. Flower boxes overflowing with fragrant blossoms adorn the windows adding European cottage charm. San Francisco’s top attractions are located within walking distance or a short bus ride from the Marina Motel The Marina Motel is still family-owned and operated today by the original owner’s granddaughter. For the past 70 years the Marina Motel has provided a beautiful and friendly place to stay while visiting San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel San Francisco
Marina Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.