We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here any time we are in San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Motel to your Saves list
Marina Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Osburn, Idaho, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will stay here any time we are in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent one weeknight in Marina Motel in early November. Both my partner and I were very impressed with the property, staff, and accommodations. The free, individual stall garage parking was a unique perk compared to many other hotels in the city that only had $30-$40 per night parking lots or no private parking at all. Although we had read reviews that recommended not leaving your spot later in the evening, we saw plenty of open garages when we returned from dinner. This may be different on weekends. The room we were in was very small, but as a couple traveling light for an extended weekend, it was just the right size. If you tend to be a traveler that packs more than a couple of small carry-ons, I recommend requesting a larger room. We loved the more personal and homey feel of the room with pretty brocade bedding and windows that opened up for some fresh air. Both the room and the bathroom were charming with a retro feel. The only problem with the bathroom is that the shower stall was very dark. There was only one light in the bathroom and the stall style shower's curtain blocked most of that light, even during the day. I did see some other guests checking in to rooms next to us but surprisingly, I never heard any of them. I'm not sure what prevented the sound from traveling, but I didn't hear anyone walking to or from rooms, watching TV, or talking in other rooms. The staff was welcoming, warm, and helpful. I went straight to the front desk to ask how to get to Chinatown on mass transit. The person on duty had an immediate answer and drew the directions on a map of the city. I was really happy to find out that one of the main bus lines runs just one block away from the hotel and took us directly to Chinatown. You can easily walk to the Palace of Fine Arts and there are plenty of eateries within walking distance. The grounds were very pretty, with lots of bougainvillea hanging from the buildings. Once you come in off of the street, it feels like a different world. We stayed in a room right in the middle of the property and it was really quiet. I did notice that any rooms on the Lombard St. side would probably be pretty noisy. Overall we have no real complaints about the stay and we really enjoyed it. We're already talking about our next trip to the area and would love to stay at Marina Motel again.

Room Tip: Units on street side are probably noisy; rooms on the interior of the property are very quiet. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    159
    51
    28
    19
See reviews for
94
171
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myersville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

In Sept 2012, we booked four nights at the Marina Motel in San Francisco. The hotel was recommended by a neighbor who stayed here. Our hotel reservations were from Oct 30th through November 3rd, 2012. Unfortunately, hurricane Sandy changed our plans and along with thousands of other folks from the east coast, the airline cancelled our flight. The policy of the hotel is if the reservations are cancelled or modified with less than seven days of arrival or in case of a no-show, 100% of the first night would be charged and in cases of special events or holidays, if the room cannot be rented the full amount would be charged. We called the hotel to tell them about this natural disaster, which we felt was totally out of our control. I spoke to the manager. The manager basically did not care about our troubles, stating that everyone “has an excuse” and that they were charging the entire stay to our credit card, which they wasted no time doing. I asked her if she saw the news, reiterating that thousands of folks cannot fly out from the east coast because of hurricane Sandy. I also reiterate their policy, which stated that we would only be responsible for the first night, noting that I did not book during a holiday or special event. The manager stated that all the hotels up and down Lombard Street were booked and every day is a special event in San Francisco. They were a small hotel and if they could not rebook, we were responsible for the whole bill. Our plans for California were suppose to be for 10 nights. All the other hotels and resorts we booked with, having their own cancellation policies, were very understanding of our plight and without hesitation stated they would refund our money. All except the Marina Motel. I will never book at this location again. I felt this is a blatant misrepresentation of the hotel’s policies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Step back to the classic time of the 1940's - 50's family vacation by automobile. The Marina Motel is a nicely maintained family owned business still in the founder's family hands. The current owners have preserved the wonderful look of the period while providing modern accommodations. When was the last time you went to a motel and you got a private garage with a garage door that closed? The massive flowers in the courtyard are an exceptional part of the experience.

We recommend that you reserve a courtyard room. The street rooms are larger, but can be noisy if you do not want to keep your windows shut, for some that may not be a problem, but for your first visit, treat yourself to a courtyard room and decide for yourself.

We surprised ourselves by cooking breakfasts and a couple of dinners in our little kitchen which we found more than adequate. And, it is an easy walk to high end grocery with lots of prepped entrees.

The Motel is nicely dog friendly too. Our lab was happy with the special dog walking area right off the courtyard so we did not have to go out onto the sidewalks next to the street where there is virtually no grass.

It is easy to think of our grandparents having stayed here. It felt very special step back; it is the kind of place you would expect to find Lucy and Ricky staying next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the Marina Motel for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. It's a great location with easy access to mass transit, so you can get anywhere you want to go in the city. If you have a car, they have free garage parking spaces on the property, which is a really big deal. The hotel property itself is really charming. There's a great courtyard with beautiful flowers and balconies. Our room had a queen sized bed that was really comfy. It also had a kitchen (not a kitchenette, but a full kitchen) and a great bathroom.

The only thing I'd add to the room would be a ceiling fan. We happened to be in San Francisco during an unusually hot week, so we had to sleep with the windows open because our room was so hot. I think that a fan would have helped out a lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you are strictly into a full service typical hotel, this is not for you. However, this was the place for us. There is no AC, but with seventy degree weather it is not needed. The rooms are small but very B&B in feel. I found it very charming. The hotel fit into the city very well.The staff was very helpful and went out their way to help us; even at five in the morning. The street is loud if you get a room on lombard, but with having a house full of loud kids we did not even notice the noise. If you are a light sleeper the courtyard rooms are for you. The next street over host tons of shopping and great restaurants. We walked to several locations from this place and the bus is also very accessible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place is a gem. Located close to Chinatown and Fisherman's Wharf, Marina Motel gives you a taste of what it must have been like when Garbo, Harlow and Gable were the 'bees knees'. You will feel like you've been transported to another time; but, not in the old, musty and dusty sense. This motel offers modern amenities surrounded by the ambiance of another era. The rooms are actually little multi-room apartments, some with kitchens. If you want to immerse yourself in a by-gone era equipped with modern day convenience, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had an adorable little room in the courtyard, and loved our stay here! Were here for 3 nights. Within walking distance to great cafes, restaurants, and bars as well as the Palace of Fine Arts - beautiful! There are bus stops within a block or so that can take you about anywhere you'd want to go in the city. We bought bus passes at the Walgreen's just down the street and were good to go - very convenient.

On a chilly day, turning the corner to enter the courtyard is like walking into summer time! The flowers are beautiful and everything is well maintained. Make sure to try the Cedar Hill Kitchen and Smokehouse just a block away - GREAT bbq!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Address: 2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel in San Francisco, California Founded by the son of a Calfornia Gold Rush miner, the Marina Motel was built to celebrate the opening of the Golden Gate Bridge in the late 1930's. Designed as one of San Francisco’s first “motor-hotels” for the dawning of the automobile age, each room in this quaint Mediterranean-style motel has a private garage beneath the rooms, (courtyard garages are subject to size restrictions so guest are directed by the front desk to choose a garage that best fits their vehicle). Our 36 guestrooms and three suites are uniquely decorated with warm, stylish touches to make you feel at home. Our quaint courtyard, surrounded by colorful cascading flowers and a cobblestone driveway, offers a relaxing place to chat with friends. Flower boxes overflowing with fragrant blossoms adorn the windows adding European cottage charm. San Francisco’s top attractions are located within walking distance or a short bus ride from the Marina Motel The Marina Motel is still family-owned and operated today by the original owner’s granddaughter. For the past 70 years the Marina Motel has provided a beautiful and friendly place to stay while visiting San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel San Francisco
Marina Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.