We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value on a Budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Luna Inn

Save Saved
You added La Luna Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Luna Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Pacific Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Value on a Budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The La Luna Inn is a good value on a budget. If you want to stay in a great and convenient neighborhood at a really low price, this is it. Located right next to the Presidio of San Francisco at the edge of the Marina district, it is a really good location on Lombard Street.
Check out the Presidio and the Disney Family Museum in it! Very cool!

The room was clean and spacious with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. It featured a refrigerator and an ironing board. I would have loved a Microwave, but no dice. The street facing room was a bit noisy for my family, not used to city sounds.

The La Luna Inn serves a Continental Breakfast - not great shakes, but again, for the budget traveler it's good enough. One suggestion to them would be to have things you can grab and go. As it is, all of the stuff has to be prepared - toast, oat meal, etc.

All in all, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear David_M48406,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Luna Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the value of our hotel, our location and our amenities. Thank you for the recommendation on the breakfast, we will definitely take that into consideration.

Regards,
La Luna Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    112
    104
    32
    19
See reviews for
62
147
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Cute little style. Our room was rather small but was clean and decently taken care of. Small parking spots and limited but free! No bath tub in our room. Also no mini fridge or micro wave. Comfy beds and pillows! All in all one of the better motels I have been to!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jessica S,

Thank you for your review of La Luna Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our facilities. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Regards,
La Luna Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This former motor inn of years gone bye has been turned into a decent boutique-type hotel. It's location on busy US 101 towards the Golden Gate Bridge make it a + and a - all at the same time. Noisy if your room faces the street, but we saw the reviews and everyone- including the very friendly and helpful staff - told us to request a room on the 3rd (top) floor in the rear. Very little noise in our large, nicely appointed room. Shower stall is small, but bathroom is standard size. The location was great for us as the property offers FREE parking which is a premium in San Francisco (where many of the downtown hotels charge $40, $50 and up per night to just to park!!). We took public transportation at .75 each to Ghiradelli Square-Fisherman's Wharf-Pier 39 waterfront tourist area. Took multiple trips the cable cars and more. For two days we never had to take the car out!! HUGE savings in gas + parking + time!! We even walked (about 15 mins.) to the Presidio of SF where the wonderful Walt Disney Family Museum is located. Two nearby restaurants/shopping neighborhoods really make this a great find in the City by the Bay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from the street and on the top, 3rd floor. You'll never notice th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear LT7744,

Thank you for your kind words about La Luna Inn. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a fun vacation. We hope to welcome you again!

Regards,
La Luna Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zeland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place surely was the gem of the Hotels we stayed in San Francisco. The location great, The staff amazing. The rooms huge, clean & user friendly. Abit noisy but hell you are in the guts of San Francisco. The breakfast average but then they tell you this when you check in. Would stay here again with no apprehension.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel. Still abit noisy as our rooms backed onto a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Wendy C,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at La Luna Inn. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you again soon!

Regards,
La Luna Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge AB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well, there was good and bad here. I guess I will start with the good.
Advantages:
-close to bus stop
-friendly staff
-decently clean
-a/c in room
-fairly decent location
-free wifi
-free parking
-big tv in room (flat screen)

Disadvantages:
-tiny tiny room
-tiny tiny bathroom
-on busy/loud street
-gross carpet on the floor
-expensive for what you get...

All this being said: San Francisco is a very expensive city. My boyfriend and I were on a 3 week camping/hoteling road trip. We were in SF for 4 days. We picked this hotel because we had a car and there was free parking which was important for us. The free wifi was also great. My biggest issue about this hotel which i did not mention above is the "Free Breakfast"... all it is is BREAD & OATMEAL... and a couple of apples and oranges, and obviously coffee & tea. But it was ridiculous. I don't even think they should be able to stay breakfast included because its not breakfast. Its basically tea & a snack....
Stay here if you get a smoking good deal, otherwise I would recommend staying elsewhere. Especially if you are a light sleeper and you like a hearty breakfast!

The bus route system is super easy from here, takes you to fisherman's wharf and union square. It is approx a 30 minute walk there. Uphill everywhere it seems!

Either way, enjoy SF. What a beautiful & amazing city!

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger rooms. We were given a small room because we wanted to get in there right away an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

For the price, this place SUCKS... $200 a night for a tiny, stuffy, noisy room... As my husband said, "continental breakfast? Not sure which continent they're referring to... bread, or ummm... bread? Oh wait, and squeezee strawberry jelly! Perhaps an apple or an orange?" Pitiful! Do yourself a favor and avoid this place!

Room Tip: AVOID... But if you have to stay here request one of the rooms set back from the road if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

stayed here in the cheapest room. $100 for a double bed right on the highway. the room was small, very clean (except the carpet), with a stall shower (no bathtub). it was exactly what i expected. San Francisco is expensive so a clean room for $100 is okay with me. the room had modern furnishing and fresh paint. it looked like they were getting ready to replace the carpet. the continental breakfast was perfect for me, but if you like donuts stay elsewhere. it was coffee, juice, toast, instant oatmeal, and fresh fruit. the road noise doesn't bother me, but it is right on the highway so if you don't use ear plugs ask for a room in the back, but beware they are more expensive. i would stay there again. oh and they have free parking!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Luna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Inn

Address: 2599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Pacific Motor Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Luna Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We combined smart and stylish, custom designed furnishings with just enough 1960s "Motor Inn kitsch" to create a fun, whimsical atmosphere at La Luna Inn. The interior of our spacious guest rooms feature all new, custom designed furnishings, pillow-top mattresses, plush bedding, and modern amenities including flat screen TVs and wireless internet access. All in addition to free parking and complimentary light continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Luna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel San Francisco
La Luna Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.