We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, unremarkable hotel with friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Luna Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Luna Inn to your Saves list
La Luna Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Pacific Motor Inn) (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Houghton, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, unremarkable hotel with friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I had a pleasant stay at La Luna Inn in December 2012. I was in San Francisco for a conference and all the hotels near the Moscone center were booked so I had to look farther away. La Luna was fine, but not convenient. I thought I would be able to take public transportation, but opted for taxis to save time. The shopping and dining along Chestnut street are great; I was pleasantly surprised to have such a good walkable shopping area so close to the motel. As others have noted, the road noise is quite bad, but I always travel with ear plugs and had no trouble sleeping. I had a peak-a-boo view of the Golden Gate bridge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    151
    137
    44
    26
See reviews for
82
195
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OC California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The surly night desk clerk gave me the first clue that this wasn't going to be a great stay. That, coupled with the undersized "first come first served" parking stalls confirmed it. I picked this place because of the location. Chestnut St is just a short walk and it was easy to find off the 101 after crossing the GG bridge.
The sparse "breakfast" was in line with the parking, first come being the cue. Getting into the room was always a challenge, and the desk staff confirmed this, many of the card locks are defective. The plumbing (always a pet peeve of mine) was antiquated, the funky toilet making multiple flushes a must. The water saver shower head made an already weak stream into a trickle, necessitating long showers to get the soap riinsed off.
TV in the room didn't work but the wifi was usually OK. The king sized bed was great.

Room Tip: get a room at the back, Lombard St can be noisy. Bring a channel Lock pliers and your own shower hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is a traditional motel better than average. Good location, near Golden Gate and many restaurants. Free breakfast is a big plus.
One suggestion, we rent a car drive from airport to La Luna following GPS. It is a heavy rain night. There is a NO LEFT TURN sign when arrived the other side of the street near La luna. The sign works only 7am-10am/3pm-7pm. But since the rain is too heavy, I didn't see the time restriction. Then I drives directly to Golden gate, paid 6 dollar in the toll without viewing any beautiful view. It tooks half an hour to the Shopping street (Market St.) since the traffic is always busy.
As other reviews mentioned, wifi is terrible (not stable, always drop and need to connect again), I am glad I only stay there for one night.

Room Tip: Better than average motel with similar price, wifi is bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This traditional styled Motel is perfectly situated for some great local bars and restaurants, slightly out from the central shopping metropolis of San Fran, but yet only a short bus ride away. 

Arriving by car we found the free car park a bonus in a major city. Staff in the central reception building were extremely friendly, where a free PC and printer was available. WiFi was also free throughout the motel.

We took the lift to the room, via the traditional external corridors, protected by CCTV with the room having electronic door locks for increased security. 

The room was clean and spacious with large bed, writing desk with leather chair, open style clothes hanging corner, TV and clean but compact bathroom with walk-in shower (no bath). Plenty of fresh clean towels and great water pressure in the shower.

The traditional through the wall air conditioning unit was noisy, but effective.

No safe but an empty fridge and coffee facilities provided.

Clean, basic but very functional. If you want traditional USA motel style, I would recommend it. 

The acid test, yes I would return here. 

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I chose this hotel as it promised parking and hotel-wide wifi, my two main requirements. I was rather disappointed when I could only get the wifi to connect when in the car park - hardly the ideal place to work from.
So, I went to reception to politely explain the problem. Maybe there was a problem with the equipment or my room was a known black spot, so I'd give the hotel a chance to fix the issue.

Imagine my surprise when my explanation of the problem was met with a "So What?" from the receptionist? Not the response I was expecting. I reiterated the point, at which point while clearly not caring at all offered to put me in touch with their technical support. The call was routed to my room and we quickly established that the wifi was not adequately powerful and I wasn't going to get any improvements in my room. I relayed this to reception but it was made clear that this wasn't considered to be a reasonable complaint.
One final surprise came when I checked out and found that I had been charged for the phone call that the receptionist made for me!

Otherwise the rooms are large and adequate for the price, but only book here if you don't mind getting charged for reporting problems. 0 points for customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Decent, affordable, clean, large-room motel. Near nice walking area. Wireless worked fine. Free parking. BUT NO CABLE TV. I was there election week and during Hurricane Sandy and could not access any national news. I have never seen a hotel anywhere without basic cable. A real disappointment and inconvenience. Would not have stayed here if I had known.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We three (wife, daughter and I) enjoyed our stay at La Luna Inn. Clean, comfortable and convenient. The Lombard Street re-development provides many retro restaurants and shopping venues. La Luna Inn appears to be a favorite stay for many travelers from near and far!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Luna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Inn

Address: 2599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Pacific Motor Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Luna Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We combined smart and stylish, custom designed furnishings with just enough 1960s "Motor Inn kitsch" to create a fun, whimsical atmosphere at La Luna Inn. The interior of our spacious guest rooms feature all new, custom designed furnishings, pillow-top mattresses, plush bedding, and modern amenities including flat screen TVs and wireless internet access. All in addition to free parking and complimentary light continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your La Luna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel San Francisco
La Luna Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.