We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District to your Saves list
Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1940 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Ramada Limited San Francisco/By the Bay) (Marina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #204 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved how friendly and considerate the workers there were (hosts), made me feel very safe since this was my first trip ever to San Francisco. Will definitely consider this place again for next AGU conference. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    15
    9
    19
See reviews for
16
14
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I didn't grow up in the best of places, so I've learned to appreciate value. I paid a little over $300 through a website for a WHOLE week. Aesthetically it isn't the best, but it's not like it's the worst. They keep it clean to say the least. If you think about it, you're in CALIFORNIA! Why should you spend your whole vacation in your room critiquing the dang place? The main time I was there was at night. I would wind down, take a HOT shower, watch cartoons :) , talk and joke around with the company I had. Every morning the staff was out cleaning the rooms, and every morning my trash bins were empty and I had clean towels. Overall, I saved a fortune, I was close to the wharf, close to the coast by the golden gate, close to everything. I would wake up and just walk! I walked MILES in California. Worth every painful step in my horrible choice in Vans that I brought on my trip! When I was toasty, the air condition worked. When I was cold, the heater worked. I really couldn't have asked for anything more. I had one of the best vacations I've ever had. I did bring my own bed cover, sheets, and pillow cases, but that's just my own freak cleanliness thing i have going on. No bed bugs, no bites ... all smiles!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you so much we really do appreciate the time you took to share your experience. We do our best to keep it clean and comfortable. We hope if you come back to visit, you stay with us! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Worst hotel experience ever . My wife is covered in bed bug bites (40+) .by the time we figured out what was happening and told the staff : they seemed completely indifferent to our plight offering us $25 off of our $740 three night bill . Eventually refunded $50 and offered room next door for our last night. would not stay here again on a bet. Rooms are dark , dated and in poor repair. Breakfast area was poorly stocked cramped and oppressively hot . Service was poor .

Room Tip: Would avoid this place entirely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered when you stayed with us, we are a good clean hotel, We do our best to provide this atmosphere, We understand that everyone has a level of comfort and we hope that you found accommodations to fit your needs. If we have any issues with rooms or guests we do our best to take care of the situation. Again we apologize and thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014 via mobile

Quick and easy three day stay on busy Lombard. Bed was decent, front desk was friendly, clean towels every morning.
You get what you pay for. This is nothing fancy but we enjoyed our stay. Coffee, Danish an cereal every morning. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Thank you for the feedback, and thank you for the business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I wouldn't have wanted to stay for more than one night. The carpet was unclean and the towels were disgraceful!! They were grey and worn and the bath/shower mat was a towel torn in half!
The bed was clean but the room is drab and unwelcoming and the access up the stairs to the side of the hotel leads straight off the street and is shabby.
The road is noisy too.
I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend staying here really. It is noisy from the road but our room was at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
We thank you for your feedback, we have recently changed this hotel and are still in the midst of some upgrades. We understand everyone has a level of comfort and if it is brought to our attention we would have gladly replace your towels. We are sorry if this caused you any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

Address: 1940 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Ramada Limited San Francisco/By the Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Ramada San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.