We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Poor Value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District to your Saves list
Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1940 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Ramada Limited San Francisco/By the Bay) (Marina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #209 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Location - Poor Value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I selected the hotel for its location good experience with Howard Johnson in the past.However the room was not very clean, had stains every where and plumbing was poor.Toilet almost over flowed and TV had a big burn mark at the center of the screen. It was obvious that the place is not well maintained and badly needs renovation. Poor value for $200+ per night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
We have the pricing according to the fair market value at the time it was a holiday weekend the prices are higher, however we do understand that for you it was not acceptable. We are very sorry and we have rectified many things at this hotel and are making upgrades. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    15
    9
    19
See reviews for
16
13
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I booked this hotel last minute via a discounted site at an excellent rate. I was looking for something within walking distance to attractions that included parking and this was by far the best deal. We often stay at hostels in private rooms and found this room at an even better rate.

I arrived late and the parking lot was full so I was instructed to park on the side of the street which I did and had no issues overnight. The next day there was a space available in the garage so I moved our vehicle in there where I still had no problems. The rooms and breezeways are very dated but I spent so little time in the hotel that it really didn't matter. I found the room to be clean and have no complaints about the cleanliness. I did not have any problems with noise however I can see how some people could have complaints especially when the hotel is busy just based on the layout of the hotel. They had free wifi and offered a breakfast in the morning which consisted of packaged danishes, fruit, coffee and juice. Nothing special but at least there was some fruit I could take on the road for the day. The desk staff wasn't overly helpful but I was able to use their wifi to answer most of my questions. The hotel was in a good location, had restaurants nearby and was within walking distance to Lombard Street and Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Thank you for the fair and honest info. regarding our hotel. We are a limited service budget hotel, however customer service can always be improved. We are making changes and trying to make this a better hotel and yes we have a great locations. Thanks again for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed in early May '14. We were pleasantly surprised w/this hotel. The staff is friendly, the rooms were very clean, the bed's firmness was perfect...not too soft nor too firm. It was quiet for us, we didn't hear any street noise nor noise of other guests. One drawback, no elevator. The location is great, right between Golden Gate bridge and Fisherman's Wharf area!

Room Tip: request 1st level if you have knee issues or heavy luggage, no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the feedback, we are updating many things, and it is nice to see it is making a difference, we agree we do have a great location. within walking distance to many things. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my son after a trip up Route 1. The interior tile walkway sounds so loud when late night guests arrive, it is surprising anyone sleeps. There was blood and ... whatever on the bed spread, then noticed more on the wall and ceiling. Too grossed out for a photo. Dead plants lined the interior walkway where the housekeeping staff stacked the sheets and left them for hours so it looked like a crime scene with sheeted body and all. Ugh! Avoid!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel is in a great location we used the buses to get round and the bus stops where all very close, stopped here for 5 nights breakfast was ok apple and orange juice was really nice, rooms where ok with flat screen tv,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

Address: 1940 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Ramada Limited San Francisco/By the Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Ramada San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.