We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst breakfast ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District to your Saves list
Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1940 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Ramada Limited San Francisco/By the Bay) (Marina District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #203 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    17
    18
    27
See reviews for
23
18
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my son after a trip up Route 1. The interior tile walkway sounds so loud when late night guests arrive, it is surprising anyone sleeps. There was blood and ... whatever on the bed spread, then noticed more on the wall and ceiling. Too grossed out for a photo. Dead plants lined the interior walkway where the housekeeping staff stacked the sheets and left them for hours so it looked like a crime scene with sheeted body and all. Ugh! Avoid!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Our hotel is a limited service budget hotel in the heart of the Marina district, we are a safe comfortable hotel. We have made many changes since your review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel is in a great location we used the buses to get round and the bus stops where all very close, stopped here for 5 nights breakfast was ok apple and orange juice was really nice, rooms where ok with flat screen tv,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this review, December 10, 2014
We understand that this review is older, however , thank you for the feedback and for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I was not happy with this place u could hear every little thing thru the window the plumbing didnt work good are toilet over flowed twice and we had to use the plunger our selves to unclog it then breakfast was not what the website had said it would b and the room was very run down

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

Address: 1940 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Ramada Limited San Francisco/By the Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Ramada San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.