We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Let's Make It Suite!
Ranked #21 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of a trip to Seattle & before a flight back to NZ. We picked this hotel as we have stayed at other Kimpton hotels & have never been disappointed. We certainly weren't here either! This hotel is in a great location, close to Union Square & within walking distance of a number of shops & restaurants. We took BART from SFO then walked a few blocks to the hotel - just a hint, walk up Powell to Geary then along to the hotel, not along Eddy & up Taylor to avoid feeling a little uncomfortable wheeling suitcases amongst some of the locals. The room was lovely, not such a great view of a back alley, but off to the side so we weren't disturbed by any noise, only by the Napa earthquake! The lack of restaurant at the hotel was no issue as recommendations were provided by the staff, some we may not have tried otherwise & really enjoyed, such as Colibri. The staff are friendly & helpful, no issue storing bags for the last day & gave us a space for a bit of last minute re-packing after we had already checked out. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear kag10,
You truly had a California experience since you were here to feel the earthquake. It isn’t something that any of us like, but it is definitely part of living here.
We are sorry we don’t have a restaurant at this time, but I am happy to hear we provided you with so many great recommendations. San Francisco is an amazing food town.
We look forward to a future visit.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    460
    108
    30
    23
See reviews for
191
583
89
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Hotel doesn't look much from the outside but inside it's amazing.
Room was brilliant, service great, location just fantastic.

Frech restaurant/cafe attached was great too.

Modern & great value, right in the centre of town, would love to return.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear CharlotteCollins,
I love our building. It is a 1910 Beaux Arts. Unfortunately, we are surrounded by taller buildings that might take away from its looks.
I am happy to hear you were able to try the Grand Café before it closed at the end of July. We look forward to reopening the space and having you come and try our new concept.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Although this hotel was expensive, it was a GREAT location. It was two blocks away from Union Square and central to the other San Francisco tourist locations (AT&T Ball park, Painted Ladies, Exploratorium, Pier 39, etc). The rooms were comfortable and the staff was helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Join the Kimpton Karma Rewards Program before making a reservation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I was somewhat surprised by how French the hotel looked. Great ornate lobby. The magenta walls in my room were ok with the modern French decor, but I would have preferred something calmer. The room itself was very quiet, we were at the back away from Geary, our window overlooked Taylor. There was no traffic noise at all. The window opened, so since it was cool-ish, we opened it and got some fresh air- still not noisy. I was in a king room, and my only complaint: the bathroom was TINY, and I've stayed in some hotels with tiny bathrooms. This was the TINY-EST. If you can handle that, then everything's fine. If you need something slightly larger, you won't like the room that much.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the back, away from Geary, the elevators, and the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear JC_chgo,
The building was constructed in 1910 and it is in the Beaux Arts style. Very French. And there are definitely some more French elements in the interior. I am glad you enjoyed it.
Next time you will have to stay In one of our suites. Those bathrooms are huge.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel was the last stop on our honeymoon. We had been spoilt in Las Vegas where we stayed at the Mandarin oriental and equally so at the modern Honolulu in Hawaii, so when we arrived and were told there was no restaurant or bar, due to refurbishment we were very disappointed. I completely agree with other reviews on here , the area is dodgy particularly at night with many homeless people wandering and asking for money as well as people hanging around in groups on street corners.
When we got to our room (Queen deluxe) , we were left a little underwhelmed. The room was small, however it was clean and tidy. Another grievance (not mine my Wife's) was the lack of duvet cover! The duvet was just placed between two flat sheets and therefore moved in the night for the duvet to then touch her skin, which she thought was very unhygienic!
As mentioned above due to there not being a restaurant we were given complimentary breakfast tokens , which allowed each person to a pastry and a coffee, disappointing. As we arrived very late in the evening and due to the area being some what concerning, we were recommended to order a take away. The concierge were helpful in making the call for us. On our last night we wished to eat out and couldn't get hold of concierge to make the booking for us, we dialled from our hotel room phone. On check out we were charged 8 dollars ( not that this is a big amount) for concierge calling the take away, then booking a reservation at one restaurant and for the 1 minute call we made on our last night. We were disgusted by this as the hotel provided no food or beverages and we had no other choice but to eat and drink out.
Overall this hotel is poor, the staff are helpful and friendly enough but this does not make up for the poor amenities and high prices. This hotel thinks it is a lot better than it actually is, we will be looking elsewhere if we go back to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Well, if our room was a queen deluxe, I'd hate to see the options below this!! Noisy, can hear...
See more room tips
Green Features: Toiletries were recycled other than this I can't really comment.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Rhodipeeey,
I am so sorry to hear that the end of your honeymoon was less than satisfactory due to some of the issues you had with our hotel.
If you would like to send me a private e-mail, I would be more than happy to remove the charges for the phone calls made to the restaurants. You are absolutely correct that you should not have to pay for those.
Again, I am sorry we did not even come close to your expectations. Once we have our restaurant back in operation next year, I think you would be much more satisfied.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is a nice hotel in the centre of S Francisco. Confortable and easy access to all amenities.
The only pathetic thing was the complimentary breakfast. Although complimentary it would have been better not to have offered it. Either you offer a breakfast or You do not offer it at all.
It is no good to have a coffee and one toffee and then have to complete the breakfast elsewhere. Its a nonsense. This requires managerial attention.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Franco C,
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear you did not care for the complimentary continental breakfast. We will definitely take your suggestion under advisement and look at not offering the breakfast in the future.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Walking distance to Union Square. Top quality service in terms of staff and cleanliness. Standard size room and bathroom. Liked the design very much. The lobby is rather dark but this is part of their design I guess.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear UtedB,
I am happy to hear you felt our service and cleanliness was top quality. We hope you can come back for a future visit.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.