We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay, Excellent service and fastest elevators known to mankind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #22 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
denver
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Stay, Excellent service and fastest elevators known to mankind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at The Hotel Monaco on a recent business trip. The staff first accommodated my online request of a high floor, quiet room and acknowledged this when I checked in (thats a first in all of my travels). The room was nice, there is a fridge (only with there was a microwave to heat coffee) and the internet service was excellent. Starbucks is not even a block away and there is a Walgreens across the street (open from 9-12 I think). The hotel is only 2 blocks from Union Square which makes it super convenient to everything in the heart of the city. The staff was very nice and helpful (they recommended the best pizza I have had in San Francisco) and had a town car service for a ride back to the airport. I would highly recommend taking BART and getting off at the Powell Street stop where its only a 5-10 minute walk and much cheaper than a cab. I would give the hotel 4.5 stars if you could give this rating and would stay here when I come back to SF.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear hpd3,
I wish they would let you give us 4.5 stars, too.
I am happy to hear we acknowledged all of your preferences. We aren’t always able to accommodate all requests, but it sounds like we were able to this time.
We hope to see you on a future trip.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    454
    106
    29
    20
See reviews for
184
570
88
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We decided to stay at hotel Monaco for our 1 year wedding anniversary. We arrived around noon and they had a room ready for us! When we got to our room we were surprised at the size of the room. It was a little on the smaller size but we knew we wouldn't be in the room much anyway so we were fine with it. The staff was very helpful with giving us suggestions on how to get around the city and we enjoyed the amenities such at the hot tub in the spa area and the wine hour. We did have a car and paid the $52 fee plus taxes for 3 nights- we did know that because the concierge told us as we were arriving but now in hindsight I think i should have asked if he had other recommendations since there are a bunch of parking garages nearby but I didnt. Overall the hotel was great. We will definitely stay here again if ever in San Fran. 1 tip- when leaving the hotel make a right and walk 2 blocks to union square.

Room Tip: Sign up for Kimpton rewards and note that your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear MGLK,
I am glad you spent most of your time exploring the city and not in your room. While we would have loved to have in the hotel more, we think San Francisco is an amazing city. Please know we are always happy to provide alternative recommendations for parking. We know our valet parking can appear expensive and we can offer other options.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

What a great experience from friendly check in, beautiful room,great staff and perfect location! I love Kimpton hotels but this one is my favorite. Daniel and Gabby at the front desk and I met Jason the GM he couldn't have been kinder! Live this place!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Manton52,
It was a pleasure to meet you, as well. And thank you for the kind words about Daniel and Gabbi. We are lucky to have them.
We hope to see you, again, soon.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our trip to Napa/Sonoma. I'm usually a Marriott or Starwood guy when it comes to name brand hotels, but figured I'd give the Hotel Monaco a try based on others' positive reviews. The price was right and the location is exactly where we wanted to be - just steps from Union Square. The hotel has the feel of a small boutique hotel with classy decor and nice finishings. The room was very comfortable. I mentioned that we were there to celebrate my wife's birthday and we were surprisingly greeted with a free suite upgrade, a bottle of champagne, and a hand-written "happy birthday" note. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was extremely pleasant and helpful! I've stayed in A LOT of hotels over the years, and it's refreshing to find a spot where the staff consistently appear positive and willing to go the extra step to make your stay a little better. From the bellman out front who gave us step by step directions to his recommended lunch spot, to Lauren at the front desk who printed out a list of recommended wineries and restaurants in downtown Senoma, the service was top notch. Coming from a regular platinum member at the other big chains, I plan to add Kimpton to my list going forward based on this experience alone! Thanks again for the great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I'm a big fan of the Kimpton chain and often stay in their hotels in other cities. So I was surprised at how average this felt. The location is pretty good, only a couple of blocks from Union Square and a fairly short walk to the Financial District and Market Street. But the check in was nothing special, and certainly not what I am used to at other Kimptons. The lobby area is decent with some nice seating areas, and of course the wine/cheese event every afternoon. My room was quiet and clean, but I wasn't thrilled with the furnishings, they were a little tired. The restaurant that is connected to the hotel was closed for renovations, which I wish someone had told me when my staff booked the hotel as we probably would have changed hotels. My wake up call the net morning was almost 15 minutes past due. The bathroom was at least decently sized and the towels were fluffy. But overall I found little here that set it apart from other hotels, and in fact my room felt a lot like a typical corporate hotel (Hyatt, Hilton, Sheraton) which of course is exactly why I usually choose Kimpton hotels in order to avoid that feeling. So, if you have other choices in the City consider them first, I probably won't return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear rossvesq,
Yikes. I don’t think anyone likes to be called average. And that is certainly not what we are striving for.
I am sorry to hear you were underwhelmed by your check in experience. And it sounds like our new remodel is not your taste or style.
I apologize for the miscommunication about the restaurant. It is not closed for renovation at this time. We are closing the restaurant at the end of this month and it will be closed for several months.
Thanks,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Let's start with the good: adequate lighting and outlets, a refrigerator in the room, maintenance responded quickly. As Kimpton members, we received $10 to use at the bar and a Sunday NYT.

Now the not-so-good: ours was arguably the ugliest hotel room we've ever seen. One wall was red, one white, one navy, and one was red, white, navy, and gold wide stripes. The carpet had a gray-on-gray pattern. The bedding was comfortable but black and white. Did I mention the standing lamp with a silver swirl lampshade? And, according to the front desk, all the rooms have the same decor.

The shower liner wasn't vinyl but fabric, so every time someone showered, about a quart of water ended up on the floor. Ugh.

As Kimpton members, we had hoped to get a nice room. Our "quiet" room was adjacent to a gravel roof. Not exactly the view we had hoped for.

We mentioned the shower problem to the front desk, but the Monaco offered no apology other than a verbal one...not even a glass of wine on the house.

If you're going to San Francisco, be sure to wear a flower in your hair....and think twice about staying at the Monaco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear RockCreekGirl,
I am sad to say that if you did not like the design and décor of your room, then you would not like any of our rooms. As the person at the front desk told you, all of our rooms look very similar. I know that design is a very personal thing. We were thrilled with the new design, but we know it isn’t for everyone.
I am not sure what happened with the shower liner in your room, but I will definitely follow up on that. We certainly do not want water all over the bathroom floor.
Thanks,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My stay was very nice until checkout . I was given 2- 10.00 drink vouchers at the bar as a return guest rewards to be handed in at checkout. There were two of us staying 6 nights. Upon checkout I was informed only one voucher was valid. This is ridiculous to say that. Then oh it was an error , we should of only received 1 voucher well ok not my fault. Wine hour is cheap headache wine. Not searching out Kimpton hotels ever!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Karen P,
I hope you received my e-mail earlier today. I just wanted to apologize for the miscommunication and I am sorry it had such a negative impact on your stay.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.