We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent service, prime location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Let's Make It Suite!
Ranked #21 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
ATL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent service, prime location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our trip to Napa/Sonoma. I'm usually a Marriott or Starwood guy when it comes to name brand hotels, but figured I'd give the Hotel Monaco a try based on others' positive reviews. The price was right and the location is exactly where we wanted to be - just steps from Union Square. The hotel has the feel of a small boutique hotel with classy decor and nice finishings. The room was very comfortable. I mentioned that we were there to celebrate my wife's birthday and we were surprisingly greeted with a free suite upgrade, a bottle of champagne, and a hand-written "happy birthday" note. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was extremely pleasant and helpful! I've stayed in A LOT of hotels over the years, and it's refreshing to find a spot where the staff consistently appear positive and willing to go the extra step to make your stay a little better. From the bellman out front who gave us step by step directions to his recommended lunch spot, to Lauren at the front desk who printed out a list of recommended wineries and restaurants in downtown Senoma, the service was top notch. Coming from a regular platinum member at the other big chains, I plan to add Kimpton to my list going forward based on this experience alone! Thanks again for the great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    460
    107
    30
    23
See reviews for
191
583
89
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I'm a big fan of the Kimpton chain and often stay in their hotels in other cities. So I was surprised at how average this felt. The location is pretty good, only a couple of blocks from Union Square and a fairly short walk to the Financial District and Market Street. But the check in was nothing special, and certainly not what I am used to at other Kimptons. The lobby area is decent with some nice seating areas, and of course the wine/cheese event every afternoon. My room was quiet and clean, but I wasn't thrilled with the furnishings, they were a little tired. The restaurant that is connected to the hotel was closed for renovations, which I wish someone had told me when my staff booked the hotel as we probably would have changed hotels. My wake up call the net morning was almost 15 minutes past due. The bathroom was at least decently sized and the towels were fluffy. But overall I found little here that set it apart from other hotels, and in fact my room felt a lot like a typical corporate hotel (Hyatt, Hilton, Sheraton) which of course is exactly why I usually choose Kimpton hotels in order to avoid that feeling. So, if you have other choices in the City consider them first, I probably won't return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear rossvesq,
Yikes. I don’t think anyone likes to be called average. And that is certainly not what we are striving for.
I am sorry to hear you were underwhelmed by your check in experience. And it sounds like our new remodel is not your taste or style.
I apologize for the miscommunication about the restaurant. It is not closed for renovation at this time. We are closing the restaurant at the end of this month and it will be closed for several months.
Thanks,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Let's start with the good: adequate lighting and outlets, a refrigerator in the room, maintenance responded quickly. As Kimpton members, we received $10 to use at the bar and a Sunday NYT.

Now the not-so-good: ours was arguably the ugliest hotel room we've ever seen. One wall was red, one white, one navy, and one was red, white, navy, and gold wide stripes. The carpet had a gray-on-gray pattern. The bedding was comfortable but black and white. Did I mention the standing lamp with a silver swirl lampshade? And, according to the front desk, all the rooms have the same decor.

The shower liner wasn't vinyl but fabric, so every time someone showered, about a quart of water ended up on the floor. Ugh.

As Kimpton members, we had hoped to get a nice room. Our "quiet" room was adjacent to a gravel roof. Not exactly the view we had hoped for.

We mentioned the shower problem to the front desk, but the Monaco offered no apology other than a verbal one...not even a glass of wine on the house.

If you're going to San Francisco, be sure to wear a flower in your hair....and think twice about staying at the Monaco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear RockCreekGirl,
I am sad to say that if you did not like the design and décor of your room, then you would not like any of our rooms. As the person at the front desk told you, all of our rooms look very similar. I know that design is a very personal thing. We were thrilled with the new design, but we know it isn’t for everyone.
I am not sure what happened with the shower liner in your room, but I will definitely follow up on that. We certainly do not want water all over the bathroom floor.
Thanks,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My stay was very nice until checkout . I was given 2- 10.00 drink vouchers at the bar as a return guest rewards to be handed in at checkout. There were two of us staying 6 nights. Upon checkout I was informed only one voucher was valid. This is ridiculous to say that. Then oh it was an error , we should of only received 1 voucher well ok not my fault. Wine hour is cheap headache wine. Not searching out Kimpton hotels ever!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Karen P,
I hope you received my e-mail earlier today. I just wanted to apologize for the miscommunication and I am sorry it had such a negative impact on your stay.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The room was very nice. We asked for early checkin but it wasn't possible; however we were accommodated with late departure. The location felt more authentic than staying at union square, although the front desk warned us not to turn left upon exiting the hotel. I am normally sketched out easily and the area is fine during the day but their advice is solid for nighttime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear NCReviewer,
I am sorry we were not able to accommodate the early check in, but I am happy to hear we were able to assist with the late departure. We do our best.
Thanks,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We chose to stay at Hotel Monaco during our first visit to San Francisco and were not disappointed! The location was a close walk to Union Square which has many dining and shopping options and is also a cable car stop. joined the free rewards program and enjoyed the complimentary internet and raiding the mini bar! The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful: had our bags taken to the room while we returned our rental car, explained the cable car system, fully advised us of the hotel amenities, held our bags the final day we explored the city, arranged for hotel car to take us to the airport, and I'm sure I could go on. In particular, Johnathan at the front desk went out of his way to be hospitable and even sent fruit, water, and chocolate to our room with a sincere note welcoming us to the hotel and the city!! Our room had lots of character with the vibrant colors and wallpaper; much more exciting than your typical hotel decor! We had a room on the 7th floor that was on the inner side of the hotel (not the street) away from the elevator and had no noise issues. My husband and I would most definitely stay here again and will look for Kimpton Hotels in other cities too!

Room Tip: Upper floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Elizabeth A,
Yay! I am so happy to hear you were able to experience some San Francisco hospitality done the Monaco way. It sounds like Johnathan really made a positive impression and that does not surprise me. We hope you will come back and see us, again.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here earlier this year for work and came back with my family for a visit over the July 4th holiday. The hotel is right by Union Square and was a great spot for our visits to the Exploratorium, the Cal Academy of Sciences, and the Embarcadero for the fireworks. The evening reception was always something to look forward to after a day on the town and there were plenty of good places to eat nearby. Special thanks to the Monaco team who did a very nice job with my kids and went out of their way to recognize one of my girls who was celebrating her birthday.

The junior suite provided was comfortable and offered ample space for my family. We were comfortable and will definitely consider a return visit if we're back in town.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you'll want to avoid a room that is adjacent to the elevator. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear zonk68,
I am so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are glad your daughter enjoyed her birthday with us and we hope she is now a Kimpton convert.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.