We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, easy walk to restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #19 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carrboro, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice room, easy walk to restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The room was very nice. We asked for early checkin but it wasn't possible; however we were accommodated with late departure. The location felt more authentic than staying at union square, although the front desk warned us not to turn left upon exiting the hotel. I am normally sketched out easily and the area is fine during the day but their advice is solid for nighttime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear NCReviewer,
I am sorry we were not able to accommodate the early check in, but I am happy to hear we were able to assist with the late departure. We do our best.
Thanks,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    750
    437
    98
    24
    19
See reviews for
176
555
87
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We chose to stay at Hotel Monaco during our first visit to San Francisco and were not disappointed! The location was a close walk to Union Square which has many dining and shopping options and is also a cable car stop. joined the free rewards program and enjoyed the complimentary internet and raiding the mini bar! The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful: had our bags taken to the room while we returned our rental car, explained the cable car system, fully advised us of the hotel amenities, held our bags the final day we explored the city, arranged for hotel car to take us to the airport, and I'm sure I could go on. In particular, Johnathan at the front desk went out of his way to be hospitable and even sent fruit, water, and chocolate to our room with a sincere note welcoming us to the hotel and the city!! Our room had lots of character with the vibrant colors and wallpaper; much more exciting than your typical hotel decor! We had a room on the 7th floor that was on the inner side of the hotel (not the street) away from the elevator and had no noise issues. My husband and I would most definitely stay here again and will look for Kimpton Hotels in other cities too!

Room Tip: Upper floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Elizabeth A,
Yay! I am so happy to hear you were able to experience some San Francisco hospitality done the Monaco way. It sounds like Johnathan really made a positive impression and that does not surprise me. We hope you will come back and see us, again.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here earlier this year for work and came back with my family for a visit over the July 4th holiday. The hotel is right by Union Square and was a great spot for our visits to the Exploratorium, the Cal Academy of Sciences, and the Embarcadero for the fireworks. The evening reception was always something to look forward to after a day on the town and there were plenty of good places to eat nearby. Special thanks to the Monaco team who did a very nice job with my kids and went out of their way to recognize one of my girls who was celebrating her birthday.

The junior suite provided was comfortable and offered ample space for my family. We were comfortable and will definitely consider a return visit if we're back in town.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you'll want to avoid a room that is adjacent to the elevator. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear zonk68,
I am so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are glad your daughter enjoyed her birthday with us and we hope she is now a Kimpton convert.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

5 min walk from Union Square, shopping heaven, transport hub and tourist attraction, you cannot choose a better location. The hotel is luxurious, rooms are good size and have everything you should desire. What I have to emphasize is the staff, exceptionally friendly, proactive and efficient. Practically no waiting time although the hotel is very busy. They also offer complimentary (and good quality) bicycles. They are also providing tea, lemonade, wine at happy hour, all these for free.
If you ask for something they do not have, they will get it for you. Next time in San Francisco I will definitely stay in the same hotel.

Room Tip: any room will do, if you are choosing one at the back should be quiter
See more room tips
Green Features: they make all efforts to be environment friendly; green bulbs, water saving facilities, linen reuse, etc
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our family of four has stayed at this hotel before, with great success and none of these problems. Too bad this trip has ruined it for us, and we are unlikely to stay again. The entire 3-night stay was filled with a litany of noises, any of which could be overlooked but in total were just too much.

During the first night, we were awoken at 1 am to a strange and very loud humming sound, like someone had started up a band saw in another room. The front desk was also alarmed, as they could hear the noise over the phone when we called down to complain. Just as mysteriously, it switched off about 1:15 am, leaving us the lay awake the rest of the night wondering if it would suddenly start again.

The second night, the bedside phone had evidently run out of power (it was never plugged in) and started a quiet but insidious beeping noise. If we had known what this alert was for, it would have been a simpler fix than searching the entire room for the cause of the noise for 20 minutes before finally discovering it and switching it off. Then, the guests in the next room began their bedside conversation, at full voice, which came through the wall so loudly that I responded "We can hear you over hear!" at full voice. That seemed to work.

But the third night, oh the third night. The room next door was filled with young party girls, playing a drinking game while our kids tried to fall asleep. Headphones and iPads seemed to help, but when that got old we called downstairs and security quieted them down. Until they returned when the bars closed at 1:45 am and continued in the hallway. Retribution for us quieting them earlier? From there, the street below us became a riot scene complete with fighting lovers, screaming drunks, crying girls, and the sirens of police called in to quell the energy. But that's not all folks. At 7 am, some jerk in the neighborhood began some sort of household renovation project, and the high-pitched whine of some machine droned on for more than two hours on a Sunday morning.

Kimpton always does a great job, and this is a really nice hotel - we chose it again because of our good experience just 7 months ago. The staff is very friendly, and were clearly not able to control all of this mayhem. But still, I think the next time we'll choose something more removed from the action.

I'd like to think we're not stuffy or old, just very, very sleepy. Or maybe next time we'll consider beer pong at 2 am and just join the party.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear criticdesandiego,
Ugggghh. Sounds like you and your family could not catch a break from the noise during your stay. I know what it feels like to desperately want some sleep and to not be able to get it. Some of these things were definitely within our control and I know we tried to aid you in your quest for some sleep. Other things were clearly out of our control and out of yours, as well. If it makes you feel any better, I was kept awake for 4 hours on Friday night by illegal fireworks in my San Francisco neighborhood.
We do have several other Kimpton properties in San Francisco for you to consider. Hopefully, one of them will provide you with a better night’s sleep.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Monaco is a great spot if you're hoping to shop, checkout Union Square, etc. They have a great nightly wine reception and the desk staff are always very friendly. The adjoining neighborhood can be a bit rough at night, so I would recommend always getting an Uber or taxi if you're venturing out after dinner. Sign up for the InTouch Guest Loyalty program before you arrive and get free internet and a "raid the mini bar" coupon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear MrLee612,
Glad you enjoyed our location for shopping and touring the town. And I am happy to hear you were able to experience our hosted wine reception, the complimentary WiFi and the “raid the bar” coupon.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and loved it. The location was great. Hotel public areas were beautiful and we loved our room. It was so cute, a great size and the beds were so comfortable. The staff at the hotel was very helpful. We thought they really sold us on the hotel. They did whatever they could to be helpful. We loved it and would look for Kimpton hotels in the future based on our experience here.
The staff photos really are what the rooms look like.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side which can be very loud in a city. We had ear plugs and that was all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Abbie-StuartF,
We love our hotel and I am glad we were able to convey that to you and that our enthusiasm spilled over to you.
Most of our suites and a few other rooms face the street. They are definitely louder than the interior rooms. I have found a free “noise machine” app is very helpful for these situations, as well.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.