We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of Many Noises” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #22 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hotel of Many Noises”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our family of four has stayed at this hotel before, with great success and none of these problems. Too bad this trip has ruined it for us, and we are unlikely to stay again. The entire 3-night stay was filled with a litany of noises, any of which could be overlooked but in total were just too much.

During the first night, we were awoken at 1 am to a strange and very loud humming sound, like someone had started up a band saw in another room. The front desk was also alarmed, as they could hear the noise over the phone when we called down to complain. Just as mysteriously, it switched off about 1:15 am, leaving us the lay awake the rest of the night wondering if it would suddenly start again.

The second night, the bedside phone had evidently run out of power (it was never plugged in) and started a quiet but insidious beeping noise. If we had known what this alert was for, it would have been a simpler fix than searching the entire room for the cause of the noise for 20 minutes before finally discovering it and switching it off. Then, the guests in the next room began their bedside conversation, at full voice, which came through the wall so loudly that I responded "We can hear you over hear!" at full voice. That seemed to work.

But the third night, oh the third night. The room next door was filled with young party girls, playing a drinking game while our kids tried to fall asleep. Headphones and iPads seemed to help, but when that got old we called downstairs and security quieted them down. Until they returned when the bars closed at 1:45 am and continued in the hallway. Retribution for us quieting them earlier? From there, the street below us became a riot scene complete with fighting lovers, screaming drunks, crying girls, and the sirens of police called in to quell the energy. But that's not all folks. At 7 am, some jerk in the neighborhood began some sort of household renovation project, and the high-pitched whine of some machine droned on for more than two hours on a Sunday morning.

Kimpton always does a great job, and this is a really nice hotel - we chose it again because of our good experience just 7 months ago. The staff is very friendly, and were clearly not able to control all of this mayhem. But still, I think the next time we'll choose something more removed from the action.

I'd like to think we're not stuffy or old, just very, very sleepy. Or maybe next time we'll consider beer pong at 2 am and just join the party.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear criticdesandiego,
Ugggghh. Sounds like you and your family could not catch a break from the noise during your stay. I know what it feels like to desperately want some sleep and to not be able to get it. Some of these things were definitely within our control and I know we tried to aid you in your quest for some sleep. Other things were clearly out of our control and out of yours, as well. If it makes you feel any better, I was kept awake for 4 hours on Friday night by illegal fireworks in my San Francisco neighborhood.
We do have several other Kimpton properties in San Francisco for you to consider. Hopefully, one of them will provide you with a better night’s sleep.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    454
    106
    29
    20
See reviews for
184
570
88
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Monaco is a great spot if you're hoping to shop, checkout Union Square, etc. They have a great nightly wine reception and the desk staff are always very friendly. The adjoining neighborhood can be a bit rough at night, so I would recommend always getting an Uber or taxi if you're venturing out after dinner. Sign up for the InTouch Guest Loyalty program before you arrive and get free internet and a "raid the mini bar" coupon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear MrLee612,
Glad you enjoyed our location for shopping and touring the town. And I am happy to hear you were able to experience our hosted wine reception, the complimentary WiFi and the “raid the bar” coupon.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and loved it. The location was great. Hotel public areas were beautiful and we loved our room. It was so cute, a great size and the beds were so comfortable. The staff at the hotel was very helpful. We thought they really sold us on the hotel. They did whatever they could to be helpful. We loved it and would look for Kimpton hotels in the future based on our experience here.
The staff photos really are what the rooms look like.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side which can be very loud in a city. We had ear plugs and that was all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Abbie-StuartF,
We love our hotel and I am glad we were able to convey that to you and that our enthusiasm spilled over to you.
Most of our suites and a few other rooms face the street. They are definitely louder than the interior rooms. I have found a free “noise machine” app is very helpful for these situations, as well.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here while in San Fran for a spring break as a family. Rooms were great and clean and the staff was fantastic. The concierge helped us pick restaurants and the choices were super. Even better than what we had come up with looking online. Great location and a wine tasting bar right at the entrance was also enjoyable. Would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at the Monaco Hotel for three nights for our anniversary. We chose the hotel for the price and reviews.

It is located a short walk from the Powell street stop for tge Bart line. The train ride took approximately thirty minutes from the SF airport. Just walk up Powell and left on Geary and you will see it on your left in a couple blocks, across the street from a Walgreens.

The hotel staff is very nice and helpful. They provided us with a free bottle of champagne for anniversary. The rooms our moderns. Bathroom small, but works.

Its a short walk to union square, china town, cuit tower, fisherman. I would cab it to the bridge, about twenty dollars.

Only thing I did not like was the bed. It was uncomfortable and the pillows were most likely the worst pillows on the west coast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear usestate,
I find that beds and pillows are a very personal thing. One review will say we have the most comfortable beds and pillows and the next will say the opposite. Unfortunately, there is not a bed or pillow that seems to work for everyone.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed many other aspects of the hotel and I hope you had a great anniversary.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very nice suite. Outstanding staff. Took good care of our every need. Celebrating our 28th anniversary. Complimentary sparkling wine sent to our room. Wonderful public settings. Just everything was perfect. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear VQC,
We love it when we can help make people’s special occasions even more memorable. Glad to hear that was the case for you.
Please come back to see us on all future anniversaries.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel exceeded my initial expectations! The room was clean and the design was modern and well taken care of. The bathroom was nice sized and CLEAN. Granite countertops and soft towels. Besides the well appointed room they had the nice little touches like complementary water that was orange infused!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear 796Stephanieh,
We love exceeding people’s expectations. Glad you were able to get a good deal during such a busy summer.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.