We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Let's Make It Suite!
Ranked #27 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aylesbury
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our Second Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel was recommended by my brother who uses it for business trips, and this was our second visit to this excellent hotel. It is ideally situated just two blocks from Union Square, and within a short walk of Powell Street BART station. Our room was very comfortable. The staff were incredibly friendly, and very helpful. We took full advantage of the wine reception in the evening and coffee in the morning. We would definitely come back if we are in San Francisco again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    478
    117
    32
    24
See reviews for
193
599
90
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel and restaurant have great decor in the eclectic & colorful Kimpton style. The desk service was professional but perhaps a bit more"matter of fact, business" oriented then other Kimptons" that I have visited.
The room was nicely decorated in the Kimpton style. If being overly picky, then I was somewhat at issue with the room lighting. It was pretty dark in general and there was no lighting at all at the wall, ceiling or table at the couch area in the small suite. You could not sit on the couch and read.
The neighborhood is a few blocks in and closer to the Tenderloin district ,then some other Union Square hotels . At night caution should be advised not to wander down certain streets as you might be confronted by street people some of whom can be rather aggressive . This is true of a lot of the Union Square outlying areas. At night it might be wise to check with the hotel staff if you are planning walking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This Hotel continues to offer the top quality which has become its standard. It is unique in its genuine hospitality, quality rooms, superb location and attention to guest needs. The upbeat, professional staff makes everyone's stay important. The hotel is beautifully appointed, has an evening wine reception and the staff is knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are clean, well decorated and every detail is elegant including the bedding. I cannot stress the value of its Kimpton "In Touch" program and the attention to the profile a client can input--which newspaper is desired, for example.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I was back and forth between several San Francisco hotels for weeks (Westin, Vitale, Mark Hopkins). I had seen Monaco on several lists and thought a smaller hotel might be the best option. I have been a fan of Kimpton hotels in the past.The lobby is very small and one night there was a private party taking up the main seating area. The gym is very outdated and located in the basement. Housekeeping is slow and not extremely tidy. The rooms are fun and fashionable but some accents are very cheap looking. The views are not great at all. The staff was nice but no better than any other 4 star hotel. Also there were dogs everywhere.. Big dogs!! I know they are pet friendly but having these big dogs roaming the wine hour was .. Interesting. The great aspects were the newspaper delivery, coffee in the lobby, the valet, and bike rentals. Next time I am in SF will opt for another hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear TravellerALS,

Yes, we definitely are not the hotel for everyone. The Monaco is quirky and unique. Our décor is not for everyone, but we really like it. You won’t find many hotels with our style, so we think it sets us apart.

Yes, we do allow pets of all sizes. Again, this does not suit everyone. We totally understand that. Typicially, we do not have a lot pets in the hotel, but over a holiday weekend people tend to travel more with their pets.

For a boutique hotel, we have a pretty large public space with two living rooms- each containing a fire place. Again, not something you will find everywhere. Sometimes they are used for private events, such as weddings.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed some aspects of our hotel such as the newspaper, coffee and valet. Don’t be fooled. Our bikes are not for rent. They are actually complimentary on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Overall, thank you for your feedback.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located just a few blocks from the union square shopping district and various modes of transportation to get elsewhere in the city. The friendly hotel staff and evening wine happy hour in the lobby make for a great experience overall. The rooms were very clean and well decorated. The hotel even offers complimentary bicycle rentals.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Wickniley,

If you don’t feel like using our great public transportation, you can always borrow one of our bikes. They provide a great way to explore the city.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I had a recent business stay at the Monaco in San Fran and had a wonderful experience. Lauren and Charlotte at the front desk were professional and expedient. Upon arrival....all of my favorite amenities were in my room. This is a wonderful perk that Kimpton Hotels offer if you are an inner circle member. Kimpton has one of the best hotel reward programs. While I was there I also had breakfast at the restaurant located inside the hotel. The food and service was fantastic. The valet got me a cab ASAP upon my departure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear lcostin,

Thank you for the shout-outs for Lauren and Charlotte. I am happy to hear they helped make your stay wonderful. We are fortunate to have loyalty members who stay with us so often and we do our best to recognize them and thank them.

Thank you, also, for the comments on our restaurant. We have a new Executive Chef and he has changed some of the menus.

We look forward to seeing you on a repeat visit.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September. It was the final destination in a Road Trip across the States from Chicago. We had returned the car by the time we had stayed here so parking wasn't required. The hotel were happy to let us leave our luggage the morning of our check-in which allowed us to explore the city. The hotel is perfectly located to explore downtown San Francisco by tour bus, on foot or on the cable car.

The room was interestingly decorated (See Photo) and well equipped. They also had a wine reception at around 5 o'clock!

We had booked the hotel sometime in advance so we got a good price. Breakfast is not included but this is not a problem as we enjoyed the breakfasts we had in the Pinecrest Diner a few blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Kent_Ben,

We prefer to think of our room decorations as quirky and unique. We recently renovated all of the guest rooms and we could not be happier with our fun design.

Don’t ever hesitate to ask us for dining options and we can always supply you with our local favorites.

Glad to hear you had such a great road trip across the United States and we were on that list.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.