We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfy, exceptionally accommodating staff!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marker San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Marker San Francisco to your Saves list
The Marker San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel) (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great location, comfy, exceptionally accommodating staff!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Have stayed here a number of times now when visiting SF. The location is very central, the rooms very comfy, and the staff, to a one, could not be more engaged and accommodating. I had a very quiet room in the back with everything one wants. To top it off there is a very good Restuarant/bar attached. Couldn't have asked for more, Will return.

Room Tip: Get a room off the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank go4geisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Go4Geisha007,

Thank you for the compliments about the staff being engaged and accommodating. I am glad you had a chance to sample our restaurant, as well.

We look forward to your return visit.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chesterfield, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After months of deliberation we eventually decided to start our 25th wedding anniversary trip in San Francisco, staying at the Hotel Monaco - we are so glad we did. The hotel is in a great location (not sure why people seem to think this is any more 'dodgy' than other areas, sadly we saw homeless people throughout our tour of the west coast) it is ideally placed for Union Square, shopping at the Westfield Center, the cable car terminus and the street cars(trams) which run along Market. The hotel is a chic boutique hotel, our room was beautiful (loved the animal print dressing gowns, umbrella, yoga map and handy sockets in the bedside tables), with the most comfortable king bed, but it is the welcome we received which sets the Hotel Monaco apart, from friendly helpful staff, to the bottle of champagne left in our room. We enjoyed the daily afternoon wine reception and had a scrumptious breakfast in The Grand Cafe.
We are on a mission to visit every state in the US, but are now reconsidering maybe our mission should be to visit every Kimpton hotel!!

Room Tip: We found our deluxe king to be very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear J0Hill,

I love your new mission to visit every Kimpton property. I think you would have a really good time trying to accomplish that goal.

Thank you for choosing us for your 25th wedding anniversary. That is an impressive milestone and I am glad we delivered on helping to make it a very special occasion.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in July with 2 rooms for our family. Warmly welcomed on arrival and the children were delighted to find a goldfish in a bowl in their room waiting to be named! Complimentary sparkling apple juice in both rooms and a bottle of red wine delivered later and our holiday was off to a very nice start. Both rooms were of a good size with well stocked and clean bathrooms which looked like they had reasonably recently been redecorated.Two evenings we asked for restaurant recommendations from the front desk and were well looked after on both occasions. Really cannot fault Hotel Monaco and we would be happy to return next time we are in SF.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peedee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Peedee1955,

I am glad you were not able to find any faults with us. We love to hear that. Our rooms were just renovated this year. We are very happy with the results and I am glad to hear you feel the same way.

We would love to host you for your next family vacation. Just let us know and we will have the goldfish waiting.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent hotel off Union Square that has to be the quietest hotel in that city that we've stayed at! Rooms are renovated with modern decor, great hotel lounge-like foyers with great fireplaces that give a welcoming ambiance. We stayed six nights and had the best sleeps we'd ever had in San Francisco. Great hotel spa, well appointed small business centre and fantastic restaurant attached. Best bit was the free wine tasting every evening from 5 - 6pm during our visit, which encouraged a very convivial atmosphere in the large foyers. Monaco is only 2 minutes from the main theaters and 5 minutes walk to Union Square. Highly recommended hotel that's value for money given its location and facilities!

Room Tip: Ask for internal rooms off the main road.
See more room tips
Green Features: All good standard environmental practices. They provide recycling bins in each room.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi-travellers-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Kiwi-travellers-USA,

I am so happy to hear that you stayed with us for six nights and that you had the best sleep. Good sleep always helps start the day positively.

People really seem to enjoy our hosted evening wine reception. It happens every night. So, don’t miss it.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We ended up booking Hotel Monaco because Hotel Diva (our 1st choice) ran out of hotel rooms and I can say we were not disappointed. This hotel is all about location! A stones throw away from Union Sq, main shopping areas and Chinatown - we could not have asked for more. The only thing I'd say is that the room we stayed in was quite dusty and could have done with more of a deeper clean but as we were only there to sleep and shower, it didnt matter too much. The hotel staff are lovely and complimentary wine and tea/coffee was awesome! There is also a Walgreens and Starbucks right opposite the hotel which came in handy. A cool city hotel but would like to check out Hotel Diva next time!

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor room on the quieter side of the building which worked out well for us al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhavisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Bhavisha G,

Well, I am sorry to hear that your first choice was not available. But, I am happy to hear you were not disappointed. We do have a great location.

Sorry to hear about the dust in the room. That is a pretty easy fix.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the first of our 3 Kimpton hotels we stayed in on our 2 weeks in California & by far our most favourite. Great staff, lovely hotel, really nice feel to a characterful hotel. The staff were really helpful & always really pleasant. Had 2 really good recommendations for restaurants by the concierge.
Our room was really comfortable, spotlessly clean & a reasonable size. Albeit the view was rather dismal from the room - but I don't think there was a great view from many of the rooms in this position just off union square.
We had the continental breakfast included which was fine - service always efficient with good staff.
Great complimentary wine hour each evening & the option of a free masseur (with voluntary donation), which was very unique in the open room!
All in all a fan hotel for 4 nights & if we return to San Francisco this will definitely be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor - no noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneShropshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear YvoneShropshire_UK,

Yay! We love receiving the honor of “most favourite.” We are even more proud of that status since we were competing against our sister hotels. Thank you. Thank you.

Since our hotel is right in the middle of the city and there are many other, taller buildings around us, we do not get the best views. Luckily, most of our guests don’t spend a lot of time in their room when they aren’t sleeping, so it doesn’t matter to them.

Thank you for your compliments on the staff. We have a team that really enjoys what they do and I am glad it shows.

We can’t wait to see you on your next trip back to San Francisco.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Monaco for 4 nights. It was the first stop on our trip down the coast of California, and we couldn't have asked for a better way to start! The staff were amazingly friendly. Helpful and generous, going out of their way to make us comfortable. From booking wine tours to restaurant recommendations to creating a relationship with a guest - faultless! They knew it was my husbands 30th and left a bottle of wine and fruits for us upon check in! The gym facility is well equipped, clean and a great way to start the mornings! The location is fantastic - walking distance to the hop on off tour stop, union square, china town and the trams. Thank you to hotel Monaco for being one of the best hotels of our trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Viantha P,

Happy 30th birthday to your husband once again. I am so glad to hear you both enjoyed your stay and that we made it on your list of “best hotels” of your trip. That is an honor.

We wish everyone could get to stay with us for more than one night. It gives us a chance to get to know you better and a chance for you to get to know us better.

Please let us know when you are next in San Francisco as we would love for you to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,862 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,988 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#25 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,290 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#38 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marker San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing