We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a fantastic city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #19 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chesterfield, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a fantastic city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After months of deliberation we eventually decided to start our 25th wedding anniversary trip in San Francisco, staying at the Hotel Monaco - we are so glad we did. The hotel is in a great location (not sure why people seem to think this is any more 'dodgy' than other areas, sadly we saw homeless people throughout our tour of the west coast) it is ideally placed for Union Square, shopping at the Westfield Center, the cable car terminus and the street cars(trams) which run along Market. The hotel is a chic boutique hotel, our room was beautiful (loved the animal print dressing gowns, umbrella, yoga map and handy sockets in the bedside tables), with the most comfortable king bed, but it is the welcome we received which sets the Hotel Monaco apart, from friendly helpful staff, to the bottle of champagne left in our room. We enjoyed the daily afternoon wine reception and had a scrumptious breakfast in The Grand Cafe.
We are on a mission to visit every state in the US, but are now reconsidering maybe our mission should be to visit every Kimpton hotel!!

Room Tip: We found our deluxe king to be very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear J0Hill,

I love your new mission to visit every Kimpton property. I think you would have a really good time trying to accomplish that goal.

Thank you for choosing us for your 25th wedding anniversary. That is an impressive milestone and I am glad we delivered on helping to make it a very special occasion.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    754
    444
    99
    26
    19
See reviews for
181
561
87
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in July with 2 rooms for our family. Warmly welcomed on arrival and the children were delighted to find a goldfish in a bowl in their room waiting to be named! Complimentary sparkling apple juice in both rooms and a bottle of red wine delivered later and our holiday was off to a very nice start. Both rooms were of a good size with well stocked and clean bathrooms which looked like they had reasonably recently been redecorated.Two evenings we asked for restaurant recommendations from the front desk and were well looked after on both occasions. Really cannot fault Hotel Monaco and we would be happy to return next time we are in SF.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Peedee1955,

I am glad you were not able to find any faults with us. We love to hear that. Our rooms were just renovated this year. We are very happy with the results and I am glad to hear you feel the same way.

We would love to host you for your next family vacation. Just let us know and we will have the goldfish waiting.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent hotel off Union Square that has to be the quietest hotel in that city that we've stayed at! Rooms are renovated with modern decor, great hotel lounge-like foyers with great fireplaces that give a welcoming ambiance. We stayed six nights and had the best sleeps we'd ever had in San Francisco. Great hotel spa, well appointed small business centre and fantastic restaurant attached. Best bit was the free wine tasting every evening from 5 - 6pm during our visit, which encouraged a very convivial atmosphere in the large foyers. Monaco is only 2 minutes from the main theaters and 5 minutes walk to Union Square. Highly recommended hotel that's value for money given its location and facilities!

Room Tip: Ask for internal rooms off the main road.
See more room tips
Green Features: All good standard environmental practices. They provide recycling bins in each room.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Kiwi-travellers-USA,

I am so happy to hear that you stayed with us for six nights and that you had the best sleep. Good sleep always helps start the day positively.

People really seem to enjoy our hosted evening wine reception. It happens every night. So, don’t miss it.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We ended up booking Hotel Monaco because Hotel Diva (our 1st choice) ran out of hotel rooms and I can say we were not disappointed. This hotel is all about location! A stones throw away from Union Sq, main shopping areas and Chinatown - we could not have asked for more. The only thing I'd say is that the room we stayed in was quite dusty and could have done with more of a deeper clean but as we were only there to sleep and shower, it didnt matter too much. The hotel staff are lovely and complimentary wine and tea/coffee was awesome! There is also a Walgreens and Starbucks right opposite the hotel which came in handy. A cool city hotel but would like to check out Hotel Diva next time!

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor room on the quieter side of the building which worked out well for us al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Bhavisha G,

Well, I am sorry to hear that your first choice was not available. But, I am happy to hear you were not disappointed. We do have a great location.

Sorry to hear about the dust in the room. That is a pretty easy fix.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the first of our 3 Kimpton hotels we stayed in on our 2 weeks in California & by far our most favourite. Great staff, lovely hotel, really nice feel to a characterful hotel. The staff were really helpful & always really pleasant. Had 2 really good recommendations for restaurants by the concierge.
Our room was really comfortable, spotlessly clean & a reasonable size. Albeit the view was rather dismal from the room - but I don't think there was a great view from many of the rooms in this position just off union square.
We had the continental breakfast included which was fine - service always efficient with good staff.
Great complimentary wine hour each evening & the option of a free masseur (with voluntary donation), which was very unique in the open room!
All in all a fan hotel for 4 nights & if we return to San Francisco this will definitely be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor - no noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear YvoneShropshire_UK,

Yay! We love receiving the honor of “most favourite.” We are even more proud of that status since we were competing against our sister hotels. Thank you. Thank you.

Since our hotel is right in the middle of the city and there are many other, taller buildings around us, we do not get the best views. Luckily, most of our guests don’t spend a lot of time in their room when they aren’t sleeping, so it doesn’t matter to them.

Thank you for your compliments on the staff. We have a team that really enjoys what they do and I am glad it shows.

We can’t wait to see you on your next trip back to San Francisco.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Monaco for 4 nights. It was the first stop on our trip down the coast of California, and we couldn't have asked for a better way to start! The staff were amazingly friendly. Helpful and generous, going out of their way to make us comfortable. From booking wine tours to restaurant recommendations to creating a relationship with a guest - faultless! They knew it was my husbands 30th and left a bottle of wine and fruits for us upon check in! The gym facility is well equipped, clean and a great way to start the mornings! The location is fantastic - walking distance to the hop on off tour stop, union square, china town and the trams. Thank you to hotel Monaco for being one of the best hotels of our trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Viantha P,

Happy 30th birthday to your husband once again. I am so glad to hear you both enjoyed your stay and that we made it on your list of “best hotels” of your trip. That is an honor.

We wish everyone could get to stay with us for more than one night. It gives us a chance to get to know you better and a chance for you to get to know us better.

Please let us know when you are next in San Francisco as we would love for you to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've stayed here several times and are always impressed by how well maintained this property is kept. Their staff is very friendly and well chosen, and couldn't be more helpful.

The Grand Cafe, the hotel's restaurant, offers delicious lunch and dinners. Breakfast is not as good and is overprice, however. Still, the room is airy and spectacular to be in.

Located near Union Square, it's a great place to stay. (Also, at 5 p.m. each day, they offer free wine in one of their lovely sitting rooms.)

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.