We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marker San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Marker San Francisco to your Saves list
The Marker San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel) (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I like most all Kimpton Hotels but this one stands out. Great rooms, very helpful staff, still quirky but super comfortable. We stayed on the second floor which did involve a bit of noise from the street but we got to walk up and down the grand staircase into the lobby whenever we came and went from the room. Pretty cool.

Room Tip: Higher up for less noise but all were OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    541
    137
    41
    25
See reviews for
226
675
103
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel itself is great clean and the décor is beautiful . I found however the general atmosphere very impersonal and the concierge staff at the door very rude especially when we were trying to load up our luggage to leave .The concierge glared incessantly and kept making intimations that we should move on .As a party of six we had no choice but to park in front of the hotel to load the luggage and as far as I am aware the road is a public one . Not a good end to an otherwise excellent trip to San Francisco .

Room Tip: having none to compare with I cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Angela H,

I am happy to hear you liked our renovation and that you found the hotel clean. Of course, I am disappointed that you felt unwelcome while you were trying to load your luggage. We should have been thanking you for staying with us and helping you load your luggage. You had ever right to park in front of the hotel and I apologize that you were made to feel otherwise. I hope when you reflect back on your trip, you won’t let that one experience taint your entire experience.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Loved this Hotel. We booked it on Hotwire and received a great price but now that I know where it is I would definitely stay there again. Staff was great, had a nice little restaurant and bar on site. Rooms were small but very well furnished and made you feel right at home. Had a queen bed that was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear dewman30,

The biggest compliment we can receive is after people stayed with us and they say that will definitely return. Thank you for that. We look forward to your next visit. Don’t hesitate to reach out to us directly if we can assist with the reservation.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Rooms were good, well appointed. Monaco suites were spacious. Beds extremely comfortable. Service was stand out, friendly, informed and smiling! No problem in extending check out to 1pm to accommodate our flight. We stayed at the Clift on our last visit, however although its similar in price, location etc you don't feel as welcome especially if you're not uber cool! As usual mini bar expensive but $6 for the bottled water - come on! It would have left a better feeling if bottled water had been included in hotel price. Other than that a really good experience

Room Tip: Monaco Suites very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco in SF this past week for our honeymoon. With myself being a planner at heart - I had almost every part of our trip meticulously planned down to our hotel room. We ultimately booked a room at the Hotel Monaco from a reference from a friend - our only other top option was also a Kimpton Hotel in the city. After a hard day of traveling with flight delays, we finally arrived and were greeted with the sweetest smile letting us know we had some good news and we had been upgraded to the best room in the house and to have a glass of wine and someone would bring our stuff right up. We also felt a bit defeated having some of our reservations been non-transferable and missing them due to our flight change. The front desk receptionist immediately took this off our plate and was able to get us a refund that I know we wouldn't have been able to do on our own!

We had been emailing with Daniel Bayless in the guest services department - who helped us with some details before arriving and he happily greeted us at wine hour our first night. Which was one of the many perks at this hotel. Daniel ended up being a happy face that we saw almost every single day - which was nice! We could ask him questions and get real feedback on some places to go! We also were able to meet Jason, the GM of the hotel - and he was most helpful every single time we saw him. We felt very much at home at this hotel and like we were coming home to family each time we were greeted at wine hour - which we didn't miss once!!

We spent our second morning at the spa for a couples massage - the team was very professional and really let us enjoy our time and relax - we didn't feel rushed one bit and they seemed as if they really wanted us to enjoy our time there!

Overall on our trip the staff was very helpful with booking reservations, offering fun ideas for new things to do in the city and just being super friendly. We come from a friendly town so it was nice to feel that in the big city of SF!

I never want to stay at a hotel that is not a Kimpton Hotel again!! Look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Haley K,

The pleasure was all ours. You and your husband were such an incredible delight. Honestly, we looked forward to your return to the hotel every day, because we couldn’t wait to hear your stories. You guys were so outgoing that it seemed like you met every person in town. We thought we had made some connections in the time we had lived here, but I think you now have us beat.

We were honored you chose us for your honeymoon. I am glad we were able to add some great memories to such a special time in your lives. We just hope you will come back to see us, again. Give us some advance notice so we can ensure we have a few more famous people staying in the hotel and in the city.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is well located and very attractive. But what makes it really stand out is the staff. They are friendly and helpful -from the housekeepers to the desk staff to the waiters to the hosts of the wine social. Everyone seems happy to be there and goes the extra steps required to make sure you share the feeling.
We are big Kimpton fans and the Monaco added to our feelings about these hotels. Great choice for a stay in San Francisco!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel - great location, comfortable beds and friendly staff. We stayed there for 4 days/3 nights in late June. I have not stayed at a Kimpton Hotel before so had no expectations - but the room decor was funky, beds huge, great selection of in house movies. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Anna121299,

Yay! Another Kimpton convert. We don’t do a lot of advertising and we rely on positive word of mouth. We are thrilled that you found us and that we got along so well. We have hotels in most of the major cities in the United States. In several cities, like San Francisco, we have more than one hotel. We like to give people options. We hope you continue to check us out on your future travels.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#24 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#39 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#17 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#8 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#28 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,887 reviews
Union Square
Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your The Marker San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marker San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.