We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BOUTIQUE HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #19 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GREAT BOUTIQUE HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Loved this Hotel. We booked it on Hotwire and received a great price but now that I know where it is I would definitely stay there again. Staff was great, had a nice little restaurant and bar on site. Rooms were small but very well furnished and made you feel right at home. Had a queen bed that was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear dewman30,

The biggest compliment we can receive is after people stayed with us and they say that will definitely return. Thank you for that. We look forward to your next visit. Don’t hesitate to reach out to us directly if we can assist with the reservation.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    750
    436
    98
    24
    19
See reviews for
176
554
87
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Rooms were good, well appointed. Monaco suites were spacious. Beds extremely comfortable. Service was stand out, friendly, informed and smiling! No problem in extending check out to 1pm to accommodate our flight. We stayed at the Clift on our last visit, however although its similar in price, location etc you don't feel as welcome especially if you're not uber cool! As usual mini bar expensive but $6 for the bottled water - come on! It would have left a better feeling if bottled water had been included in hotel price. Other than that a really good experience

Room Tip: Monaco Suites very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco in SF this past week for our honeymoon. With myself being a planner at heart - I had almost every part of our trip meticulously planned down to our hotel room. We ultimately booked a room at the Hotel Monaco from a reference from a friend - our only other top option was also a Kimpton Hotel in the city. After a hard day of traveling with flight delays, we finally arrived and were greeted with the sweetest smile letting us know we had some good news and we had been upgraded to the best room in the house and to have a glass of wine and someone would bring our stuff right up. We also felt a bit defeated having some of our reservations been non-transferable and missing them due to our flight change. The front desk receptionist immediately took this off our plate and was able to get us a refund that I know we wouldn't have been able to do on our own!

We had been emailing with Daniel Bayless in the guest services department - who helped us with some details before arriving and he happily greeted us at wine hour our first night. Which was one of the many perks at this hotel. Daniel ended up being a happy face that we saw almost every single day - which was nice! We could ask him questions and get real feedback on some places to go! We also were able to meet Jason, the GM of the hotel - and he was most helpful every single time we saw him. We felt very much at home at this hotel and like we were coming home to family each time we were greeted at wine hour - which we didn't miss once!!

We spent our second morning at the spa for a couples massage - the team was very professional and really let us enjoy our time and relax - we didn't feel rushed one bit and they seemed as if they really wanted us to enjoy our time there!

Overall on our trip the staff was very helpful with booking reservations, offering fun ideas for new things to do in the city and just being super friendly. We come from a friendly town so it was nice to feel that in the big city of SF!

I never want to stay at a hotel that is not a Kimpton Hotel again!! Look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Haley K,

The pleasure was all ours. You and your husband were such an incredible delight. Honestly, we looked forward to your return to the hotel every day, because we couldn’t wait to hear your stories. You guys were so outgoing that it seemed like you met every person in town. We thought we had made some connections in the time we had lived here, but I think you now have us beat.

We were honored you chose us for your honeymoon. I am glad we were able to add some great memories to such a special time in your lives. We just hope you will come back to see us, again. Give us some advance notice so we can ensure we have a few more famous people staying in the hotel and in the city.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is well located and very attractive. But what makes it really stand out is the staff. They are friendly and helpful -from the housekeepers to the desk staff to the waiters to the hosts of the wine social. Everyone seems happy to be there and goes the extra steps required to make sure you share the feeling.
We are big Kimpton fans and the Monaco added to our feelings about these hotels. Great choice for a stay in San Francisco!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel - great location, comfortable beds and friendly staff. We stayed there for 4 days/3 nights in late June. I have not stayed at a Kimpton Hotel before so had no expectations - but the room decor was funky, beds huge, great selection of in house movies. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Anna121299,

Yay! Another Kimpton convert. We don’t do a lot of advertising and we rely on positive word of mouth. We are thrilled that you found us and that we got along so well. We have hotels in most of the major cities in the United States. In several cities, like San Francisco, we have more than one hotel. We like to give people options. We hope you continue to check us out on your future travels.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calpella, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here many times because the location is great yes...but the service, the comfort of the rooms, the service, ambience, there really isn't anything bad I can say about this hotel. Every stay has exceeded my expectations. There are many hotels to choose from in Union Square. You will not regret choosing this one if you're looking for a comfortable, well appointed, QUIET and modern, comfortable hotel room. Its bliss in SF!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was the first trip to San Francisco and the first time I stayed at a Kimpton Hotel (never heard of them before). We loved the hotel, location, the decor, cleanliness and especially the staff!! We were always greeted with a smile, from the doorman, front desk, cleaning staff and hostess/host (happy hour 5pm to 6pm, this was utilized by our group everyday). The staff recommendations for eating and places to go and how to get there were spot on everytime! We received complimentary "continental breakfast" each day for the restaurant attached. The only complaint I would have is we were on the 3rd floor facing Taylour, very noisy!! Ask for a higher floor or one facing the courtyard(our friends had that and they said it was quite). The location is great only a couple of blocks from union square. I leave you with this, please if you go to San Francisco, try this hotel, we loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors or facing courtyard much much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear jherber,

First time to San Francisco AND first time in a Kimpton Hotel. It sounds like both the city and the hotel knocked it out of the park. Ok. So, we can’t control the street noise and apparently, that did not help you sleep. But, we would have been happy to move you to a room that you found quieter. It is all a matter of preference and we want to do whatever makes our guests happy. Some people do not mind the street noise and other people can’t sleep because of it. We get it. Overall, we agree with you that this is the only place to stay in San Francisco. Although, we might be a little biased.

Thanks for the lovely review.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.