We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #18 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First time at Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was the first trip to San Francisco and the first time I stayed at a Kimpton Hotel (never heard of them before). We loved the hotel, location, the decor, cleanliness and especially the staff!! We were always greeted with a smile, from the doorman, front desk, cleaning staff and hostess/host (happy hour 5pm to 6pm, this was utilized by our group everyday). The staff recommendations for eating and places to go and how to get there were spot on everytime! We received complimentary "continental breakfast" each day for the restaurant attached. The only complaint I would have is we were on the 3rd floor facing Taylour, very noisy!! Ask for a higher floor or one facing the courtyard(our friends had that and they said it was quite). The location is great only a couple of blocks from union square. I leave you with this, please if you go to San Francisco, try this hotel, we loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors or facing courtyard much much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear jherber,

First time to San Francisco AND first time in a Kimpton Hotel. It sounds like both the city and the hotel knocked it out of the park. Ok. So, we can’t control the street noise and apparently, that did not help you sleep. But, we would have been happy to move you to a room that you found quieter. It is all a matter of preference and we want to do whatever makes our guests happy. Some people do not mind the street noise and other people can’t sleep because of it. We get it. Overall, we agree with you that this is the only place to stay in San Francisco. Although, we might be a little biased.

Thanks for the lovely review.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    742
    430
    91
    24
    21
See reviews for
164
539
87
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
deerfield il
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Monaco July 11-14. The hotel is beautiful! More important, the service was friendly from the bellmen to the front desk to the restaurant staff. They provided great information as to where to eat, transportation, and even gave us a bottle of wine when they saw it was my birthday the day we checked in. The room was comfortable and we loved its decor. Also, check out the hotel restaurant. In a city of fine restaurants, the French style cuisine was excellent and the steak-frites outstanding, as is their version of french toast. The prices are moderate by San Francisco standards.

Room Tip: Seventh floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good! They did have containers for recycling throughout the romm.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at the Monaco for four days in 2012 for a conference. I was in town with several coworkers, and we were spread out among three hotels, each having booked our own with the government rate. The Monaco was by far the best of the three (I don't remember what the others were, but they were all big chains), to the point that my coworkers would all come by my hotel to hang out after the conference each day.

The lobby is nice, and the daily happy hour was very welcome after each day of seminars. The restaurant/bar downstairs was nice.

The rooms were extremely comfortable, and the staff were all friendly. The gym is the size I'd expect for a hotel (smallish), but all the equipment was brand new, which was great. My one complaint is that it's really complicated to take the stairs up and down to the rooms, so you have to wait for the extremely slow elevator.

The location is great, definitely walking distance from a variety of restaurants and coffee shops.

For the price, I thought the Monaco was a fantastic deal, and I will definitely stay again if traveling for work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear nafa2,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much that you want to return. That makes us feel really good. Plus, we love to hear that you asked your co-workers to come hang out in our hotel each night. Perhaps they will want to stay with us on the next visit, too.

I am sorry to hear the elevators were slow. Hopefully, you met some interesting people while you were waiting? (I am trying to think of an upside.)

We hope to see you soon.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a great hotel in a very good location however some care needs to be taken at night because it is very close to the tenderloin district.

The staff are friendly and obliging and the wine tasting at night a great way to wind down after a busy day. Will most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seatte
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a king room, top floor. Guest suites are recently renovated--very lovely. Mattress a bit hard, but I am a picky sort. Lobby and public areas need a refresh, but it's coming, I'm sure. Staff was always going above and beyond. Good location just outside of union square.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, especially on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear clickychick,

Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, we just completed a renovation of all of the guest rooms this year. We are very excited about our new product and we feel we have created more comfortable rooms with more of those modern conveniences that everyone has come to expect. We want all of our guests to feel special and I am glad you felt the staff went “above and beyond.” That is exactly what we are shooting for.

Best,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a very nice Hotel, located two blocks off Union Square. The hotel staff is very helpful, the hotel lobby is beautiful (the outside is not so impressive) and the location is very good. Our room, a little on the small side, was comfortable with a great bed and a small but very adequate bathroom. They staff met all of our needs and seemed happy to help. In a city where all the Hotels are expensive this is a good find, not cheap but affordable in comparison to other hotels of similar quality. They have a wine tasting every evening, a nice touch and a place to visit with other guest. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife, adult daughter, and I have stayed here the last 3 nights and stay 2 more. It's a great hotel. From the moment I saw it here to reading is web page to getting a competitive price, especially for our perfect Mediterranean corner top floor suite to checking and our entire stay, we have been impressed. The rooms (3) are large, especially for a major city. our daughter has the pull out sofa in the living room, with a food desk, plenty of outlets, chair and closet with safe. We have a very comfortable king bed, plenty of storage, nice clock, good lighting, quiet room. bathroom is huge with big shower and tub.,Two large flat screens. And they very nicely gave us a bottle of champagne, cheese trey and fruit since we are celebrating our anniversary. The staff is super friendly. The coffee in the morning even comes with almond milk, they have refreshments out during the day, the concierges are very helpful, the spa is good, it's only 5 minutes from Union Square, this place has it all. So glad we are staying here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear BillBerenson,

We know we must be doing something right when you post such a glowing review while you are still staying here.

The Mediterranean Suites are our biggest suites. They have the two separate rooms with the king bed in one room and the pull out sofa bed in the other. The Mediterranean Suites, also, have the bigger bathroom with the separate Jacuzzi tub and shower. I am glad to hear the room is working so well for you and your family.

Thank you for all of your kind words and I hope I get to meet you before you depart.

Sincerely,
Jason Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.